Mary B. (eagles) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 114 - Page:
All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Did not like this book. For soome reason, could not get past the first chapter. I usually enjoy her books, but this one could not hold my interest.


The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Couldn't finish this one. Could not hold my interest. Anne Tyler tries to hard with this one, in my opnion, and the writing seems forced with many cliches.


Amy and Isabelle
Amy and Isabelle
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 8


When I started this book, I had no expectations. But I was immediately intrigued by the story. The topic is uncomfortable at times, but the writing is good and keeps you interested. A deep psychological book with insights/thoughts that made me think.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3673
Review Date: 6/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book. Appreciated this book more than The Da Vinci Code.


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Slow book at times but overall a good book.


Atlas Shrugged
Atlas Shrugged
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 341
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I am unusual in that I cannot get into Ayn Rand's works and cannot appreciate her style. This book was too long and the characters too self absorbed in my opinion.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 888
Review Date: 6/16/2007


This book was difficult to get into, but overall a fair book.


Away
Away
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/28/2007
Helpful Score: 6


I was expecting more from this book. It had so much potential with its premise. But it kept veering off course and getting so bogged down in details I couldn't follow the story. By the end, I didn't care if I understood the paragraph or not, I just moved on to get the book over with. I would not attempt to read this again nor would I recommend it.


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 6/25/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This book was a good follow up to Susannah's Garden. It was easy to read and easy to follow. Some of it is predictable, but it was still an enjoyable book and would recommend.


Back Roads
Back Roads
Author: Tawni O'Dell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was one Oprah book I did not like. The storyline was hard to follow and contrived at times.


Beach Music
Beach Music
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 6/18/2007


I love Pat Conroy's books and have read everyone. I was so excited when this one came out! But then so disappointed when I started it. It slow, difficult to read and dull. Not at all like his previous books. I couldn't finish, even after multiple attempts!


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 6/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A little slow at times, but I enjoyed it and would recommend reading. I read it on the beach so it is something you can put down and come back to without effort.


Black and Blue
Black and Blue
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 666
Review Date: 6/15/2007


good, solid book. Easy to read, finished pretty quickly.


Blue Water
Blue Water
Author: A. Manette Ansay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really made myself finish this book. I felt the ending was an afterthought and did not flow with the story at all. The book dragged quite a bit and many times I felt I was reading *filler* and was asking what was the point of that?


Body for Life: 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strength
Body for Life: 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strength
Author: Bill Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/3/2008


******My copy of the book does not have a cover and has some writing (not much!) in it. Please let me know if this will be a problem!******

But the book for me was all common knowledge, even the recipes. This information may have been new when the book was published, but now I feel all of this information I use now, and I need more detailed information. I need the *next* step.


The Body of Jonah Boyd
The Body of Jonah Boyd
Author: David Leavitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/27/2007


I read this book in one night. It is so easy to read and a captivating story. The title sounds morbid and dark - it is not - so do not let that stop you from reading this wonderful book!


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1035
Review Date: 12/5/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This book was a wonderful read. So many historical aspects. It was cryptic in the beginning, so I was unsure, but as I kept going it progressed to where I could not put it down. I now have a fascination with trying to read more books like this, especially pertaining to the history of Nazi Germany.


The Breakdown Lane
The Breakdown Lane
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 6/15/2007


A light read, not particularly memorable, but an entertaining book.


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 793
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A great book. I wanted to read it over and over.


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I read this book very quickly! It was a dark story, and hooked me in the beginning, the middle lagged some, but then it was worth sticking to the end. Interesting perspective on one event from many different viewpoints. Easy to read.


1 to 20 of 114 - Page: