Pamela H. (writerprh) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
9 1/2 Days (Harlequin Blaze, No 160)
9 1/2 Days (Harlequin Blaze, No 160)
Author: Mia Zachary
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 11/27/2010


Book was well-written, but a little too predictable. Light read.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 7/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was an entertaining and humorous read. It has the potential of becoming one of my addictive series. The descriptions of and interactions between the heroine and her sister are priceless.

And, although I'm not a follower or necessarily a fan of pyschic stuff, the subject was presented in a fun manner. The author doesn't take anything too seriously.


Agent of Change (Liaden Universe, Bk 9)
Agent of Change (Liaden Universe, Bk 9)
Author: Steve Miller, Sharon Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/15/2010


I was really excited about this book, having read excellent reviews on various sites. Sigh. It had its enjoyable moments, but the details are forgettable.


Assassin (Alex Hawke, Bk 2)
Assassin (Alex Hawke, Bk 2)
Author: Ted Bell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/15/2010


The title character Alex Hawke is one cool dude. And, the cast of characters is very well done. It is easy to get to know them all. They make you care. The plot was tight. The action was believable. This and other Alex Hawke books should be made into a movie.


Bones of the Earth
Bones of the Earth
Author: Michael Swanwick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/21/2010


A bit of a yawn. James Rollins does a much better job with this kind of subject matter.


The Bride Finder (St. Leger, Bk 1)
The Bride Finder (St. Leger, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 12/4/2010


Predictable. A little too contrived. But, makes for a light summer or quiet winter's evening read.


The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall (Dragonriders of Pern)
The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall (Dragonriders of Pern)
Author: Anne Mccaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 11/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Gave an interesting introduction to the PERN series. I enjoyed it, but wished I had read book 1 in the series first.


Dark Possession (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 15)
Dark Possession (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 15)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 8/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This story was very interesting. Some questions about the Carpathians were answered. And, in great Feehan manner--more questions were raised. A pretty good read.


Dragondrums (Harper Hall, Bk 3)
Dragondrums (Harper Hall, Bk 3)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/4/2010


I was afraid that the whole story line was going to cover drumming. So, I was pleasantly surprised to have more of the story line about Pern fleshed out. The main character Piemer is a hoot.


Dragonquest (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 2)
Dragonquest (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 2)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 12/2/2009


Reminds me why Anne McCaffrey is the queen of dragon writers.


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 8/13/2009


This was a relatively good, quick summer read. I enjoyed the premise, flaws and all.


Finders Keepers
Finders Keepers
Author: Linnea Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 8/1/2009


There were some plot lines and character attitudes that were sometimes a yawn and sometimes annoying. Otherwise, an entertaining enough read. It won't be a keeper for me, but was worth the swap.


Freedom's Choice (Catteni, Bk 2)
Freedom's Choice (Catteni, Bk 2)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 9/21/2010


This is a good book in the sense that it wraps up some loose ends from the 1st book in the series, which I really liked. However, this second book is not my favorite of the series, nor of Anne McCaffrey's collection. I wasn't particularly comfortable with some of the characters' morals, decisions and a particular thread in the storyline. I suppose I expected more. Sigh. Still a McCaffrey fan.


Freedom's Landing (Catteni, Bk 1)
Freedom's Landing (Catteni, Bk 1)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 9/21/2010


Absolutely great read. Inventive and imagination capturing story.


Hell's Gate (Multiverse Wars, Bk 1)
Hell's Gate (Multiverse Wars, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Evans, David Weber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/14/2009


Try as I might, I cannot get into this book. It simply moves about too much. Just as soon as I become involved in a character or characters' storyline, it changes, and it is simply ages before that particular character comes back around. And when they do, it's like starting all over again. Too bad, I am a real fan of David Weber.


Me and Mr. Darcy
Me and Mr. Darcy
Author: Alexandra Potter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 305
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I had high hopes for this book. Unfortunately, for me, it was simply a standard, somewhat enjoyable read. When I pick up a romance, I have the expectation of being taken out of myself, and being able to count on a happily resolved ending. I suppose it can be said that the ending was a happy one, and it was, but it left something to be desired. It seemed rushed. Perhaps it was the author's attempt to mirror what the great Jane Austen accomplished. Perhaps someone else will find it highly enjoyable. It is not a keeper for me.


Organizing from the Inside Out: The Foolproof System of Organizing Your Home, Your Office and Your Life
Review Date: 8/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love it. Found this book to be intuitive. Many of my excuses, foibles, and unrecognized road blocks were right on the page for me to read, and discover that I was not alone. Thank God. I've tried many organizing tips and methods to no avail, but this one is working for me.


The Red Heart of Jade (Dirk & Steele, Bk 3)
The Red Heart of Jade (Dirk & Steele, Bk 3)
Author: Marjorie M. Liu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 11/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked series 1 and 2. This one left me scratching my head. I don't want to give away the plot line, so let me say . . . it read like a bridge book. I couldn't get too excited about the heroine either. Still recommend Liu though.


Seducing Mr. Darcy
Seducing Mr. Darcy
Author: Gwyn Cready
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book gives exactly what it promises, so don't expect anything different. I found the book mildly entertaining, but mostly annoying. I cannot be too disparaging, because it made no pretensions in its description. Although not for me, I sure some will find the thoroughly modern heroine/hero exactly their cup of tea.


The Sun Witch (Sisters of the Sun, Bk 1)
The Sun Witch (Sisters of the Sun, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Winstead Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 8/15/2010


I enjoyed this book. The magic the sisters possess, especially that of the Sun Witch, is interesting. I liked the characters. I have only 2 complaints. My first revolves around the curse. It is very clear upfront what the curse is, and how it came to be. However, it is not even 1/2 way resolved (or should that be 1/3 way) by the end of this first book. It's really obvious that the author intends for the reader to move on to each of the books in the series for the resolution. I don't mind that there's a hook into the next, as I do intend to read it. It's just that I would have liked there to be some part of the solution to have been discovered in the present story with the present heroine. My second minor complaint has to do with the introduction of another female character. I didn't like that the story moved to another point of view and another place out the blue. I didn't particularly like the placement. I know this technique is used in thrillers, but the placement within this storyline was jarring. I wish it would have been worked a bit more skillfully.
Other than these things, I recommend this 1st book in the series.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: