Melanie (MELNELYNN) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 670 - Page:
1022 Evergreen Place (Cedar Cove, Bk 10)
1022 Evergreen Place (Cedar Cove, Bk 10)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 11/14/2010


Debbie Macomber has written another compelling book based on the town of Cedar Cove. The book is full of stories that intertwine about the various characters and their ups and downs, success in love, and at times failures. This particular book revolves around some love letters and a diary that are found dating from WWII by Mary Jo and Mac, and the search for the author of the letters. If you have not read prior Cedar Cove books, the author will of course refresh your mind about the characters, who continue from prior books, but unlike some authors, does not make this the main filler of the new book.

What I love about this book, as well as her other books, is that her characters are so believable and human. They are like people you know quite well, and she gives little everyday sort of details that really make you feel as if you are there and can see it all unfold. For example, where they sit in a restaurant and what they order. Her characters are artists, gallery owners, judges, newspaper reporters, grandmothers, ranchers, firemen, and more. Macomber is also quite good at not making mistakes as some authors do, when carrying a rather large cast of characters and their characteristics over from book to book.

The only complaint that I have is that she left several characters in cliff-hangers, and the next book will not be out until Sept. 2011. It will be a long wait, since I cannot wait to see how the story unfolds.


10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 5/24/2012


The time has finally come. Lindsay is marrying Joe Molinari, the love of her life. After taking some time off after the wedding she is a little hesitant about her return to work. Changes are all-around, including a new lieutenant to answer to, Jackson Brady. Her first case back is that of Avis Richardson. A 15-year-old girl found collapsed in the middle of the road, bleeding out. It appears that she has just given birth, but apparently has no recollection of what happened since the delivery, how she got where she is, or what happened to her baby. Lindsay isn't so sure how honest Avis is being with her. She will have to push her hard in order to find out the truth. And hopefully find her baby alive.

Yuki has a make or break case on her hands. Dr. Candace Martin is charged with shooting her husband in cold blood. It appears to be an open and shut case, a sure, must-have win for Yuki. That is until Lindsay finds herself drawn into the case and starts poking around. Maybe things aren't as perfect as they appear to be. And Yuki's slam-dunk case may now be in jeopardy.

Cindy is basking in the glow of being head-over-heels in love with Rich, who just happens to be Lindsay's partner. Working as the crime reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle. She knows in this day and age - with internet news and bloggers - that she doesn't have 100% job security. She needs to find that one big story that will make her stand out, and hopefully hold onto her job. She gets the inside scoop on reports of several women being found passed out near their homes, with no memory of the past several hours. Cindy uses her investigative skills and tracks down a lead that will put her in a very precarious position.

While each of the Murder Club women works her own case they offer their own brand of expertise to each other. They each have their own worries, both professional and personal. But they are always there to help and support each other. They are each others best friends.

My issues with 10th Anniversary are relatively minor. Lindsay, Yuki, and Cindy each have strong, independent stories, but we get only glimpse of Claire. Yes, she had a baby not too long ago, and maybe shying away from trouble for now, but I wish we had seen more of her. I also found it confusing that there was a second, albeit minor character, named Cyndi. Granted the spelling is different, but it can be confusing to the reader. I think with any character in a book, we develop a picture in our minds of what we think each character looks like. With the Women's Murder Club having been a TV show, the images of Angie Harmon as Lindsay have stuck in my mind. Don't get me wrong, I love Angie Harmon, but now she is the only face I see. And she wasn't necessarily what I pictured Lindsay to look like originally. This isn't the authors doing, obviously, but those of you who watched the show may have a similar issue.

10th Anniversary is typical James Patterson ~ short chapters, fast-paced storyline, familiar characters and cases that aren't easily solved. He realizes that, at this point, everyone is probably familiar with the women of the Murder Club and doesn't bother the reader with too much repetitive info on their pasts. James Patterson & Maxine Paetro do a great job of combining mystery, intensity, love, friendship, and suspense in this latest edition of the Murder Club series. While most may look at this book as a typical James Patterson mystery, I see beyond that, to what to me is the core of this story. The deep, unrelenting friendship that these four women share. A friendship that has survived death, kidnapping, dating your BFF's boss, and whatever else gets thrown at them. Looking forward to when they celebrate their 20th anniversary.


