Jan B. - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 1/3/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of his best books. He seems to be getting better and better. "Joyland" and "Dr. Sleep" are also examples of this.
It is a very long book but once I started reading, it was hard to put it down. The characters are wonderful and it was so interesting the way he connected it to the actual events.
Read it - if you love Stephen King, as I do, you will love this book!


The April Rainers (David Webb, Bk 7)
The April Rainers (David Webb, Bk 7)
Author: Anthea Fraser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I have had this book for ages and just got around to reading it. It's really very good. The April Rainers are a group of people who send a note stating that the person will die in 8 days and they do! Chief Inspector Webb must solve this baffling case before any more die. It's a fast read - very hard to put down once you start reading.


The Cat Who Talked Turkey (Cat Who...Bk 26)
The Cat Who Talked Turkey (Cat Who...Bk 26)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 2/2/2008


Being a cat lover, I have read all of The Cat Who... books. Although I thought the earlier ones were better, this is still enjoyable.


Chosen for Death
Chosen for Death
Author: Kate Clark Flora
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/17/2008


This is a really good series. If you enjoy reading about a strong female lead, you will like this book and the rest of the series. It also has a really nice romantic story in addition to a good mystery.


Consider the Crows
Consider the Crows
Author: Charlene Weir
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Susan Wren is a policy chief in a small Kansas town. When a young woman is murdered, she has to prove herself to the whole town (she is a former San Francisco cop) and solve the crime before more murders are committed. This is a well written book which I enjoyed very much.


Death at the Dog
Death at the Dog
Author: Joanna Cannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a terrific book about a murder in an English Village pub. It is set in late 1939 at the beginning of World War II. If you like English mysteries with atmospheric settings, you will enjoy this book.


An Educated Death (Thea Kozak)
An Educated Death (Thea Kozak)
Author: Kate Flora
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/2/2008


I really enjoyed this book. Read it in one day - all 380 pages. Just didn't want to put it down once I got started. Now I am going to see if I can find more of her books.


Paul and Me: Fifty-three Years of Adventures and Misadventures with My Pal Paul Newman
Review Date: 5/26/2011


As long as I can remember, I have been "in love" with Paul Newman - have seen his movies and even "Our Town" as I am fortunate to live in NYC. This book brought out his real persona and I am so glad to have read it. Even though it made me cry at the end. I always thought he would go out in a spectacular auto crash but to see him gradually waste away and die in the way that he did seems so unfair. He did so much good and seemed like such a genuinely good person.


A Perfect Death (Wesley Peterson, Bk 13)
A Perfect Death (Wesley Peterson, Bk 13)
Author: Kate Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/17/2018


I am reading the whole series of these books and enjoying them. I recommend that you start with the first one as I did and read them all. Each book does stand on its own - it's just more fun to read them in order. They have an interesting premise - combining an ancient mystery with a modern one. The characters develop and grow. The stories are interesting, the settings are fun especially for an Anglophile like me.


Shroud of a Nightingale
Shroud of a Nightingale
Author: P. D. James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/19/2016


I believe this was the first P.D.James book I ever read. It immediately became one of my all time favorite books. Her writing is just wonderful - when she describes the location, the people, the atmosphere - you just feel you are really there and getting to know the people.
I have read this book several times and never tire of it - even though I know how it ends - I just read it for the pleasure of her writing.


Sleeping Murder (Miss Marple, Bk 12)
Sleeping Murder (Miss Marple, Bk 12)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/30/2008


Although her books were written so many years ago, it is amazing how current they read even today. This is one of her best!


Suspect
Suspect
Author: Jennifer Rowe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/1/2008


The story starts out slowly but gets better and better as it goes along. Tessa Vance is a new homicide detective and has to learn about her new partner and her new boss. But she is smart and soon proves that she can be trusted and has good instincts about the case they have to solve - a serial killer.


Upon a Dark Night (Peter Diamond, Bk 5)
Upon a Dark Night (Peter Diamond, Bk 5)
Author: Peter Lovesey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/17/2008


This is a very good series. Try to read them in order, if possible.


The Vault
The Vault
Author: Peter Lovesey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/17/2008


I really like this series. It takes place in Bath, England which is one of my favorite cities. This series seems to get better with every book but try to read them in order, if possible. A great site to determine the order of books in a series is StopYoureKillingMe.com

Enjoy!


1 to 14 of 14