Kendra G. (kjs2012) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Alphas: The Wolf / The Man (Settler's Mine, Bks 4-5)
The Alphas: The Wolf / The Man (Settler's Mine, Bks 4-5)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/27/2015


I like The WOlf (book 4), but I just couldn't quite "connect" with the characters in The Man (book 5). They were short enough that I can understand why they were combined into one book, but I had to make myself finish The Man. Not a keeper for me, but The Wolf made it worth the credit.


Bite Me (The Pride Series)
Bite Me (The Pride Series)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/18/2016


I have to say that this book does have it's funny moments that made me laugh out loud. The story line was a bit darker than usual, but I do think that helped make the funnier moments stand out a bit more. I enjoyed the book, and I probably will reread it in the future like I do her others. This was a good addition to the series, but not as light hearted as her previous books in the series. That doesn't make the book bad, just different. Story quality, world building, and characterization are all what I have come to expect from this author.


Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 5/20/2016


I'm not a big fan of the books set in the wild west back in the 1800's, but I have liked other stuff by Sarah McCarty so I thought I would read it. I'm glad I did. I really liked this book which did surprise me a little. I really liked the fact that Caine wasn't afraid to take responsibility and apologize when he screwed up in his dealings with Desi. I really felt for Desi and everything she went through and found that most of her interactions with Caine were reasonably believable. It was a well written story that was difficult to put down to go to bed. I'm sure I will ready it again in the future. This book has a home on my keeper shelf.


Cassandra's Challenge (Imperial, Bk 1)
Cassandra's Challenge (Imperial, Bk 1)
Author: M. K. Eidem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2017


I have never read anything by this author before. I bought this book for a buddy swap game and decided to read it before mailing it to her and I'm soooo glad I did. This book grabbed me in the first chapter and wouldn't let go. The next thing I know it's midnight (2 hours past my normal bedtime) and it's all I could do to put it down to go to bed. It is a long book at 629 pages, but I finished it the day after I started it because I just didn't want to put it down.

I liked the fact that this Heroine isn't one of those too stupid to live ones who is constantly whining and bemoaning the bad things that happen to her. The H/H both have flaws and there are miscommunications between them but they are somewhat realistic things given the setting/circumstances and they work through them in as realistic a way as possible. The sex scenes in the book are somewhat graphic but they are not the primary focus, the primary focus is on the story line and the character development. You actually get to "see" the relationship develop between them not just be told about it. I have already ordered the second book in the series and am looking forward to revisiting this complex world again.

The author does a great job with the world building in this book. She might throw a term out that you aren't sure exactly what it means to the story, but then she will have one of the other characters ask about the term used or the thought expressed so you learn about it right along with the characters and aren't left hanging or trying to figure it out with no reference point. I will definitely be checking out her other books as well. It was worth every penny I paid for the book.


Darkest Before Dawn (KGI, Bk 10)
Darkest Before Dawn (KGI, Bk 10)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 4/25/2016


I guess maybe I saw things in this book from a little different point of view. I remember how Hancock has popped up in other books, and the whole idea of him sacrificing one for the "greater good" really didn't surprise me all that much. After all he let Rio leave with Grace, and eventually took her back to hand over to the bad guy in Echoes at Dawn convinced in his own superiority. He let Maren be taken in Forged in Steele and only compromised his mission when it became obvious to him that the safety of her unborn child had been compromised. I truly think that if it had just been Maren, and that Maren hadn't been pregnant he would have just let it play out. So the story line here didn't really surprise me a lot. He struggled with the idea of sacrificing Honor. It would be very easy to see some of his repetitive thinking about the "greater good" and that kind of thing as a lack of author originality, but I've seen too many people in life keep repeating things to themselves or others over and over again to try and convince themselves that they are right or justified in their actions. I did feel that Honor was too accepting of her situation, and a little too quick to forgive early on in the story. Overall it wasn't an awful addition to the series, but then I'm not a stickler for complete believe-ability in the romances I read. I read them for the enjoyment and the escape and entertainment. It wasn't a book I struggled to get through or had to force myself to finish. I don't know if it will be one I will reread in the future like I have Echoes at Dawn or Whispers in the Dark, but I was satisfied with the overall story.


Ella and the Beast: More than Human
Ella and the Beast: More than Human
Author: S. E. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/18/2017


Another great book by S. E. Smith! This is the 5th book I've read bu this author and it wasn't a disappointment. In a new twist on shifters this book starts out with shifters being the predominant race on Earth several hundred years after a war between shifters and humans. The end result of this war left the shifters believing that they wiped out the humans and that humans are now extinct. Ty Bearclaw finds out the hard way that humans aren't extinct but are living in small clans in remote areas like forests, etc. This author writes a great story that includes romance and some explicit sex scenes but they flow well in the story line and the story line definitely takes a front seat to the romance and sex in the story unlike a lot of books today that seem nothing more than sex with the story line as an after thought. It's an excellent read and definitely worth buying, or spending the credit on!


Fierce Radiance (Space Confederation, Bk 1)
Fierce Radiance (Space Confederation, Bk 1)
Author: Tymber Dalton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/7/2017


This was an amazing book! She sucked me right in, and the story had me so involved that I actually cried a couple of times! The things this woman went through growing up made her a very strong willed individual who doesn't trust or risk herself emotionally with others. Unfortunately this strong will leads to some stubbornness and misunderstandings that take them a bit to resolve. While the sex takes place rather quickly after Aine and Samuel meet it does so in a way that doesn't make it too unbelievable. The struggle between the three of them to make the relationship work is very believable, and it's easy to see where the misunderstandings could happen considering the difference in cultures and experiences. This is a really great story and I will be watching for more stories in this series. I will definitely bee seeking out more books by this author!


Going Under (Bound By Magick, Bk 3)
Going Under (Bound By Magick, Bk 3)
Author: Lauren Dane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/14/2016


I hate to admit it but I was a little disappointed in Gage in this book. I expected soooo much from him after reading Chaos Burning. He disappointed. He spent 90% of the book refusing to acknowledge how he felt and what it was. Don't get me wrong the story was good and I enjoyed the book but I don't think it will be one that I will re-read like I have read Chaos Burning several times. It wasn't a bad book, it was good, I was just disappointed in Gage in this one. It had a good story line with a fast pace that kept you engaged. I loved how strong Molly was without being overbearing or rude. It was a good addition to the series.


Haunted Wolves
Haunted Wolves
Author: Moira Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/11/2017


I recently emailed the authors as I couldn't locate a copy of this book that wasn't priced at over $200. The reply I got back was:

"The books haven't been republished yet because it may be a while before books #3 and #4 will be written, and I didn't want to keep hooking people on a series with no resolution."


Jacinda's Challenge (Imperial, Bk 3)
Jacinda's Challenge (Imperial, Bk 3)
Author: M. K. Eidem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/29/2017


This is an amazing series so far and I am really hoping she will write more in this series in the future! This is the third book in a series that starts with Cassandra's Challenge. The second book is Victoria's Challenge. This is the third book and it is just as good as the first. Another PBS member got me reading her books and I'm so glad she did! The characters in this series are complete and fully developed individuals with strengths and flaws just like everyone else. Every one of her books so far has pulled me and and not let go until the wee hours of the morning and even though I'm tired the next day I leave the story very satisfied with how it went.

This story is about Amina's great-aunt. King Jotham, who appeared in the first and second books, decides he wants to find out more about Amina because he thinks his son might be interested in her and what better way than to ask her family. Jacinda and Rotham are both widows with grown children, and Jacinda even has grandchildren and she takes great offense to Jotham's attitude and request and thinks nothing of telling him off and walking out of his office even though he is a king. I love her emotional strength and her commitment to what she feels right no matter what. That strength of conviction and what is right follows her through the book and does it well. We get to find out a lot more about Jotham and Barek who have both been in the first two books and the consistency of their characters throughout the books is amazing. This author is very good at being able to write strong female characters without sacrificing their femininity in the process, and that is something not all authors can do well. This book will stand well on it's own even if you haven't read the first two, but I would definitely recommend reading those too as they are just as good as this one. Definitely worth the money I paid for it!


Kill Without Mercy (ARES Security, Bk 1)
Kill Without Mercy (ARES Security, Bk 1)
Author: Alexandra Ivy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/11/2017


I enjoyed this book. I originally requested it because I have enjoyed this author's other books and this was a good read. I will admit that I figured out early on who the "bad guy" was and once a few clues dropped I figured out what was going on with the sheriff as well but it was still an enjoyable read. The main characters did seem to fall into bed pretty quickly, but that seems to be pretty standard for these types of books anymore so it wasn't too much of a distraction from the story line. All of the characters in the book seem to be well developed and the interactions between the different characters worked well for the story line and nothing seemed out of place or rushed. Overall a good read and I will be checking out the other books in the series to see how the stories for the other characters go.


Leashed: More Than a Bargain
Leashed: More Than a Bargain
Author: Jet Mykles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/28/2013


A very good follow-up to the first book. Although I will admit it had been long enough between the first book and this one that I sometimes had to stop and think back to what happened in the first book to connect with a few references in this one.


The Lovers (Settler's Mine, Bk 2)
The Lovers (Settler's Mine, Bk 2)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/27/2015


This book was ok. Plot and writing was a little better than the last one. Not a keeper but ok for a credit.


Nikhil (Kaliszian, Bk 1)
Nikhil (Kaliszian, Bk 1)
Author: M. K. Eidem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/29/2017


I got this book from one of PBS friends and I'm soooo glad I did. In this story a group of 12 humans is abducted by "aliens" to be slave labor in mines and some are severely beaten, given only one meal a day with very little water, etc. They are eventually rescued by more "aliens" who turn out to be the good guys. They have what is called true mate beads in their hair that "migrate" to their true mate's hair when they find her. One of the humans the Kaliszians find in the mines and rescue turns out to be the first true mate in 500 years. This is a shorter book (298 pages) in comparison to the others I have read by this author but the story still doesn't feel rushed or incomplete. I am really looking forward to starting on the next book in this series Treyvon.


The Rivals  (Settler's Mine, Bk 1)
The Rivals (Settler's Mine, Bk 1)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/27/2015


The book was ok. It was a very quick read for me and not hard to understand or follow the story line. The story itself flowed well, but I would have to agree that some of the writing was simplistic and repetitive. Not a book I would read again like Tymber Dalton's Fierce Radiance, but decent enough.


The Rogue (Settler's Mine, Bk 6)
The Rogue (Settler's Mine, Bk 6)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/27/2015


To me this was probably the best book of the lot. The writing has improved since the first book. Not a keeper for me due to my limited space, but I may invest in an ebook copy of this one.


Sea Dragon (Sea Captain's Daughter, Bk 1)
Sea Dragon (Sea Captain's Daughter, Bk 1)
Author: Bianca D'Arc
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/31/2016


First let me preface this review by saying...I am a pre-order fan of anything by Bianca D'Arc and have been ever since I found her first dragon knights book. I really liked the story line and I found the idea of the existence of sea dragons as a great way to continue the series. I liked the way the story developed and the interactions between Livia and Hrardorr (this name seems similar to the name of a griffon in keeper of the flame), as well as Livia and Seth, and Livia and Sir Gowan. I guess I didn't really process that this was a trilogy, but this book just cut off a major plot point in the story. Needless to say I wanted to throw the story across the room and yell "Noooooooo!". I have never had to deal with this kind of thing with her books and I was very surprised and frustrated by it. While we did get resolution when it comes to the attackers from the sea, the relationships between Livia, Seth and Sir Gowan are left dangling with the return of Livia's father from his sea voyage. That is almost literally where it ends. I haven't been able to find a release date for the other 2 books in this trilogy either, which has frustrated me to no end. Hopefully I won't have to wait months or more for the next book. It's a great story and well up to the standards set by her other books, I loved it, just not the ending which seemed a bit abrupt to me and left us hanging a bit.


Shifter Planet
Shifter Planet
Author: D. B. Reynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/5/2017


This was a great read from an author that is new to me. I will have to start checking out her other books after reading this one. The story line was great and nothing felt rushed or unresolved. There is an element of romance in the story but it definitely takes a back seat to the story line itself. I really liked the fact that the main heroine is a strong, self-sufficient woman who sticks to her goal of joining the guild in spite of the fact that almost no one she has contact with wants her to do it. In fact some of the characters in the book go so far as to sabotage her to try and make her fail but she triumphs in spite of all the people against her. An excellent book that will go on my keeper shelf to read again in the future.


The Undoing (Call of Crows, Bk 2)
The Undoing (Call of Crows, Bk 2)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/24/2016


This is an awesome follow-up to the first book, The Unleashing, but can be read as a stand alone. This one focuses on Crow Jace Berisha and Protector Ski Eriksen. The story line was engaging, and the relationship between Jace and Ski was believable if you left out the paranormal stuff. Both characters have these odd conversations that wander all over the place on all different topics but it works for them and their personalities. So far this has been a good new series for her, and we see her signature humor and sarcasm all through these books just like we did in the pride series. She seems to have characters in all her books that are almost crazy and over the top odd but it works for her and for the story. When I want a book to make me laugh I always go for Shelly Laurenston. She is one author that I pre-order ALL her books!


The Unleashing (Call of Crows, Bk 1)
The Unleashing (Call of Crows, Bk 1)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/18/2016


While I will agree with the other reviews that the hero and heroine of this story didn't come across as over the top as her characters usually do I liked the contrast between their "normal" and the crazy going on around them. I think it helped the "crazy" around them to stand out a little more. It was also interesting to watch Kera try to adjust from a controlling former marine to working with the crows who have NO organization or scheduling. Kera has to make adjustments to fit into her new life and world and Shelly Laurenston does a good job of showing that growth and eventual understanding. I could relate to Kera in the aspect of her getting along better, and understanding better, the all male ravens than her own all female crows, since I get along better with men than women as well. They just make more sense to me, just like they do to her. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and Shelly Laurenston's ever present humor that often leaves me laughing out loud. I will definitely be watching for the next book in the series.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: