SoBe - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 148 - Page:
The Accidental Werewolf (Accidentals, Bk 1)
The Accidental Werewolf (Accidentals, Bk 1)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 9/6/2008
Helpful Score: 19


SO I really really wanted to like this...one because I'd heard good things about Dakota Cassidy. and two because the cover was really really cute...so it just had to be good, right? Well the axiom about never judging a book by it's cover has never been more true than it was for me with this book.


well, okay that's pushing it a little ...The hero was good...you know except for the whole let's not tell the accidentally turned werewolf heroine all the things she needs to know in order to be a good/accepted accidentally turned werewolf heroine. It might have been better had we had more from his POV, though as it stands it's like a 20 to 80 percent split, with the 20 percent from his perspective.

His immediate family (a sister and a brother) were nice too...I Wouldn't mind reading their stories (provided they're as little like this one as possible)

And yes there are funny moments...cutesy funny, but funny none-the-less. There's also quite a bit of cursing (so for those of you bothered by that, be warned)

Now why the book wasn't nearly as good as it could have been? The Heroine. She's supposedly 30 but ends up sounding like a 16 year old....And not just any 16 year old, but a ditzy one at that. She keeps zoning out, and as the reader we're subjected to the horrors of her mind...I had to keep skimming all the bits that took place in her head, (and there's quite a few of them) just to stay sane...

And the ending (the solution to the almost-mystery ) comes out of nowhere...If she'd built up to it, it would be one thing, but this comes so far out of left field you'd need a freaking crystal ball to see it coming.

I'll admit, I'll try another book by Ms. Cassidy but it'll take some time to forget the taste of this one, and it'll be with much lower expectations.


Alien Communion
Alien Communion
Author: Xandra Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/28/2009


A decent Read, but not a keeper.
Definitely has some steamy scenes (especially near the end!), but hard-to-pronounce names and a heroine who leans towards the naive side detracts from the over all story.


Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 11/19/2008


The best thing about Nora books, are that even if you don't like one or two aspects of the story (a character, a secondary character, a major event etc or the oever all summary jsut doesn't get your interest), by the end of the book, it's nearly impossible not to like the over all story. I had a hard time liking the hero at the beginning, but by the end, I could understand why the Heroine fell for him! He wasn't all that typical, which probably made me like him more.

There was a good gradual build up of the story, with a town full of interesting characters and attention grabbing descriptions of not just the landscape but small town life as well...And the bad guy totally threw me off!

Another keeper from the awesomeness that is Ms. Roberts:)


Anything For You (It's All About Attitude) (Harlequin Blaze, No 278)
Anything For You (It's All About Attitude) (Harlequin Blaze, No 278)
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 12/20/2009


Awesome story! 4 stars!
I never expect much from Blaze (or other Harelquin) titles, but this was a great great book!

In particular, I loved the heroine! It was all or nothing, no second best for her! Unlike so many heroines, she doesn't give in to the Hero at the drop of a hat... No, she sticks to her guns, all the way through.

The Hero, though quite a bit dense, was fun to read about as well... Watching him try to figure out why things were changing, but really having no clue was very entertaining, in not a little frustrating!

And the nicest bit, is that we really get into their heads. One my favorite parts of Romance novels, is feeling what the characters feel, at least to some extent. So many authors will make the romance hinge on the sex (and general external forces) and tack on a Happy Ever After that leaves us wondering how long said HEA will last. And while there were quite a few hot scenes in this one, we (the reader) really get the feeling that these two people will last a long time together, which honestly, just leaves me with a great bit ol' smile on my face :)

The only real issue I had (and why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5) was that the ending is pretty abrupt...An epilogue would have been nice. or even just a few more pages!

Despite easy resolution though, this is one of only a few blaze titles, that I'd say is a Don't miss!

And I seriously hope Ms Mayberry has some full length novels on the way!


Ascension (Guardians of Ascension, Bk 1)
Ascension (Guardians of Ascension, Bk 1)
Author: Caris Roane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/5/2011


Holy crap, what An amazing start to a series!  It's been a while since I've found a new author to love, so I can't seem to stop smiling...

Over all the story is well written, fast paced, and pretty well developed. I only had 2 negatives: One is the lady in charge of the good guys  is another abrasive femme fatale ..in other words a bitch...no, really, all the characters in the book call her a bitch.... She calls herself a bitch... And honestly? It's just really tiring...maybe if she'd had a smaller role I wouldn't have minded, but she's in a good chunk of the book....and her attitude just got on my nerves!

The second thing that bugged me was the amount of importance lent to the hero's now deceased second wife... I don't mind that she exists, just that so much of the relationship b/w the H and h seemed to revolve around her! And okay spoiler here



But the fact that the heroine wants to name their  daughter after the second wife? a little to sweet for me to stomach.

But the book is a good length, a ton of stuff happens,is is pretty hot  though not too graphic, at least not IMO) so despite the two (overall, minor) annoyances this was a  killer first book in the 'World of Ascension' series.


The Bad Boys Guide to the Galaxy (Planet Nerak, Bk 3)
The Bad Boys Guide to the Galaxy (Planet Nerak, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/26/2008


From the back cover:
Take me to your leader. Come to think of it, just take me.

Planet Nerak was perfectno disease, no darkness, no hungeruntil an expedition to Earth brought back an unwanted guest. Enter one talented Nerakian named Lara, sent on a special fact-finding mission in the vast region called Texas. Fortunately, a warrior (he calls himself a cop) named Sam Jones has offered to help. Unfortunately, Sam's skill at sex is quite distractingas are plenty other earthly delights, like the dangerously addictive substance called chocolate. Temptations such as these could seriously compromise Lara'sahemresearch...

Crazy, that's what Sam is. What sane man would voluntarily isolate himself in the Texas woods with an alien, not to mention a female one with a superiority complex, legs that won't quit, and a penchant for walking around buck naked? Between bragging about her home planet and levitating, Lara wastes no time getting on Sam's last nerve...and even less time getting into his bed. Talk about going where no man has gone before. Of course, when youre from Texas, nothingnot even an entire planetis going to stop you from getting what you want.

*****

So I read this without reading the first two in the series...and was surprised to like it!
From what I can tell, it's not necessary to read them in order, but this one definitely made me want to read the others!
It's a light story that's cute and funny, with only a tiny bit of low-level angst...I'm actually surprised it made me laugh, as I don't usually agree with what other people consider to be funny...the bit with the chocolate and the wine were fun to read too:-) so, so long as you don't take it seriously, this is a good read!


Bad Boys in Black Tie: Good With His Hands / Miss Extreme Congeniality / Last Call
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 6


So having happily gotten through 2 of the 3 stories in this one, I thought I'd finally found an anthology where all the stories were worth reading.... Unfortunately the third story by Morgan Leigh dashed that particular hope.

Lori Foster's and Erin McCarthy's stories were both well done (despite their shortness) but that may have to do with the considerable practice they've had. They both managed to tell complete stories with good amount of heat within the limited confines of an anthology.
Ms Leigh on the other hand, still seems too new and inexperienced to really know what she's doing. Her heroine in particular annoyed me especially by the end! If Ms Leigh decides to (and I'm supposing she will eventually) publish a full length novel I'd be willing to give it a chance, but for now I'll be avoiding all her shorter attempts.

So overall, was this worth the read? Yes! The tough part is not skipping through the last story!


Beast Behaving Badly (Pride, Bk 5)
Beast Behaving Badly (Pride, Bk 5)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 5/15/2010
Helpful Score: 4


The thing about SL's books is that they always leave you feeling happy, and BBB is no exception. When I learned who the heroine was, I was honestly a little worried...Based on the previous books, Blayne wasn't exactly a favorite of mine.... so I was pretty sure this one wasn't going to be all that entertaining for me, but I was totally blown away! Full of laughs (I was literally cracking up throughout the book, and I'm usually a hard sell on that score) a a fun, 'keeps you reading long after you were supposed to have stopped' storyline and quirky characters, both old and new, this was an amazing read: Total Keeper! and I love her Bears!

I won't go into the plot, as the synopsis does a pretty good job and I think her books are soooo much better the less you know going in, but it's definitley worth the price or a credit or would make a great surprise for any SL fan (You don't absolutely have to read the books before it, but it's better if you do) And long as it was, It was still too short! So now I'm on tenter hooks waiting for her next book (which I've already pre-ordered as her titles are so worth it!) and wondering who the next set of main characters will be!


And I love her Bears!


Beauty and the Badge (Precinct, Bk 11) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1176)
Beauty and the Badge (Precinct, Bk 11) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1176)
Author: Julie Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/12/2011


Beauty and the badge

As far as Harlequin titles go, I say this one was
pretty darned good. I generally avoid the category's because I like long, drawn out stories, and while BatB can't claim the drawn-out bit, it was still a well written book. In just a few pages Ms Miller manages to convey an entire story, including some history for both her characters...so not only do we get an interesting, if not wholly original, mystery, as well as a good dose of romance, but we get a chance to know he characters as well!

 The heroine was decent...pretty average, but the Hero, otherwise known as the badge,  has helped me realize that I like less then perfect, non whore-ish heroes... He was awesome! So much so, that I'm going on the hunt for more of Ms millers heroes  :) 

So altogether a 3 & a half star read.


Beg for Mercy (Dead Wrong, Bk 1)
Beg for Mercy (Dead Wrong, Bk 1)
Author: Jami Alden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/22/2011


well hell, this is one of the better Romantic Suspense books I've read this year...and I think I'm going to tentatively add Ms Alden to my auto buy list....


Beg for Mercy is long, thrilling, chock full of story, consistent, has a number of well drawn out characters, and kept me on the edge of a my seat for a good long while... I loved the main characters, as well as all the secondary ones, they definitely drove the story for me. Honestly, though I think my all around favorite aspect of the book, is the heroines devotion to her brother... She doesn't let anyone sway her, she knows perfectly well how the world is painting her, but she doesn't let anything stop her. That unswerving loyalty just made her one of my all around favorite heroines...and made me appreciate my own brother a whole hell of a lot more :D


The only down side was the villain was easy to figure out...but IMO Ms Alden does a good job of throwing in enough doubt, that I was never 100% percent sure I was right. Quite a few of the aspects of this story set up the next book, but you don't really realize that till the ending, and for me, they just made me want to read the next book even more!


Blind Faith
Blind Faith
Author: Christiane Heggan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/7/2008


Overall not a bad book...Not phenomenal, but okay,
There's a split b/w the Points of view (about 40 % the Hero's, and 60% the h's) and I like both main characters, though the h, a little bit more. She's intelligent, persistent, and interesting to boot!

The story starts of pretty good, but there are a few slow bits. The reveal of the Big Bad dumbfounded me! Surprisingly, finding out who the bad guys were was a big surprise :-)

Sorta low in the romance department, (and a bit of a spoiler: there's no big romantic ending) but there's enough to rightfully classify it as romantic suspense.


Border Lass (Border, Bk 2)
Border Lass (Border, Bk 2)
Author: Amanda Scott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/9/2009
Helpful Score: 3


My first book by Amanda Scott, and part of a series, though I haven't read any of those though managed well enough without them. Reading the books in order may have helped understanding the back story though.

So...overall a decent book, though not what I was expecting...The summary makes it sound better than it was.

If you're thinking about reading this one, A few things to consider (esp if you're new to Ms Scott!):

You get both the Hero and the heroine's point of view, as well as a few other characters.. Though sometimes the other characters point of view seemed like space fillers rather than serving any actual purpose.

And the heroine barely hears anything at all, so I'm not entirely sure why it's even mentioned in the summary!

The romance is unusual, in that it's not as in your face as the ones in most Romances. It progresses slowly, but it definitely progresses. It's told alongside an action adventure story that at times seems to get more presence.

There's little sex. While it's not totally closed door, it's not nearly as graphic as I've come to expect.

It's not terribly emotional. I'm used to romances that have at least some degree of angst, or ones that made me feel for the characters... So while I wanted to feel for them in this one, the characters impassiveness made it hard.

I liked the Hero. He wasn't terribly Alpha, and in the beginning he bugged me, but for the time period he was definitely a Hero to look for.

Lastly, and I'll try to not give any spoilers, though I'll have to be vague to do it: Something happens to the heroine in her past, that was one of the main focuses of the book, but when it was explained, it was more or less glossed over. ( Ms. Scott mentions in her end notes that this event happened in another book in this series, but her writing style implies that it was barely described there as well) The other party in this event had almost no guilt, and it didn't seem to effect the heroine as much as I thought it should.
I can't decide if the author thought that that's how people react in the time period or just didn't know how to write the scene, either way, the detached-ness of the characters bothered me.

One last thing, after seeing the heroine's brother Simon Murray in this book (esp in the beginning) it's hard to believe that he warrants his own story. I think Ms Scott tried to make him seem worthy during the end of Border Lass, but I just wasn't buying it. If I ever get around to reading another of her books, I don't see myself reading that one (Border Moonlight).


Boss Man (Tycoon's Club, Bk 2)
Boss Man (Tycoon's Club, Bk 2)
Author: Marie Rochelle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2010


1.5 stars

This is one of those books, that starts off okay, but by the end has you cursing at it's sheer stupidity.

The Hero's an indecisive idiot. One minute he doesn't want the h, then he only wants her as a sex buddy, then he wants her, but no one else can go near her, then he wants her for always but still treats her like crap. He's hot, then cold, then hot then cold, again and again.

She's a harpy. I actually liked her in the begining, but then...oh she made me want to slap her. She sees a half naked woman on his bed, so she tells him she has to much pride to be okay with him 'sleeping' with other people. Then she has sex with him! He never explains the situation, but she still "melts in his arms" ...Seriously?


Add to that, the story is inconsistent, and plot devices are thrown in almost as an after thought. The story isn't planned out, characters act in ways that make little to no sense, and is just poorly written (and that doesn't even include the grammatical mistakes!) Honestly, it just isn't worth your time. It's one good point, is that I was able to make it to the very end...One of the few occasions I can say I'm thankful for short books!

A side note: For the first 3/4ths of the book, I didn't even know I was reading an interracial romance. The only thing that gives it away is the cover (which I obvioulsy didn't look at closely enough) and a reference to Nelly and Ciara (which at least for me, doesn't automatically mean there's a black character involved). It's not til nearly the end of the book that skin color's even mentioned!


Burning Alive (Sentinel Wars, Bk 1)
Burning Alive (Sentinel Wars, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon K. Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 6/6/2009


Definitely a Keeper.

A strong heroine , a super Hot Hero, secondary characters you want to cheer for, and a story that follows all the way through to the end of the book earns this first book in Butcher's Sentinel Wars series, a place on my permanent shelf.

Despite a bit of camp/corniness early on in the book there were enough unexpected bits in the plot to make this a fun read. And that we get not just the H and h's point of view, but of a few of the minor characters as well makes me extra eager to read the next book in the series!

On a side note (and this may contain some spoilers), another reviewer mentions the heroine's rationale for the conflict was a dream she had, and it was one she stuck to till just about the end of the book... I just wanted to add that though it does become frustrating after awhile, it's also understandable. She's been haunted by fires for years, one killed her mother, and then she has a vision she, herself, will be killed in one? While her love interest looks proudly on? I for one, was rather elated that she didn't just get over her fear as soon as her Hero shows up, but had to really work through it (despite the few times when I just wanted her slap her silly)

Anyway, like I said this one is absolutely a keeper!


Camelot's Shadow
Camelot's Shadow
Author: Sarah Zettel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2009


All together a pretty good read...A different (but pleasantly so) take on Camelot and it's inhabitants.

The story was a bit fairy-tale-ish, but in a good way. The story was well put together, and kept me wanting to keep going... I rushed through everything I had to do, just so I could come back and finish this one :)

The characters were very well written; while they're not perfect, they're still ones you want to know.

As for the romance aspect... it was more sweet (again in a good way) than anything else. My only complaint...well alright I've got 2: we're more told of the romance rather then see (or feel) it. And the book ends with a sort of "happily ever after" that leaves a few things unanswered. Also the heroine's name was Rhian, not Risa like the summary suggests.

As for who tells the story, well we get both characters point-of-view, though I'd say we get a bit more from the heroine's perspective then the hero's. And we get some of the bad guys view point as well.


If you're looking for sex you won't find it here (though from the writing style used in telling the story, I get the impression that the author doesn't include it more because she's not well versed in writing it, rather than having an issue with it,-- though this was my first book by Ms. Zettel so I could be wrong)

Like I said, a good read, definitely worth the time and credit and I look forward to trying Sarah Zettel's otehr books as well! :)

*also on a side note: the Publisher, Voyager is an imprint of Harper Collins :)


Casting Spells (Sugar Maple Chronicles, Bk 1)
Casting Spells (Sugar Maple Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Bretton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 1/27/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Not a bad read.

And not at all what I was expecting Like the previous reviewer said, it isn't like a regular paranormal. It's pretty much a clean romance, so if you're looking for heat (i.e sex), this one doesn't really have any. But it was cute. And it's first person, but you get both the Heroine and the Hero's Point of view, so that's an added bonus. I didn't really like any of the the secondary characters, in particular the heroine's friends (I can't help but think she could find better)



So overall... I'll say it's worth reading, but not really a keeper.


A Certain Wolfish Charm (Westfield Wolves, Bk 1)
A Certain Wolfish Charm (Westfield Wolves, Bk 1)
Author: Lydia Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 3/7/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I'm not sure what I was expecting when I read the synopsis for A Certain Wolfish Charm, but whatever my expectations were, they weren't met.

It's billed as paranormal romance, but really it's only marginally paranormal (more like Paranormal Lite). Yes, the hero's a werewolf, but that aspect is treated more like a dirty little secret--> the first half of the book he's referred to as a 'beast' or 'unnatural' and the supernatural shifter stuff is barely touch upon (it was more alluded to, then anything else) so much so that the secret could be almost anything else... the H being a secret agent for the crown or a father who was a traitor, or whatever, the basic story stays the same, no matter what the secret is.

That's not so say A certain Wolfish charm was badly written, it wasn't. It's pretty much on par with your average 3 to 4 star rated Regency. There's just nothing that really stands out. the main characters follow the typical pattern --> She's an aging spinster (with a heart of gold), he's a (kinda sorta) tortured rake of a hero. From their first meeting it goes exactly where you think it will (spoilers ahead) --> Her rep is ruined and made public by a well meaning (matchmaking) friend, the hero saves her by marrying her, but he has a shameful secret that she eventually (i.e. not til the very last few pages) finds out and accepts his secret (the one that's been praying on him for years) fairly quickly.

And the ending is not only fairly obvious, but a bit anticlimactic as well, and I liked the h better then the H. In most PNR, we know why the shifter (or other para breed) gets all hot and bothered for the h (or vice versa): a scent, or just a knowing that this person is his or whatever, but that's not the case here so I spent a good amount of time trying to figure out why this H wanted this h...

As a fan of paranormal romances, the biggest disappointment isn't the predictable plot though, but the potential of a good PNR novel that's never realized...It never quite reaches the heights the plot synopsis (on the back cover) implies it will.

It's no where near the likes of Singh's Psy-Changeling, or Brigg's Alpha and Omega series, but for what it is, a regency with light para elements, it's a decent read.

And if you're new to para's or if you're unsure whether or not you'd be interested, this may be a pretty good place to start :)


The Champion
The Champion
Author: Elizabeth Chadwick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/4/2008


Been awhile since I've read this, but was pretty memorable, though not nearly as good as "Shadows...." or "Lords of...". As usual with Chadwick, meticulous historical details...The h, Monday was hard to like. Her goals were understandable considering her background, but were still too shallow to make her a really interesting or worthwhile character to know.

It might be becasue he wasn't as limited by social constrictions as Monday was, but I liked the H, Alexander. 'His' story made the book worth reading.

Side Note: The H was Alexander de Montroi not Stefan, as the book description states.
For a better description, read the one for the paperback version.


Cold Target
Cold Target
Author: Patricia Potter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 5/14/2008


Not the best romantic suspense has to offer, but not a bad read overall though it had a sloooow start.

There are two storylines going on simultaneously. On the romantic side of things, the two main characters fight each other, and their attraction for a while, though things pick up in the second half of the book. The secondary character's romance is pretty low key until the very end.

The mystery/suspense aspect was a lot better. For the most part, it's what keeps you reading, although you know pretty early on who all the players are. We do get various points of view though, from sets of characters as well as the villains, so the overall story being told is a well rounded one.
Worth reading?: Yes. Worth keeping?: Meh,not so much.

On a side note, the author's blurb in the back says that (at least in 2004, when this was published) Ms. Potter is the President of Romance Writers of America...so maybe her books since then have improved? Will definitely give her another try:-)


Coming Home
Coming Home
Author: Priscilla Glenn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/24/2015


Read Reviewed on my booklikes page in January of 2014.

3.5 stars: quite a few surprises, and it was well written, with a great middle, but a slow start, and a somewhat abrupt ending :(

Having said that, I'm going to do something I don't usually do, and give you a quote from the book:


The back and forth, the push and pull, the mixed signalsshe had thought they were past all that after their conversation last weekend, but apparently that wasnt the case. And she valued herself too much to be treated that way, even if she knew it wasnt coming from someplace malicious. She wouldnt allow herself to settle for something less than what she wanted, or to wait around hoping for something she might never get.


That made me Love the heroine! She didn't take anyone's shit, and was willing to walk away...how often do you see that in romancelandia?! :D


1 to 20 of 148 - Page: