Reviews - Erin D. - Newman Lake, WA

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
10-Minute Scrapbook Pages: Hundreds of Easy, Innovative Designs
10-Minute Scrapbook Pages: Hundreds of Easy, Innovative Designs
Author: Raquel Boehme
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/28/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Cute, very simple and helpful to beginners..."


2000 Kisses
2000 Kisses
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 2/18/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Christina Skye is a great romance writer and I usually don't read romances, but this was a great read. There are plenty of stomach fluttering butterfly moments in this book as you watch the main character and the love interest butt heads and somehow always manage to find themselves with lots of sexual tension between them."


The Big Love (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Big Love (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sarah Dunn, Eliza Foss (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/27/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Sarah Dunn provides a great story about a woman discovering what her life has all added up to at 32. At this point in the story Allison's long term live-in boyfriend leaves her for his college girlfriend, she sleeps with her boss (he's only number 3 thanks to her Evangelican up-bringing), looses her job and begins to wonder what her 11 years of therapy were really for.
This is a great 1st novel and leaves off in the perfect place for a sequal. I for one would love to read a second book about Allison. This was a great book to listen to!"


The Boy Next Door
The Boy Next Door
Author: Meggin Cabot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/3/2006


"Using the clever medium of email transmissions from character to character, Meggin Cabot -- author of the popular young-adult Princess Diaries series -- crafts a hilarious story of a New York gossip columnist with journalistic aspirations, romantic complications, and one very large problem: what to do with her comatose neighbor's Great Dane. For Melissa Fuller, the path to true love is riddled with a pretentious ex-boyfriend, a best friend who's marrying into a crazy Italian family, nosy coworkers, and a boss who might fire her at any minute. If that's not enough, there's the mystery of who bonked her elderly neighbor on the head, and whether the neighbor's nephew is the man of her dreams or just a bad nightmare. This zany romantic caper is truly a novel for the 21st century!"


Cat's Meow
Cat's Meow
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/7/2006


"A fast read about a child star who has turned 25 four years in a row, that has it all, loses it all and in the process of trying to pick up her feet again so that she can maintain her shopping and socialite level, starts to realize the things that will make her happy in life..."


Diary of a Mad Bride
Diary of a Mad Bride
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 3/21/2006


"Laugh-out-loud hilarious! I couldn't help, but snicker constantly as I watched this sane brides maid eventually turn into a ragging lunatic bride-to-be (which she swore she would never become when she was a brides maid) in just a few short months. Great read! In diary format."


Dreamland
Dreamland
Author: Sarah Dessen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 2/18/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Even though this is a teen read, I still had to read because it was recommended to me and I LOVED this book! I think that anyone who loves a good chick-lit book should read this. Sarah Dessen never fails to give you great characters and a plot line to match."


For Better, for Worse
For Better, for Worse
Author: Carole Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 7/4/2006


"A fun quirky tale. Great for a summer read!"


Franco American Dreams
Franco American Dreams
Author: Julie Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/18/2006


"This was a good teen read. It is a few years old, but it has some great characters and a storyline that has you rooting for Abbie to catch someone she desearves and break it into the fashion business."


The Girlfriend Curse
The Girlfriend Curse
Author: Valerie Frankel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 7/14/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Peg Silver is the Ultimate Girlfriend. She is the woman that makes a man face his fear of commitment. Only there's one problem... They always run scared to death from her and within 6 months they are married. Now were not just talking one past boyfriend. But every single boyfriend that she has had in the last 10 years ends up married to the next woman that he lands in bed with, within six months.
Peg is devasted by this epiphany. Fearing the worst she gets out of New York to start a brand new quiet life in Manshire, Vermont. Only there is another set back when the beautiful new farm house that she aquired has many unwelcome friends occupying it. So Peg has to find some where to live for a month.
What better place than Inward Bound: a month long retreat for the romantically impaired. Her choice has nothing to do with treating her self, but all to do with a certain hunky man that she met on the train ride in who mentioned this was were he was headed. But the place soon starts to grow on her even though the metaphores are mind numbing and she can't seem to catch a break.
As the book progresses, Peg starts to discover things, like she's obsessed with sex, has a horrible sarcasm problem, might be an alcholic, but more important she might be falling in love with the owner of the camp, Linus Bester, who it seems owns the town of Manshire and has a lot of strings he can pull and a lot of people who are willing to do anything for him and is currently unavailable.

This book is very cute and funny. It starts out kinds slow, but it picks up. I read the last 3/4 of the book in one sitting in a few hours. Peg is a delight to read about and I found myself rooting for her and her awkward siuations the entire book. This is my first Valerie Frankel novel and I am happy to say that it wont be my last."


A Girl's Best Friend
A Girl's Best Friend
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 2/18/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was a wonderful light read. Elizabeth Young is (in my opinion) one of the best chick-lit writers around. This is a fast paced and fun read full of laughter, a few times where I thought about crying (it takes a lot for me) and some great drama."


Girls Night In (Red Dress Ink)
Review Date: 3/12/2006


"Very cute short stories by all great authors!! Some make you laugh, some make you cry and some are a lot deeper than you think!! Great quick read!!"


The Guardian
The Guardian
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 396
Review Date: 4/5/2006


"Sparks at his best! A great tale that is Lassie worthy... Have a box of tissues ready while reading this novel!"


Hard Love
Hard Love
Author: Ellen Wittlinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/18/2006


"This was a good teen read. It has been a while since I read this. It won the Lambda Literary Award. It is a great story for teens who, like me, loved to read teenage romances."


How I Stole Her Husband
How I Stole Her Husband
Author: Liz Ireland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/10/2006
7 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A cute story about a woman trying to seek revenge (even though she would never call it that) on the woman that stole the love of her life out from under her in high school and how does she go about it? By becoming their nanny 10 years later!!

This was my first Liz Ireland book and I really love the way that she writes. If you enjoy chick lit then this is a sure bet for you! The only things that I didn't REALLY LOVE about this book were the title because it gives away a lot and the ending because I felt it was like an alternative ending on a DVD, like Ireland was trying to hard not to be predictable... I guess that I just wanted something else to happen that didn't, but none the less it was a GREAT BOOK!! A very fast read."


I'm No Angel
I'm No Angel
Author: Patti Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 2/18/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved reading this book. The main character Angel is young, blonde, sexy and best of all a private investigator in Palm Beach, where the rich can usually find some way of hiding their secrets. And it is Angel's job to uncover them..."


Leave It to Cleavage
Leave It to Cleavage
Author: Wendy Wax
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 2/18/2006


"This was an awesome story. I loved the plot line and the main character. There is so much that goes on in this book and so many different story lines that you never get bored. This was a very original and fun book to read."


Let's Meet On Platform 8 (Red Dress Ink)
Let's Meet On Platform 8 (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Carole Matthews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 2/18/2006


"This book really had me guessing until the end about how it would end. Carole Matthews is probably my favorite writer and even though this wasn't my favorite book of hers, it is still great. It is a lot more serious than she normally writes, but it is still a must read for chick-lit lovers!"


Love: A User's Guide
Love: A User's Guide
Author: Clare Naylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/24/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a cute book. I really fell in love with the hunky, yet romantic, Orlando Rock --- Yes he is a famous actor (think Brad Pitt). I had a hard time really understanding Amy sometimes though. She is very self centered and arrogant, but in the end she figures everything out and I liked her much more. A little slow at times, but it was worth the read!!! I am definetly going to read more of Clare Naylor!"


Love and a Bad Hair Day
Love and a Bad Hair Day
Author: Annie Flannigan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/3/2006


"Think Romeo and Juliet, without all the dieing. This book is all about letting go of what your family wants for you and breaking out and discovering what you want for yourself. It is full of tons of forbidden romantic situations that will make your heart flutter, small town southern attitues, and enough hairspray that would keep a beauty pagent happy!"


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: