Diana B. (AuntDi) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 142 - Page:
The Accidental Countess (Once Upon an Accident, Bk 1)
The Accidental Countess (Once Upon an Accident, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa Schroeder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 6/13/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was a sweet historical romance, nothing new or original, but once I got through the first chapter, very readable. The "mystery" part of the story was weak. As far as erotica goes, this was not that much (if at all) more explicit than most historical romances on the market. I would read another by this author.


Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 2/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


There are a lot of rave reviews for this book, and for anyone who has been following the Dark-Hunter series, they are understandable. The first half explicitly answers a lot of the mythology of the world and shows us Acheron's early life in painful detail. It was excellent. The second half is a pretty typical Dark-Hunter romance, reminds me somewhat of Zarek's, which was a favorite of mine. It took me a while to warm up to Tory, I think it would have been more interesting if the heroine had been someone with more to lose. But all in all, I loved it too.


Affabel Audio Theater
Affabel Audio Theater
Author: John Bevere
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Dramatization starring John Rhys-Davies
4 CDs, 2.5 hours
The most part of this audio is the dramatization of a parable of eternity. It is a fairly straightforward fable, and the dramatization is really well done. At the end there is a commentary by John Bevere, which gives a brief explanation of most of the items in the story, but really doesn't get into details. (What exactly is the difference between Deceived and Selfish?) Probably meant to spark more questions than it answers, I would have appreciated a more in depth analysis contained in the audio.


Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 6/13/2009
Helpful Score: 5


It is a rare treat to pick up the first book in a series and step into a fully developed fantasy world. I am entranced. Wonderful characters, with depth and layers, the good guys aren't completely good, the bad guy, well, yeah, he's really bad. There is a nice array of secondary characters that you want to find out more about. I am not complaining, but the romance here takes a back seat to the world-building and character development. From reading Singh's other books, I would expect the romance to step up in later books, but I won't miss it if she continues to turn out a more urban fantasy series.


Armed and Glamorous (Crime of Fashion, Bk 6)
Armed and Glamorous (Crime of Fashion, Bk 6)
Author: Ellen Byerrum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The thing I like about Lacey is that she's always reasonable and down-to-earth. She has some odd friends and co-workers, but she never acts like she is any different, even though she is. She is one of the most likable cozy heroines, someone that you really would want to be a friend. This installment of the series started off a little slow for me, there seemed to be a lot of set-up, but it all came together in the end for another great story.


Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 7/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Day has constructed a really great fantasy world. Lots of likable characters that you want to find out more about, a truly evil villain and an interesting mythology. This installment did not disappoint. Looking forward to reading more. Recommended for fans of Kresley Cole and Jacquelyn Frank.


Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 3)
Atlantis Unleashed (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 3)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 7/12/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is a solid paranormal romance series, the world building is great, there are plenty of diverse characters to keep your interest beyond the couple of the moment. I had a slight problem with the heroine's "touch psychic" ability. It's tough to portray that ability without a significant amount of explanation, which wasn't included here. She wore gloves (most of the time), but you end up wondering about casual touches from everything (What about the sheets - do the psychic images wash away? Does it only work when she touches with her hands? Etc.). That was a little distracting for me, but all in all this is a fine addition to the series. I will continue to read.


The Awakening #1 (Quantum Prophecy)
The Awakening #1 (Quantum Prophecy)
Author: Michael Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/2/2009


Very nicely done, X-men, kind of superhero story. The characters are fairly complex, the adults aren't stupid, the action is well paced. Definite set-up for the next book. I would recommend for fans of Alex Rider or Maximum Ride, although personally, I liked this better than either of those.


Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered: Everything She Does Is Magick / Musketeer By Moonlight / The Con and the Crusader
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I usually skip Maggie Shayne because she seems to take her witchy woowoo stuff too seriously. But this is a fun, light book with three short romances of the magical sort. Nothing very complex, easy and quick reads, a fun way to spend some time.


The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's Guide
The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's Guide
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 4/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If you are a rabid BDB fan, you probably already have this, and you probably had already read a good part of the material from hanging out at the website, but if you're just a normal fan (like me) this had some really interesting stuff. The best part was the Bella and Zsadist short story (about 80 pages). There were some nice insights into Ward's writing process and some information about why things happened the way they did and some intriguing clues about Lassiter. The "preview" of Lover Avenged isn't much of anything, but on the whole this book has got me really looking forward to it.


The Blood Gospel (Order of the Sanguines, Bk 1)
The Blood Gospel (Order of the Sanguines, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca Cantrell, James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/9/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I am not a thriller reader, I read urban fantasy for the most part. I have never read a book by James Rollins or Rebecca Cantrell until this one. And it worked for me. The world building was interesting and complete. The characters are sympathetic, the story was well plotted and it all made sense. I really liked it! I will be looking for another book in the series and I may very well try other books from these authors as they clearly know their stuff.


