Kendra G. (kjs2012) - , - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
The Alphas: The Wolf / The Man (Settler's Mine, Bks 4-5)
The Alphas: The Wolf / The Man (Settler's Mine, Bks 4-5)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/27/2015


I like The WOlf (book 4), but I just couldn't quite "connect" with the characters in The Man (book 5). They were short enough that I can understand why they were combined into one book, but I had to make myself finish The Man. Not a keeper for me, but The Wolf made it worth the credit.


Bite Me (The Pride Series)
Bite Me (The Pride Series)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/18/2016


I have to say that this book does have it's funny moments that made me laugh out loud. The story line was a bit darker than usual, but I do think that helped make the funnier moments stand out a bit more. I enjoyed the book, and I probably will reread it in the future like I do her others. This was a good addition to the series, but not as light hearted as her previous books in the series. That doesn't make the book bad, just different. Story quality, world building, and characterization are all what I have come to expect from this author.


Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 5/20/2016


I'm not a big fan of the books set in the wild west back in the 1800's, but I have liked other stuff by Sarah McCarty so I thought I would read it. I'm glad I did. I really liked this book which did surprise me a little. I really liked the fact that Caine wasn't afraid to take responsibility and apologize when he screwed up in his dealings with Desi. I really felt for Desi and everything she went through and found that most of her interactions with Caine were reasonably believable. It was a well written story that was difficult to put down to go to bed. I'm sure I will ready it again in the future. This book has a home on my keeper shelf.


Darkest Before Dawn (KGI, Bk 10)
Darkest Before Dawn (KGI, Bk 10)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/25/2016


I guess maybe I saw things in this book from a little different point of view. I remember how Hancock has popped up in other books, and the whole idea of him sacrificing one for the "greater good" really didn't surprise me all that much. After all he let Rio leave with Grace, and eventually took her back to hand over to the bad guy in Echoes at Dawn convinced in his own superiority. He let Maren be taken in Forged in Steele and only compromised his mission when it became obvious to him that the safety of her unborn child had been compromised. I truly think that if it had just been Maren, and that Maren hadn't been pregnant he would have just let it play out. So the story line here didn't really surprise me a lot. He struggled with the idea of sacrificing Honor. It would be very easy to see some of his repetitive thinking about the "greater good" and that kind of thing as a lack of author originality, but I've seen too many people in life keep repeating things to themselves or others over and over again to try and convince themselves that they are right or justified in their actions. I did feel that Honor was too accepting of her situation, and a little too quick to forgive early on in the story. Overall it wasn't an awful addition to the series, but then I'm not a stickler for complete believe-ability in the romances I read. I read them for the enjoyment and the escape and entertainment. It wasn't a book I struggled to get through or had to force myself to finish. I don't know if it will be one I will reread in the future like I have Echoes at Dawn or Whispers in the Dark, but I was satisfied with the overall story.


Fierce Radiance (Space Confederation, Bk 1)
Fierce Radiance (Space Confederation, Bk 1)
Author: Tymber Dalton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/7/2017


This was an amazing book! She sucked me right in, and the story had me so involved that I actually cried a couple of times! The things this woman went through growing up made her a very strong willed individual who doesn't trust or risk herself emotionally with others. Unfortunately this strong will leads to some stubbornness and misunderstandings that take them a bit to resolve. While the sex takes place rather quickly after Aine and Samuel meet it does so in a way that doesn't make it too unbelievable. The struggle between the three of them to make the relationship work is very believable, and it's easy to see where the misunderstandings could happen considering the difference in cultures and experiences. This is a really great story and I will be watching for more stories in this series. I will definitely bee seeking out more books by this author!


Going Under (Bound By Magick, Bk 3)
Going Under (Bound By Magick, Bk 3)
Author: Lauren Dane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/14/2016


I hate to admit it but I was a little disappointed in Gage in this book. I expected soooo much from him after reading Chaos Burning. He disappointed. He spent 90% of the book refusing to acknowledge how he felt and what it was. Don't get me wrong the story was good and I enjoyed the book but I don't think it will be one that I will re-read like I have read Chaos Burning several times. It wasn't a bad book, it was good, I was just disappointed in Gage in this one. It had a good story line with a fast pace that kept you engaged. I loved how strong Molly was without being overbearing or rude. It was a good addition to the series.


Haunted Wolves
Haunted Wolves
Author: Moira Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/11/2017


I recently emailed the authors as I couldn't locate a copy of this book that wasn't priced at over $200. The reply I got back was:

"The books haven't been republished yet because it may be a while before books #3 and #4 will be written, and I didn't want to keep hooking people on a series with no resolution."


Kill Without Mercy (ARES Security, Bk 1)
Kill Without Mercy (ARES Security, Bk 1)
Author: Alexandra Ivy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/11/2017


I enjoyed this book. I originally requested it because I have enjoyed this author's other books and this was a good read. I will admit that I figured out early on who the "bad guy" was and once a few clues dropped I figured out what was going on with the sheriff as well but it was still an enjoyable read. The main characters did seem to fall into bed pretty quickly, but that seems to be pretty standard for these types of books anymore so it wasn't too much of a distraction from the story line. All of the characters in the book seem to be well developed and the interactions between the different characters worked well for the story line and nothing seemed out of place or rushed. Overall a good read and I will be checking out the other books in the series to see how the stories for the other characters go.


Leashed: More Than a Bargain
Leashed: More Than a Bargain
Author: Jet Mykles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 12/28/2013


A very good follow-up to the first book. Although I will admit it had been long enough between the first book and this one that I sometimes had to stop and think back to what happened in the first book to connect with a few references in this one.


The Lovers (Settler's Mine, Bk 2)
The Lovers (Settler's Mine, Bk 2)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/27/2015


This book was ok. Plot and writing was a little better than the last one. Not a keeper but ok for a credit.


The Rivals  (Settler's Mine, Bk 1)
The Rivals (Settler's Mine, Bk 1)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/27/2015


The book was ok. It was a very quick read for me and not hard to understand or follow the story line. The story itself flowed well, but I would have to agree that some of the writing was simplistic and repetitive. Not a book I would read again like Tymber Dalton's Fierce Radiance, but decent enough.


The Rogue (Settler's Mine, Bk 6)
The Rogue (Settler's Mine, Bk 6)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/27/2015


To me this was probably the best book of the lot. The writing has improved since the first book. Not a keeper for me due to my limited space, but I may invest in an ebook copy of this one.


Sea Dragon (Sea Captain's Daughter, Bk 1)
Sea Dragon (Sea Captain's Daughter, Bk 1)
Author: Bianca D'Arc
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/31/2016


First let me preface this review by saying...I am a pre-order fan of anything by Bianca D'Arc and have been ever since I found her first dragon knights book. I really liked the story line and I found the idea of the existence of sea dragons as a great way to continue the series. I liked the way the story developed and the interactions between Livia and Hrardorr (this name seems similar to the name of a griffon in keeper of the flame), as well as Livia and Seth, and Livia and Sir Gowan. I guess I didn't really process that this was a trilogy, but this book just cut off a major plot point in the story. Needless to say I wanted to throw the story across the room and yell "Noooooooo!". I have never had to deal with this kind of thing with her books and I was very surprised and frustrated by it. While we did get resolution when it comes to the attackers from the sea, the relationships between Livia, Seth and Sir Gowan are left dangling with the return of Livia's father from his sea voyage. That is almost literally where it ends. I haven't been able to find a release date for the other 2 books in this trilogy either, which has frustrated me to no end. Hopefully I won't have to wait months or more for the next book. It's a great story and well up to the standards set by her other books, I loved it, just not the ending which seemed a bit abrupt to me and left us hanging a bit.


The Undoing (Call of Crows, Bk 2)
The Undoing (Call of Crows, Bk 2)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/24/2016


This is an awesome follow-up to the first book, The Unleashing, but can be read as a stand alone. This one focuses on Crow Jace Berisha and Protector Ski Eriksen. The story line was engaging, and the relationship between Jace and Ski was believable if you left out the paranormal stuff. Both characters have these odd conversations that wander all over the place on all different topics but it works for them and their personalities. So far this has been a good new series for her, and we see her signature humor and sarcasm all through these books just like we did in the pride series. She seems to have characters in all her books that are almost crazy and over the top odd but it works for her and for the story. When I want a book to make me laugh I always go for Shelly Laurenston. She is one author that I pre-order ALL her books!


The Unleashing (Call of Crows, Bk 1)
The Unleashing (Call of Crows, Bk 1)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/18/2016


While I will agree with the other reviews that the hero and heroine of this story didn't come across as over the top as her characters usually do I liked the contrast between their "normal" and the crazy going on around them. I think it helped the "crazy" around them to stand out a little more. It was also interesting to watch Kera try to adjust from a controlling former marine to working with the crows who have NO organization or scheduling. Kera has to make adjustments to fit into her new life and world and Shelly Laurenston does a good job of showing that growth and eventual understanding. I could relate to Kera in the aspect of her getting along better, and understanding better, the all male ravens than her own all female crows, since I get along better with men than women as well. They just make more sense to me, just like they do to her. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and Shelly Laurenston's ever present humor that often leaves me laughing out loud. I will definitely be watching for the next book in the series.


The Unleashing (Call of Crows, Bk 1)
The Unleashing (Call of Crows, Bk 1)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/31/2016


I would have to agree that this series is not like most of her other books. Those are a bit more light hearted and easy going. This book had a bit of a darker tone, or at least I though so, which balanced out the humorous and funny situations in the book. The thing that made this an awesome book for me is that the characters fell "real" to me. With a story set in a world like this it would be so easy to come up with characters that we couldn't really relate much to, There were A LOT of times in the book that I caught myself thinking "I would sooo do that", or that one of my friends or family members would react the way a character did. I have a sister that is a hypochondriac just like one of the crows and I could so see her doing some of the things that character did and said. The part of the book where Kera lectures the girls about proper dog ownership and her reactions when they bring the dog back wearing a tutu or things I could easily see myself doing if it were my dog. Those kind of things just made me appreciate this story all the much more and the slightly darker tone to this story-line really appealed to me as a change of pace. I though the author maintained a good balance between closure for this particular couple and not completely resolving the issues of the bad guys to be continued in other books. I didn't feel that the ending had any more of a cliffhanger than say one of Lora Leighs breed books or one of JR Ward's Black dagger Brotherhood books. I thoroughly enjoyed and have even re-read it once already. This is going on my keeper shelf.


Wild Darkness (Bound By Magick, Bk 4)
Wild Darkness (Bound By Magick, Bk 4)
Author: Lauren Dane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/15/2016


Lauren Dane did it again! I loved this book! I will admit to having a bit of a bias against Helena at the start due to the backstory from Chaos Burning. The way she treated her sister really bugged me coming from a family where family is so important, but Helena definitely redeemed herself in this one. I was also glad to see Gage and Molly in this book, and was happy that Gage has finally stepped up and acted like I expected him to act in the last book. It was nice to see Cardinian, Mei and Jayce again, even if only briefly, and Faine was awesome. But I expected nothing less after meeting Simon in Chaos Burning. This was a great book, with a well paced story line that I'm sure I will be reading again in the future.


The Woman (Settler's Mine, Bk 3)
The Woman (Settler's Mine, Bk 3)
Author: Mechele Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/27/2015


This book was better than the first two. I found I liked the characters much better and the writing has improved from the first book. Not really a keeper for me as my space is limited but a decent book overall.


1 to 18 of 18