1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 10/11/2011


Cedar Cove has always been one of my favorite places for a vicarious visit and this latest installment was no exception. The characters we have come to know so well are all in town and dealing with the joys and problems that keep their world turning. There are still story lines from many years ago that have stuck with me and characters I remember fondly. The series has given me many hours of joy and entertainment.

In this latest novel, the main story features the relationship between Rachel and Bruce. Rachel and Bruce are having marital difficulties stirred up by Bruce's daughter from his previous marriage. Jolene and Rachel got along very well and were close until Rachel married Bruce and then things deteriorated. By the beginning of this novel, things are so bad between them that Rachel decides she can no longer stay in the home. The remainder of the book follows them as they try to figure out if there is any way to make this marriage successful and how they are going to cope with Jolene. Ben and Charlotte are also a major story line along with Lync Wise and his wife.

"1105 Yakima Street" is featuring only a few main couples, allowing enough time devoted to each for the reader to really become involved in their lives. In addition, there is just enough back-story given to refresh your mind as you read along, but not enough to bog down the narrative.

Bottom line: I am very happy to say that Debbie Macomber is back to her usual form and has published another highly entertaining read in this latest effort. There is only going to be one more book in the series before it ends - a Christmas book - and I am now eagerly awaiting my turn to read it.


1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 3/5/2012


As someone who has been following this series beginning back in 2001, it was with mixed feelings that I picked up this last book. I wanted to read the book but felt saddened that the series was coming to an end. I think Ms. Macomber made a wise decision to bring it to closure since a couple of the more recent books haven't been the same quality of the earlier ones, but it still brought up feelings of melancholy since I have spent many hours enjoying her books, particularly this series. I found it fitting that the last book is a Christmas book since I believe that is an area where this author shines. It just isn't the holiday season without a heartwarming Christmas tale (particularly "Mrs. Miracle" - if you haven't read it, you really should).

Beth Morehouse is the character around which this novel is built, and we get to know her a bit better as she faces a hectic holiday season at her Christmas tree farm. As always, there are lots of things going on in her life, not just the busy business. Her college-age daughters are scheming to reunite her and her ex-husband by inviting him to Cedar Cove for Christmas, a pile of puppies has also been deposited with her that require time and effort at finding them all homes, and she is wondering if her relationship with the local vet has romantic promise.

This final novel has a slightly different feel since not only are we following Beth's story, Ms. Macomber is trying to bring many of the stories from many years to closure. There may be characters I missed, but it seems to me that every main character we have been introduced to over the past ten years is at least mentioned or has their storyline referenced. As a result, there is a lot of "stuff" going on and, at times, the narrative seems rushed but I still have to say she did a great job in writing this final book. I don't believe the intended audience is a new reader to the series, but rather a long-time fan who wants resolution. There are an even larger number of tidy endings this time out, but I think that is totally appropriate. Who wants to be left hanging after following the series for years? I think long-time fans will be pleased, but I would definitely not recommend this book as a stand-alone Christmas novel - the reader has to have the history of the characters to appreciate this final narrative.

Bottom line: Debbie Macomber ended an entertaining series in the most satisfactory way possible and with her usual grace. As a reader, I would like to say "Thank You" to her for providing hours of enjoyment to me and other readers. It has been a pleasure!


50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 610
Review Date: 3/9/2006


5th book in the Cedar Cove series. A great read alone as well as with the series. The series does not leave you behind if you don't read all but it does leave you wanting more of the people in Cedar Cove!


The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5)
The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 397
Review Date: 7/9/2007


Excellent reading and a keep you up late page turner . To me Mr Patterson breathed new life into the Womens Murder Club mystery by making this a semi Medical drama ,And another lady joins the Womens Murder Club and she is just as bright and well spirited as the others.


6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 587
Review Date: 10/3/2006


As with the previous 5 books in Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove Series, 6 Ranier Drive was like sitting down and gossiping with old friends. Ms. Macomber has stayed true to the flavor of the series by resolving problems from the previous book while setting up new scenerios for future books. In 6 Ranier Drive, Justine and Seth's marriage becomes troubled over the restaurant burning; Anson Butler and Allison Cox's relationship is threatened by Anson's past; Teri Miller becomes involved with a celebrity; Cal Washburn finds a cure for his speech defect, but has romantic difficulties, and Jon and Maryellen have their baby after a complicated pregnancy. I hate to say that Cedar Cove is like a soap opera on paper, but don't quite know how else to describe the series. I think the major difference between your daytime soaps and Cedar Cove is the rather excellent writing talent that Ms. Macomber brings to the table. After the first two books in the series (read them in order), you can't help but become so involved with the characters! 6 Ranier Drive was a worthy addition to the series and I will look forward eagerly to 74 Seaside Avenue in September of 2007.


The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6)
The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 615
Review Date: 7/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Number 6 in the Women's Murder Club series, "The 6th Target" by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro packs all the wallop of a skilled master author of police procedural fiction. From page 5, when Claire Washburn is gunned down trying to stop a shooting spree the action never stops.
Patterson and Paetro keep fans of the excellent series reading as Lindsay Boxer must juggle three separate cases to find her friend's assailant.
Be careful what you wish for, you may get it. Lindsay reduced in grade, is back working the streets while her partner is promoted to her former position. Plot twists and curves bring home a winner for the reader.


74 Seaside Avenue (Cedar Cove, Bk 7)
74 Seaside Avenue (Cedar Cove, Bk 7)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 571
Review Date: 10/2/2007


If you love books that have a folksy, down home, what's happening in the neighborhood kind of feeling, then you'll love this series, including the newest addition - #7.

Honestly, Mrs. Macomber writes just as if you were sitting there sharing a coffee and she was filling you in on all the happenings in Cedar Cove.

I don't know how she creates the intimacy she does, but honestly, you feel like one of the locals just catching up on the news.

And there's a lot of good news. The local hairdresser, on her own too long, unintentionally snags the wealthy successful International chess champion, and the sweet girl-next-door finally gives up on Cedar Cove and its men and heads back to the city, leaving her family still on the island. The turns and twists that these girls experience and all the other convolutions that occur in Cedar Cove are shared in such a comfortable, easy way that you feel like you're sitting in the beauty shop hearing it all face to face.
Mrs. Macomber does a great job as usual on this entertaining book!


7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
Author: Maxine Paetro, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 620
Review Date: 4/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Fires are being set to homes of the wealthy, leaving the residents dead. Detective Lindsay Boxer and her partner, Rich Conklin, are trying to find the murdering arsonists when they get a tip on another prominent case. The case involving the disappearance of Michael Campion, the son of a former governor, has been at a standstill but an anonymous tipster provides a new lead. Soon, Boxer and Conklin have a confession, but will it stand up in court? Women's Murder Club member and Assistant District Attorney, Yuki Castellano, will have the case of her life as the trial starts. Meanwhile, will Boxer and Conklin find the deadly arsonists?

The members of the Women's Murder Club are at it yet again in 7TH HEAVEN. Each book is written to stand alone although the friendship of these women has grown throughout the series. There are hints about past incidents that fans of the series will appreciate. It should be noted that newcomers to the series will miss the character development that has built slowly throughout the series, as some of the members of the Women's Murder Club only make brief appearances in 7TH HEAVEN.

Patterson and Paetro delve a bit further into Lindsay Boxer's psyche, this time examining her relationship to Joe versus her commitment to work. Yuki's insecurities are also examined as she is up against a female attorney not known for losing. Will these two members grow stronger as they face adversity?

James Patterson and Maxine Paetro deliver another fantastic thriller with 7th HEAVEN. The fast pace will have readers rapidly turning pages to see just how things will unfold. 7TH HEAVEN is yet another hit from these two talented authors and is easily recommended.


8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove, Bk 8)
8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove, Bk 8)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 10/16/2008


In Cedar Groove, Washington, Emily fears her husband Pastor Dave Flemming is having an affair. She is not sure who, but has found proof; Dave's jacket pocket contained another woman's earring and he comes home late at night, but will not tell her where he has been.

If he is not committing adultery, Emily fears he is grave robbing. He spent a lot time with a dying congregation member giving solace; after the person past away her relatives claim her jewelry was stolen. Dave had access to the woman's home and that damaging earring in his pocket. Emily prays to God for guidance to help her decide what to.

The latest Cedar Cove contemporary tale is an engaging story due to Emily's quandary as to what she should do. As always the support cast is solid and the audience receives updates on what is happening to the prime players from previous novels (see 74 SEASIDE AVENUE) and new neighbors are introduced (Like Sheriff Troy Davis' former love Faith Beckwith). Readers will enjoy the latest trek to Washington State as Emily wonders whether her moral kind husband has gone to the dark side.


The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 443
Review Date: 8/21/2009


James Patterson demonstrates why the Women's Murder Club books is wildly popular. Each of the novels in this entertaining series contains a number of appealing elements.

The first is a primary cast of four likable, professional women whose careers intersect occasionally with a stretch. Then you have the setting. The stories take place mainly in San Francisco, a city of such distinctiveness that it becomes a character unto itself, as opposed to a mere though beautiful backdrop. Add some very well-written erotica that steams up the pages without hijacking the book, a narrative that flows right off the page and into your mind at breakneck speed, and...what's not to love?

Of course, I have failed to mention one last element. Any series known as The Women's Murder Club had better have at least one good murder-based mystery at its heart; Patterson and Paetro haven't let their readers down. THE 8th CONFESSION has two puzzling cases to keep Detective Lindsay Boxer and her friends busy from beginning to end. The homicides could not be more dissimilar. One involves the slaying of a street character known only by his nickname of Bagman Jesus, whose mutilated body is found on the street. Bagman's demise is a true example of overkill, given that he has so many wounds that his death could be from any one of several factors. >From accounts, it appears that Bagman actually did some good on the street. Who then would want him dead, and why? Newspaper reporter Cindy Thomas does not want to let his murder rest, and she pressures the police establishment --- and Boxer --- not to let the case fall through the cracks.

Meanwhile, Boxer is getting pressured from above the chain of command to solve a series of murders that is taking out San Francisco's rich and famous beautiful people. How these killings are being done is a mystery, especially to Dr. Claire Washburn, San Francisco's chief medical examiner. And if Boxer ever makes an arrest in either case, she'll be passing the defendants off to Yuki Castellano, the San Francisco D.A. whose losing streak in the courtroom and in the bedroom needs to be broken, and soon. Speaking of which, Boxer's problems aren't limited to the detective bureau. Things are fine between her and her significant other; the problem is that he keeps popping the question, and she won't drop an answer. At the same time, the mutual attraction between Boxer and Rich Conklin, her detective bureau partner, is undeniable. How then is she going to react when Conklin and her friend Cindy begin forming their own society of mutual admiration?

As may be obvious, there is enough going on in THE 8th CONFESSION to keep you up all night reading or to while away a day or three at the beach this summer. On the other hand, if you have yet to pick a summer destination, this book, as with its predecessors, functions as a bit of a mini Zagat Guide for San Francisco, with various combinations of characters visiting a number of its finer and funkier dining establishments that lay off the beaten (and tourist) path. The idea of visiting some of the crime scenes that are peppered throughout the novel has its own appeal as well.

And if you need further prompting to read THE 8th CONFESSION, it seems to be a homage, intentional or otherwise, to one of the more popular stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, as well as one of the most favored novels by Dame Agatha Christie. It doesn't get much better than this.


92 Pacific Boulevard (Cedar Cove, Bk 9)
92 Pacific Boulevard (Cedar Cove, Bk 9)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 11/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love to read Debbie Macomber's books because I always come away feeling a bit more positive about life and people in general. This book is her latest in the Cedar Cove series. The fictional town of Cedar Cove is based on her own town and at the end of August they hosted Cedar Cove Days and from what I've read it sounds like it was a big success (I did not attend the event).

This series started 9 years ago and she releases a new installment at the end of the summer each year. The number at the beginning of the address tells what book it is (for example 16 Lighthouse Road was first and 92 Pacific Boulevard is ninth). Each address belongs to one character or couple and the main story or mystery will revolve around him, her or them while all the other characters continue to make an appearance and continue forward with their lives. From when the series started a few characters have moved or passed away but most of them are the same although their lives may have changed. This installment deals with Sheriff Troy Davis and Faith Beckwith who was his first love but due to circumstances they ended up happily married to other people. Both are now widowed. A misunderstanding took place in the last book and they are still working through the fall-out plus Troy is trying to solve the case of the 25 year old skeleton found in a cave by two teenagers as well as looking for the person responsible for vandalizing Faith's rental home. Olivia is still fighting cancer and Ben continues to have problems and to be disappointed by his grown son David.

These characters feel like friends. It is a testament to Macomber that they feel like real people, the whole town feels real. There are times when I feel like authors allow their series to go on too long, but that is not the case here. The only issue I have is that since it's been awhile since I read the last books I sometimes forget details. That being said, Macomber does drop hints and have people reminisce about things to catch the reader up on what has changed. This is a great book to curl up and relax with. I didn't want it to end and look forward to late August next year for the next installment.


The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 5/20/2012


Sergeant Lindsay Boxes and her team of co-workers, friends and outside influences are battling two horrific crime scenes simultaneous. There is only so much of Lindsay to go around which is why she has surrounded herself with great friends and women who are as supportive as they are brutally honest. This time though Lindsay is truly out there on her own as she battles a high profile robbery turned homicide and serial killer who is targeting young mothers and their babies.

While the burglary seems to be part of a string performed by the Hello Kitty bandit the question of why someone got killed this time is puzzling. The husband is an actor that may be putting on a great performance for the police as his story is so well rehearsed that it might not be believable and his excuses too flimsy. But the truly baffling crime spree seems to be coming from someone who is shooting women and their children leaving cryptic messages at each crime scene with the same letters but in different order. Nothing matches anything ever witnessed before and Lindsay is willing to put everything she has on the line to get this one closed even take her clothes off and prance around just to prove to the killer she is serious about stopping him.

While the murder of the rich socialite gets the attention the serial killer is escalating his behavior and making less sense at each crime scene. Lindsay tries to stay on top of both fronts but when the demands from the serial killer make it seem like he is less about vengeance and more about money she turns her attention in that direction because this person is truly more dangerous.

But just as things seem to be completely out of control the Hello Kitty bandit calls Lindsay and confesses to the burglaries but not the murder and convinces Lindsay that something is not adding up on any front with any of the husband's story. Yet just when you think nothing can get stranger it does and in the minute it takes to open a package or ring a doorbell everything explodes and goes into every other direction you thought it might lead.

Pay attention readers because this book moves fast, furious and in 10 different directions which lead you on a journey of unexpected conclusion. While this series has every woman plays a specific and critical role in this book Lindsay is the character that plays out as the lead. She is running two cases, trying to manage a personal life that seems to finally come together and dealing with departmental politics something she is not particularly good at. Her friends are there to keep the storyline flavorful and add some touches of honesty but overall Lindsay shines as the one woman in the group that does hold her own among everyone


Abandon (U.S. Marshalls, Bk 6)
Abandon (U.S. Marshalls, Bk 6)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 9


I always wait for Carla Negger's books, and I am never disappointed. I can't understand the negative comments. This is a GREAT book. The heroine is a hoot and everything is tied together perfectly. What I like best about her books is that you really feel like you are there...in the setting. It's very rich and fully of detail.


The Abilene Trail (Ralph Compton Novels)
The Abilene Trail (Ralph Compton Novels)
Author: Dusty Richards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/15/2008


A GREAT STORY- A MUST READ!!!!, October 21, 2003
By Lester E Williams "Les" (Lincoln, Nebraska United States) - See all my reviews


Like many a rancher in Texas with a small spread after the Civil War, Ben McCullough wanted a larger ranch. In order to fufill his dreams, Ben needed more cattle, a market for his cattle and a way to get his heard to the market. From a Mexican, McCullough was able to buy additional cattle for his heard. With the town of Abilene, Ben had a destination for his heard. All that remained was to hire a crew. Finding enough men to trail cattle north was proving to be a difficult task. Even Ben's old troopers from his army command were tied down with family. So Ben started out with Hap, his ex-sergent. Then his first hire was sixteen year old Mark Fulton, one of widow Jenny Fulton's boys. So with Mark, ex-slave Digger Jones, Mexican Miguel Costa an a cowboy in his early twenties Chip Fields, McCullough had his drovers...all young and eager. Ben proposes to Jenny before the drive north giving him even more incentive to successfully complete the drive. Ben also has a problem. One night in town he was confronted by a drunk cowboy Harold Coulter. McCullough being a big man, just threw Coulter aside and continued on his way. Now the whole Coulter clan are after Ben. Will Ben and his young drovers complete their drive while Ben is looking over his shoilder for Coulters? Will Ben return to marry Jenny? THE ABILENE TRAIL is A GREAT STORY. Much is learned by the reader about what needs to be done prior to a trail drive beginning and Dusty does an EXCELLENT JOB on THE ABILENE TRAIL as he throws in a surprising ending.


Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 5)
Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 8/7/2007
Helpful Score: 4


In her stunning follow up to the 2006 best seller "Shiver," Lisa Jackson has proven that there's room for a little romance amid all the death and depravity. Absolute Fear is part of the Bayou series, which includes, "Hot Blooded, Cold Blooded, and Shiver." The plot line is in depth and complicated yet developed simultaneously with the characters, in such a way that Absolute Fear stands on its own. This book has it all, child abuse, scandalous behavior within the church, unethical medical practices, sex, murder and mayhem. Having enjoyed this novel on every conceivable level, I have added all three previous titles to my list of must reads.

Absolute Fear is an Absolute Best Seller! Lisa Jackson has continued her series, while creating a novel that stands tall on its own merit. Jackson's ability to explore the inner workings of this characters depraved mind is an astonishing literary feat, that should not be overlooked. Successfully delivering to the reader a fright filled journey into the dark recesses of a madman's desires, while maintaining a relationship filled with explosive passion places Lisa Jackson in the company of the best! This book has the perfect mix of secrets, lust and murder to keep readers coming back again and again. And with the door left open at the conclusion, we can hope that there will be another installment.


Across the Rio Colorado (Sundown Riders, Bk 2)
Across the Rio Colorado (Sundown Riders, Bk 2)
Author: Ralph Compton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/24/2007


The people from Missouri hope to go to Texas which they think is a land of freedom and the fullfilment of their dreams. But first they have to conquer the many hazards including, ragging rivers, indians, violent thunderstorms, etc. But Mr. Compton finds a way. a great read.


Acts of Mercy (Mercy Street Foundation, Bk 3)
Acts of Mercy (Mercy Street Foundation, Bk 3)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 11/2/2009


Sam DelVecchio has spent the last sixteen years with the FBI, most recently as a profiler. He is now with the Mercy Street Foundation. Sam's first assignment is a cold-case murder of a soup kitchen volunteer. It is not long before Sam wonders if it is part of a serial killer's work. Turns out that there have been two other killings with the same MO. FBI agent Fiona Summers is already on the case and cooperates with Sam in hopes of figuring out who the killer is and why he is posing his victims in a certain way.

It is a local parish priest that recognizes what the poses represent. The killer is staging the Church's corporal acts of mercy ("Feed the hungry, shelter homeless ...") with the bodies. Sam and Fiona are in a race to stop the killer, but this killer is closer than they know.

***** FIVE STARS! Each Mercy Street novel investigates a single case. Yet there is also a continuous running sub-plot involving the owner of the foundation, Robert Magellan, Readers are treated with a fast paced and intense FBI thriller, but they also get to finally witness Robert find out what happened to his missing wife and infant son. (The readers who have been following this series already know the answers about Robert's wife. This title holds the answers to the son.)

As always, Mariah Stewart manages to show the good and the bad in our world. The author's writing style pulled me into the characters' lives, forced me to care for them, and swept me onto an emotional rollercoaster ride. All I can suggest to readers is for them to remember to breathe. ****


Afraid of the Dark
Afraid of the Dark
Author: Donna Anders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


San Francisco police officer Jessie Cline worries about her eleven years old son Danny living in an unsafe neighborhood. After a harrowing incident, she wonders who would care for him if she was killed as her son's father denies the child is his because Jessie had an affair at about the time she became pregnant. When she learns that she inherited property on Washington's Cliff Island, Jessie decides to fill the will's stipulation of living there at least a year. Jessie's also obtains the job of Assistant Police Chief.

Police Chief Hank Shepherd assigns Jessie to keep safe Lynda the pregnant wife of famous cartoonist Ben Thrasher who is in the news for his social commentary about an alleged womanizing senator. He was the Berkley professor, who Jessie had that affair with that ended her marriage.

Someone burns down Jessie's woodshed and she receives a threatening letter to leave or die. Lynda tells Jessie that someone forced her off the road while a driver tries to hit Danny. More incidents follow aimed at Jessie, Lynda, and Danny; the link is Ben, but no motive surfaces and the danger mounts

Jessie is a terrific strong lead heroine who has no idea why she and her son are under siege, but the incidents and the police investigation grip readers from start to finish though Danny is too perfect. Also a secondary Tugboat Annie like character draws the same conclusions using the same technology as the cops yet faster without insider information or the vast interrelated criminal databases. Still the suspense grows with twists and turns that hook fans who will keep the lights on being AFRAID OF THE DARK.


1 to 20 of 670 - Page: