Barbara B. (velvetdreams) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Beloved Castaway (Fairweather Keys, Bk 1)
Beloved Castaway (Fairweather Keys, Bk 1)
Author: Kathleen Miller Y'barbo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My first novel by this author, I found Beloved Castaway a warm, vintage historical romance filled with turmoil and tenderness. An unconventional boy-meets-girl love story, as filled with twists and turns on the open sea as within the lives and hearts of the characters, the story is anything but typical. The gentile language of the time is like icing on the proverbial cake, making this novel an easy-reading and authentic delight.


Blowback (Scot Harvath, Bk 4)
Blowback (Scot Harvath, Bk 4)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 8/24/2010


Hardly time to catch one's breath in reading this action-packed thriller! One escapade after another as the intrigue builds. Brad Thor includes lots of fascinating and relevant-to-the-plot historical information in this novel as the plot unwinds toward the explosive climax.

This novel is well-written, attention-grabbing, believable, and, did I say "Action-packed?" I loved it!


Fifty Great Short Stories
Fifty Great Short Stories
Author: Milton Crane (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/1/2010


A wonderful collection of excellent short stories by noted authors.


The Genesis Secret
The Genesis Secret
Author: Tom Knox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/5/2010
Helpful Score: 3


A bizarre rash of gruesome murders in London that vaguely suggest human sacrifice and a major archeological discovery in the Kurdistan desert ... What could they have in common? Reminiscent of Raiders of the Lost Ark but flavored with today's Middle East tensions, this novel grabs your attention and holds it to the thrilling conclusion.

This novel contains no fluff, but courses back and forth between the grizzly London murders and the political unrest of the tiny desert villages of Kurdistan unearthed by the controversial archeological dig called Gobekli Tepe. Rumors of curses and death prayers, demons and unholy secrets that, if made public, will shake the religious fiber of the modern world.

An intense and entertaining read.


A Kingdom of Dreams (Westmoreland, Bk 1)
A Kingdom of Dreams (Westmoreland, Bk 1)
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 9/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was thoroughly impressed with this novel, I have to say! It was an exciting, surprising story with more twists and turns in it than a mountain road. My first, McNnaught novel, I was delighted by her rich and real characters and enthralled by their miscommunications. A touching romance with real issues played out amidst feuding Scots and Brits with swords, skirmishes and betrayals. I'm glad a took a chance on this novel. I loved it!


Monster
Monster
Author: Frank Peretti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 6/21/2010


A surprisingly credible story of how totally wrong human creativity can go and the power of compassion. Peretti's character's are real, and the remarkably visual story draws and holds the readers full attention.

From a note to the Reader by the Publisher, WestBow Press: "Be prepared to enter into deep wilderness where the rules of civilization no longer apply. A world where strange shadows lurk. Where creatures long attributed to overactive imaginations and nightmares are the hunters ... and you are the hunted."

A great quick read for a big book.


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 3040
Review Date: 8/2/2010


A refreshingly innocent tale of horrible tragedy, its ripple effects, and a uniquely intimate confrontation that leads to restoration. The author has a way of weaving words together to create lovely and meaningful observations that probably pertain to each of us in one way or another.

A father's worst nightmare happens ... it just happens. Is it his fault? Why? Why do bad things happen if there's a loving God watching over us? What kind of God can let these horrible things happen?

This story of loss and healing contains one man's personal and unique experience as he wrestles with these and other questions. It isn't Gospel, but it is an excellent example of creative Divine communication.


This Present Darkness (Darkness, Bk 1)
This Present Darkness (Darkness, Bk 1)
Author: Frank E. Peretti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 6/21/2010


Have you ever wondered what one person can do to right a wrong? This novel offers a view of exactly that. An overwhelming and undescribable evil is moving into Ashton, a small college community. There is an unusual population exchange occuring as long time residents silently leave and new folks arrive. There is the feeliing of a huge chess game with pieces being arranged and re-arranged, but who or what is in control?

Peretti has created an amazing story of spiritual conflict that is at least as real as the world in which we live and move. His characters are well developed and the story they weave is simultaneously terrifying and encouraging by virtue of the principles Peretti uses to tie everything together.

For the reader who enjoys mystery, suspense, imagination, and challenge, this novel is a must read!


When We Meet Again (Effington Family & Friends, Bk 10)
When We Meet Again (Effington Family & Friends, Bk 10)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 8/24/2010


Well-written, seductive novel with a few plot twists and delightful characters, these stories are fun and satisfying. When We Meet Again is the quintessential historical romance filled with intrigue, betrayal, scandal and heat! Totally enjoyable reading!


1 to 9 of 9