FRANCINE T. (PHEDRA) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Act Of Treason
Act Of Treason
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/13/2009


I like Vince Flynn, he gets our heros into some pretty good scrapes, and still we get out of them. Sort of not always unscathed. A good post 9/11


The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 2/13/2009


Fun to read, quick pace. Great for waiting and traveling.


City of Bones (Harry Bosch, Bk 8)
City of Bones (Harry Bosch, Bk 8)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 2/13/2009


Again, a quick read, fast pace, good story and a great question comes up as well.


Hiroshima
Hiroshima
Author: John Hersey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book hard to read the first 3 chapters, then it all begins to make sense. I thought while I was reading it at first that it was to mke us feel guilty for the bomb. That is not the case, but you need the first three chapters to understand the rest of the book. Amazingly, I found it to be very timely. After you read it, think about the recent disasters and the difficulties for survivors and government's difficulty helping their people. It is an amazing book, only 5 chapters and for those of us who grew up with "The Bomb", I felt I know it all, this was an entirely new perspective. All of us in my book club were very moved by the book and the stories within it.


I, Robot
I, Robot
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 3/23/2015


This book is the movie version.


Ice Hunt
Ice Hunt
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 3/4/2009


"A ROLLER-COASTER...AND A FIRST-CLASS ONE AT THAT... Some asgtonishing threat or daring feat explodes into print on nearly every page." Publishers Weekly
Carved into a moving island of ice twice the size of the United States, Ice Station Grendel has been abandoned for more than seventy years. The twisted brainchild of the finest minds of the former Soviet Union, it was designed to be inaccessible and virtually invisible. But an American undersea research vessel had inadvertently pulled too close--and something has been sighted moving inside the allegedly deserted facility, something whose survival defies every natural law. And now, as scientists, soldiers, intelligence operatives, and unsuspecting civilians are drawn into Grendel's lethal vortex, the most extreme measures possible will be undertaken to protect its dark mysteries--because the terrible truths locked behind submerged walls of ice and steel could end human life of Earth."
I enjoyed this book, I could barely put it down. Trying to figure out how we would get out of the next "situation".


The Last Temptation of Christ
The Last Temptation of Christ
Author: Nikos Kazantzakis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/30/2013


This is a hard book to read. This is not a Hallmark Jesus story. CHRIST DOES not float through his life to get to the Cross. His life is full of temptation, which he resists. It is a wonderful book, it tells us a story that puts you right into the time. The anger and frustration of the population makes it clear why Jesus was not what many of the people expected. If you get through the first 103 pages, you will enjoy this book!


One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2240
Review Date: 10/25/2016


Fun read. Light with humor, and a look at life in the "Burg".


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 3/4/2009


"A novel of emotional awakening that you'll never forget."
I found this a very interesting book, A small view of post war Germany from the generation conceived and born during WWII. I found this a compelling story. There is a question.. "what would you do?" I felt that was a serious question I had to ask myself throughout the book.


You've Been Warned
You've Been Warned
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This one really had me going.  I could not figure it out.  So many reasons, but which one is the story?  Good Book, fast read, great escape.  Perfect for traveling, or waiting around.


1 to 10 of 10