Bobbie Faye's Very (very, very, very) Bad Day (aka Charmed and Dangerous) (Bobbie Faye, Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is an action-packed romp, half of what happens in the book would make a great action comedy movie. Bobbie Faye is Stephanie Plum on speed. The first half of the book flew by. The second half I was getting a little tired. What is missing in the story is something to make you really like Bobbie Faye. Instead of rooting for her to find a way out of her problems, it's like watching a train wreck, hoping you never meet anyone like her. The most normal and sympathetic character is Cam and at the end of the book, you totally understand his point of view. Still, it keeps your attention and, in a while after I've rested, I'll visit the second installment in the Bobbie Faye saga.


Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, Bk 4)
Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, Bk 4)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 5/2/2009


4th installment in one of the best urban fantasy series out there. Everything that you hoped for, Mercy healing from the trauma of the last book, coming to terms with the decisions that she's made for her personal life, plus a mystery set a little outside of the neighborhood and more information on vampire culture. Mercy Thompson is as good as Anita Blake was, way back when Anita Blake was at her best. My only complaint, at just over 300 pages - too short!


The Book of Old Houses (Home Repair Is Homicide, Bk 11)
The Book of Old Houses (Home Repair Is Homicide, Bk 11)
Author: Sarah Graves
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/8/2009


I have very much enjoyed the Home Repair is Homicide series, but this installment is a bit different from the others. Darker in tone, it seemed to try for a supernatural bent, that never was resolved (purposefully?). It also has alternating points of view, 1st person Jake and 3rd person from another character, I found it jarring somewhat. I didn't dislike the story, but it wasn't my favorite of the series.


Braced 2 Bite (Half-Blood Vampire, Bk 1)
Braced 2 Bite (Half-Blood Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Serena Robar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/10/2009


These are the Disney Channel vampires. I don't necessarily mean that in a bad way, but you can kind of see Miley Cyrus as Colby and Joe Jonas as Thomas and you can picture the broad double takes. A short, quick read (actual story text ends on page 192), it is light and fun and worth visiting. There is nothing in this first book that is unsuitable for younger preteens, although I am reading Fangs4Freaks now and it touches on more adult subjects.


Burning Wild (Leopard, Bk 3)
Burning Wild (Leopard, Bk 3)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 468
Review Date: 6/3/2009
Helpful Score: 11


Chances are this is a book that you will either love or hate. The hero is an extreme tortured alpha male who is dominant and controlling. The sex is hot but rough. If those things bother you, skip this book. For myself, this is one of Feehan's best books in quite sometime. The emotional intensity that has been missing in her Carpathian books is here in spades.


Chalice
Chalice
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/18/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A really beautiful story , well told and lyrical. Often when a book is classified as young adult, the characters are teenagers and the story is told from their perspective. This book is more of a fairy tale, without a sense of an age of the players, although clearly adult and while reading it I didn't feel as if I were reading a story meant for younger readers. The book itself is also beautiful, with illustrations of bees through the text.


Chili Con Corpses  (A Supper Club Mystery, Bk 3)
Chili Con Corpses (A Supper Club Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: J. B. Stanley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Third in the Supper Club Mystery series. Once again, the dialogue is a little stiff and the characters sometimes seem a bit slow ("An alibi - good point!") , but they are very likeable, although a little less so here than in the past two. These weird relationships of James' are confusing and distracting (what does he want?) Still a short easy recommended read for cozy fans only.


City of Souls (Sign of the Zodiac, Bk 4)
City of Souls (Sign of the Zodiac, Bk 4)
Author: Vicki Pettersson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 7/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Loved it! This book has it all. Complex world, strong heroine, action and adventure, emotional intensity, edge of your seat suspense, nothing is missing. If you've been following Joanna's adventures, this is a must read. If you haven't, the series is best read in order and it starts with The Scent of Shadows.


Cockatiels at Seven (Meg Langslow, Bk 9)
Cockatiels at Seven (Meg Langslow, Bk 9)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of the reasons I like this series so much is that in the midst of her crazy family, Meg always seems like the most reasonable, practical person in the room and you can really believe that she can solve a mystery. Her family, while eccentric and strange, never come off as stupid, just involved in their own concerns and issues, and they are always likable. This book is certainly no exception, the mystery is very solid and it was great to visit again with Meg and Michael. This could be read as a stand alone, but this series has many characters and you'll keep track of them better if you read the series in order and get to know the characters as they are introduced.


1 to 20 of 142 - Page: