Juanita R. (onlyonenita) - - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Ancestors
Ancestors
Author: Robyn Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/6/2013


This was an interesting read about a woman searching for something after her parent die when she was young. Set in Australia, Davidson weaves the family history into the woman's life.


Any Place I Hang My Hat
Any Place I Hang My Hat
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/4/2013


Heartwarming story of a woman finding her place in the world and a family. Nice summer reading.


The Bridegroom : Stories (Vintage International)
The Bridegroom : Stories (Vintage International)
Author: Ha Jin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/17/2013


This is a great collection of short stories by famous Chinese author Ha Jin. Each of the stories are loosely connected, but very engaging.


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 723
Review Date: 5/23/2013


Superbly written. If you watched the movie, it followed the book pretty well. The book is worth the read, you learn so much more about the characters and they are definitely worth knowing.


High Fidelity
High Fidelity
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 5/18/2013


I loved this book. It was funny, interesting, and a page turner. I love John Cusack and he did a great job in the movie, but they could not fully transform the book into a film.


Love Song of J. Edgar Hoover
Love Song of J. Edgar Hoover
Author: Kinky Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/25/2013


Interesting fluff book. It is a pretty quick weird that will make you smile at the sarcasm. If you are looking for something deep and interesting, do not choose this one. However, if you want a light read this is a humorous mystery of a private eye hired to find a husband that does not exist leading his employer to the treasure of Al Capone.


The Map of Love
The Map of Love
Author: Ahdaf Soueif
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 5/17/2013


An interesting clash of cultures, love story, historical novel that tells the story of three women. Two of the women are in the early 1900s and the third (the narrator) is in 1997. Well written and interesting.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2146
Review Date: 5/17/2013


I don't care that this book was partially based on real-life experiences and parts were fabricated. It was still a very good read. Extremely engaging and you find yourself rooting for people.


Native Son
Native Son
Author: Richard Wright
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/17/2013


Thought provoking.


Sophie's World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy
Sophie's World: A Novel About the History of Philosophy
Author: Jostein Gaarder, Paulette Møller (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 5/17/2013


A bit dry at times, but if you want to get the gist of the ideas of many philosophers this is a great book to start with. It explains philosophies in a clear concise manner that a high schooler can understand. The story itself is thought provoking and surprising.


This Earth of Mankind (Buru Quartet, Bk 1)
This Earth of Mankind (Buru Quartet, Bk 1)
Author: Pramoedya Ananta Toer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/25/2013


This is a really good book about colonialism in the 19th century. The story is from the native perspective and quite detailed. It is part love story, part history, and part human rights.


The Transplant
The Transplant
Author: Alexandra Ulysses
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/9/2013


From the get-go, this book captivated me. I was introduced to characters quickly and immediately rooted for the main characters. The descriptions of the people were very accurate as the author introduced people from all walks of life and personalities.

The book is divided into 3 parts. The first parts focuses on Agata, a young Polish women, who left her home in search for a better job and ended up in the US. The second part focuses on Mario, a Mexican immigrant who initially struggles to get into the country. The third part bring them surprisingly together.

The way the book is organized makes is very easy to read and catches the reader off guard more than once. In my opinion, I think it is a fair representation of illegal immigrants in this country.

I really enjoyed reading this novel and can honestly recommend it to anyone!


Until I Find You
Until I Find You
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 5/17/2013


Irving's longest book and it is completely worth it. The story is extremely intricate and you get to know each character intimately. If you need something to lose yourself in, this book will do it!


Where the Heart Is
Where the Heart Is
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1698
Review Date: 5/17/2013


I could not put this book down. A page turner!


The World According to Garp
The World According to Garp
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/17/2013


A classic!


1 to 15 of 15