Dixie H. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 820
Review Date: 11/3/2010


Engaging, Funny and entertaining


Blink
Blink
Author: Malcom Gladwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/22/2011


Quite dry material, yet interesting for the inquiring mind. I would recommend listending to the audio version.


Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage
Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 11/3/2010


Not as riveting at Eat, Pray, Love, but entertaining in its own right.


Conversations with God : An Uncommon Dialogue, Bk 1
Conversations with God : An Uncommon Dialogue, Bk 1
Author: Neale Donald Walsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 10/26/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I absolutely love this book. Having been raised in a strict Lutheran home and not really feeling the beliefs "fit", this book offered some alternative beliefs which resonated with me. I would highly recommend it if you have spiritual questions.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4420
Review Date: 10/27/2010


I really like Mark Haddon's other books. this one was a little more odd, but still enjoyable.


Depraved: The Shocking True Story of America's First Serial Killer
Review Date: 2/22/2012


While this book provides great historical information, it seemed to read more slowly than some of his other works.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 10/27/2010


The quest of Elizabeth is one which I could identify. I love her writing style. It is a page turner.


Fiend : The Shocking True Story Of Americas Youngest Serial Killer
Review Date: 8/22/2011


Easy to read and very interesting story.


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1029
Review Date: 11/3/2010


I great story about two unlikely friends. Entertaining and worth reading.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1899
Review Date: 10/24/2010


For the most part, an enjoyable story. Predictable ending.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
Author: Stieg Larsson, Reg Keeland (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 828
Review Date: 11/3/2010


Once you have read the first book, you will need to read this one also. As great as the first book in the series.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2081
Review Date: 11/3/2010


Great mystery. Draws you in and keeps you coming back for more.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5707
Review Date: 10/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Provides good perspective on the life of a young boy growing up in the middle east during the 1980's


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3370
Review Date: 10/27/2010


I found this story difficult. It had some very creative/ odd elements to it.


Lottery
Lottery
Author: Patricia Wood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 6/4/2011


Easy to read and entertaining. It is about a young adult with a low IQ winning the Lottery and his family attempting to take advantage of the situation. I would recommend this book.


Main Street
Main Street
Author: Sinclair Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/7/2011


Sinclair is very depressing in this book and it is over 500 pages long. Can't say I will read another one of his books.


The Middle Place
The Middle Place
Author: Kelly Corrigan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/3/2010


A little "much" in parts of the story. Still enjoyable.


The Mulligan
The Mulligan
Author: Nathan Jorgenson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/23/2010


My book club read this book. Everyone agreed he could have taken out about 1/2 of the story and the book would have been a lot better.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4033
Review Date: 10/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Just another great story by Jodi Piccoult.


The Omnivore's Dilemma for Kids: The Secrets Behind What You Eat
The Omnivore's Dilemma for Kids: The Secrets Behind What You Eat
Author: Michael Pollan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/24/2010


Very informative about the food industry, power and corruption.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: