Marta J. (booksnob) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 411 - Page:
An Unfinished Life
An Unfinished Life
Author: Mark Spragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/16/2006


Beautifully written, highly satisfying novel.


Angelology (Angelology, Bk 1)
Angelology (Angelology, Bk 1)
Author: Danielle Trussoni
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/15/2011


Angels are out there---and they're not nice!!! Intelligent, well-written genre novel. Not at all my usual type of book, but I really enjoyed it and will definitely read the sequel when it comes out.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 11/26/2005


This is Landvik's best since "Patty Jane's House of Curl". It explores the lives of five women over a number of years. I think it does a nice job of revealing the intensity and love of close friendship among women.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/29/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Absolutely wonderful and engrossing novel about a woman dealing with a difficult, tragic childhood. Her memories become more vivid following a debilitating accident, after which she decides to find out truths that have been hidden from her. Lots of surprises.


Are You There Alone? : The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates
Are You There Alone? : The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates
Author: Suzanne O'Malley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/20/2011


An account of the horrendous drownings of the 5 Yates children by their mother, the events that led up to the event as well as the aftermath. If you had any doubt at all that Yates was mentally ill, you won't after reading this. I think that my one surprise was feeling more kindly disposed toward her husband Rusty, who was villified by the press at the time.


As Hot as It Was You Ought to Thank Me
As Hot as It Was You Ought to Thank Me
Author: Nanci Kincaid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/19/2006


I really loved this book...


As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as A Girl
As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as A Girl
Author: John Colapinto
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 10/21/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I saw a documentary on this, so was very interested to read the book. Very well-written, especially considering that there is almost no embellishment to the narrative to make it more readable. The book concerns the case of David Reimer, who lost his penis during infancy due to a botched circumcision, after which he was raised as a girl. Even more interesting is the fact that he had an identical twin brother. It was an experiment that failed miserably and caused David to have a horrible life. Though it ends on a somewhat optimistic note, the fact is that David committed suicide after the publication of this book.


At Swim, Two Boys
At Swim, Two Boys
Author: Jamie O'Neill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/22/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I'm ashamed to admit that I didn't have the fortitude to wade through the heavy Irish vernacular. I'm sure it's a great book, but my patience was lacking.


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Laurie Notaro is So funny. Maybe not quite as good as her first, but hugely entertaining!


The Autograph Man
The Autograph Man
Author: Zadie Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/25/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Highly unusual story of young man's search for himself, full of showbiz trivia and Judaica. Amusing and thought-provoking. Not for the "dumb" reader. (Sorry for the snobbery, but it's true.)


Babyji
Babyji
Author: Abha Dawesar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/7/2007


A brilliant high school girl in Delhi is seemingly irresistable to everyone. She juggles multiple lovers while trying to figure out her path in life.


Babylon Rolling
Babylon Rolling
Author: Amanda Boyden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/10/2012


Really liked this book, though maybe not quite as much as her first novel "Pretty Little Dirty". Was particularly enjoyable being a New Orleans ex-pat; she really captures the essence and strangeness of the city.


Bad Behavior (Vintage Contemporaries)
Bad Behavior (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Mary Gaitskill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very quirky, sleazy little stories. Quite amusing (and disturbing) but I had had enough by the end.


Baker Towers
Baker Towers
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/8/2006


I have to say that I don't think this novel came close to "Mrs. Kimble". It certainly wasn't bad, but I expected more from her...


Bar Flower: My Decadently Destructive Days and Nights as a Tokyo Nightclub Hostess
Review Date: 8/31/2011


Very interesting look at the Japanese nightclub hostess scene, certainly a topic that I had no knowledge of prior to reading this. These women are basically modernized--though no less ritualized--geishas.


Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Author: David Sheff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 3/13/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A heartbreaking memoir of addiction and the damage that it inflicts on a family. Perhaps lags a little at times, but in all, very good. I think any parent can feel much empathy for the narrator, and I would imagine it would really hit home for those parents living through the nightmare of an addicted child. It made me very, very grateful to have escaped that particular circle of hell in my own life.


BEe Season
BEe Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/9/2006


An absolutely fantastic read.


Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity (Large Print)
Review Date: 9/30/2015


This is a true account of residents of one of the many slums in Mumbai but reads like fiction. Riveting, horrifying. Highly recommend.


The Big Girls
The Big Girls
Author: Susanna Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/22/2012


Intertwined lives in a womens prison. Very dark, but I liked it.


Big Hair And Flying Cows
Big Hair And Flying Cows
Author: Dolores J. Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/30/2008


Way too "chick-lite" for my tatses.


21 to 40 of 411 - Page: