Sherry S. (SherryKaraoke) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
Author: Eric Flint
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 1/10/2010


An interesting, little-known time illuminated in this alternate history. Not the greatest writing, but held my interest in terms of plot.


After You With the Pistol (Charles Mortdecai, Bk 3)
After You With the Pistol (Charles Mortdecai, Bk 3)
Author: Kyril Bonfiglioli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/18/2010


The most wide-ranging - and absurd - of the trilogy, Charlie never fails to entertain the reader.


And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
Author: Tasha Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 9/13/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I found this at a yard sale and quite enjoyed it. The author is careful to create a truly Victorian protagonist - not a 21st-century woman in corsets and long skirts. A fun read.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/8/2010


A delightful "cozy" with a very unusual protaganist


The Buddha in the Attic
The Buddha in the Attic
Author: Julie Otsuka
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/9/2012


I loved this book. Not quite a novel, it reads more like a long poem, each chapter echoing with the voices of the Japanese mail order brides of the early twentieth century, telling their stories and conveying their emotions. Nothing is told straight through in a narrative, yet somehow after finishing it you can feel their emotional life - traveling so far from home, their disappointments and triumphs, their joys and sorrows. The style reminded me of Tim O'Brien's short story of the soldiers in Vietnam, "The Things They Carried." Both works use lists to make an impact on the reader.


The Cracked Pot (Clay and Crime, Bk 2)
The Cracked Pot (Clay and Crime, Bk 2)
Author: Melissa Glazer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/14/2010


A pleasant little "cozy" set in small-town Vermont.


Darcy's Story
Darcy's Story
Author: Janet Aylmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 9/28/2010


Charming retelling of "Pride and Prejudice" from the viewpoint of Mr. Darcy. Aylmer clearly knows - and loves - Jane Austen. If you've ever wondered what turned Darcy from a stiff snob to to the man Elizabeth Bennet loved, here is the answer.


Don't Point that Thing at Me (Mortdecai, Bk 1) (aka Mortdecai's Endgame)
Review Date: 12/23/2009


Black comedy at its finest. "Ripley" written as farce. Love Charlie Mortdecai - long may he sail.


Europe Central
Europe Central
Author: William T. Vollmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/1/2010


I so wanted to like this book, but I have given up. Every time I thought I understood who the protagonist was or what the main story was, it would shift focus. Maybe someone else will get it. I don't.


Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 3)
Faithful Place (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 3)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 6/27/2011
Helpful Score: 4


‎"Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way." Tolstoy certainly had it right... and the Mackeys of Dublin are among the most interesting "unhappy families" you'll ever read about. Tana French has once again created characters so vivid, you'll be lining up for her next novel. Better yet, go back and read her first two, if you haven't had the pleasure yet.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 5/27/2010
Helpful Score: 6


Compelling story, pedestrian writing.


Good-Bye to All That : An Autobiography (Anchor Books)
Good-Bye to All That : An Autobiography (Anchor Books)
Author: Robert Graves
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/15/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A brilliant evocation of the experiences of the author before and during and shortly after World War I. He seems to have known everybody from John Masefield to Siegfried Sassoon to T.E. Lawrence and writes cogently about a world in which poetry was a widespread and honored form of expression. Graves, probably most familiar in America as the author of I, Claudius, describes the terrible conditions of trench warfare and the resulting cynicism that pervades postwar Europe as a result.


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 6/9/2011


Wonderful! I'm old enough to remember women like Lily. What a great depiction of a woman who was completely the result of her life experience. I will never forget her. Thanks to Jeannette Walls for another memorable book.


Jacob Two-Two and the Dinosaur
Jacob Two-Two and the Dinosaur
Author: Mordecai Richler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/10/2010


My 10-year-old grandson, Simon, loves the Jacob Two-Two television program. When I told him it was based on a real series of books, he begged me to get them for him. Now he can't wait for the next book to arrive.


Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang (Jacob Two-Two Adventures (Paperback))
Review Date: 4/10/2010


My 10-year-old grandson, Simon, loves the Jacob Two-Two television program. When I told him it was based on a real series of books, he begged me to get them for him. Now he can't wait for the next book to arrive. This story takes place before the family relocates to Canada and Jacob is sent to Children's Prison on Slimer Island, run by the Hooded Fang - his crime? Insulting a grown-up!


Jericho's Fall
Jericho's Fall
Author: Stephen L. Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/15/2011


Where did Stephen Carter go? Is he being held hostage and forced to write this garbage? I have loved his earlier novels. Starting with The Emperor of Ocean Park, he has written about the African-American upper class with grace and complexity. This is not one of those novels. Throw this one in the trash and if you have any compassion at all, you won't pass this one on. It is terrible!


Jericho's Fall (Vintage)
Jericho's Fall (Vintage)
Author: Stephen L. Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/19/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Don't bother, I've been a fan of Stephen L. Carter's writing since "The Emperor of Ocean Park", but this ill-conceived potboiler is a waste of time.


The Known World
The Known World
Author: Edward P. Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 477
Review Date: 5/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've never read anything that captured the utter insanity of slavery and racism as effectively and affectingly as The Known World. Read it, read it, read it!

The author, Edward P. Jones, is one of the men celebrated in the new book FRATERNITY: IN 1968, A VISIONARY PRIEST RECRUITED 20 BLACK MEN TO THE COLLEGE OF THE HOLY CROSS AND CHANGED THEIR LIVES AND THE COURSE OF HISTORY. His classmates included Clarence Thomas, Ted Wells,Stan Grayson and Eddie Jenkins.


The Lake House (When the Wind Blows, Bk 2)
The Lake House (When the Wind Blows, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 3/26/2011


Unreadable tripe. Patterson can be a good writer, but this was just terrible. The voice of the narrator, a woman, never rang true. The fantasy veers from charming to revolting. I couldn't believe how badly written this book was. An interesting premise, but the characterizations were so flat, it was hard to remember who was who. Except for the "purple prose" and frequent sex scenes, The Lake House seemed to be written on a YA level. Skip this one.


The Magicians (Magician, Bk 1)
The Magicians (Magician, Bk 1)
Author: Lev Grossman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/14/2011


Harry Potter as written by Bret Easton Ellis (Less Than Zero) - What would you become if you could have your heart's desire? Did you ever look for the secret way through the Wardrobe? What if you didn't have to wait for an invitation?


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: