Claudia W. (claudiemae) - , - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/4/2012


Per usual,Mr.Bohjalian does an outstanding job.I get totally immersed in his stories,but then I finish the book too soon! I am now reading "Idyll Banter",I enjoy these snippets of Vermont life!


Break the Skin
Break the Skin
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/20/2014


this is an Uncorrected Proof(not for sale)this book is from Crown Publishers,pub.summer 2011,Paperback. The picture does NOT match the picture shown.


Chasing Windmills
Chasing Windmills
Author: Catherine Ryan Hyde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/26/2011


well,I ordered and received it,but my 16,nearly 17 y.old g'daughter snagged it.She loved it,"it was the best story I have read!"So,that says alot,as she reads but not just any ole thing! Good read!!


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 12/23/2010


Well,I can say I tried...to finish this book.If you go to Amazon's "buy this book",you can read both good and bad reviews.I agreed with the critical one.


The Double Bind
The Double Bind
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 5/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I picked up this book at a Goodwill,and it sat on the shelf for.months. Last night,I decided to read it. By the second chapter,I knew I was in this book 'til the end.5am,I finished it,all I can say is "WOW". I like the way this man writes,for me,I like the book to build up,and not share it's secrets 'till the end.That being said,I was blown away by the ending.Was I not paying attention/Did I take too much for granted(In my own mind,what I thought Was going to happen?).At any rate I really enjoyed this book,and I look forward to reading another of his. Any suggestions?


Duma Key
Duma Key
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 11/16/2010


great read! I am a great fan of Stephen King,esp.his early books.I don't know if at 62 my reading wants/needs have changed,but I wasn't too crazy about some of King's latest books. This one,however was great.I even listened to it at a later time on audio and looked f'ward to my nightly installments. I also read CELL,a quick and enjoyable read. Under the Dome has sat on my reading table for months.I am almost halfway through it,and cannot seem to(want)to finish it.


Faith (P.S.)
Faith (P.S.)
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I was raised a Catholic,and from an Irish family,could understand what was going on in this family.It was really a good read,involving a subject that is a big black eye for Roman Catholics.But,being of Catholic faith,or not,this book will keep you interested.


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 5/16/2011


OH! I enjoyed this book so much.It was darker and more detailed than "we were the mulvaneys" a many generational story that was a gret read as well. Once I started,I had to finish,the author pulls you along,building towards the end.The end was a surprise in itself,I confess,I had to reread the last chapter. This author has a great way of writing,and I look forward to reading another by her.


A Land Remembered
A Land Remembered
Author: Patrick D. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/4/2010
Helpful Score: 2


A book given to me,luck would have it I needed s'thing to read,but not crime/adventure or mystery. This book fit the bill,I read it in 2 sittigs,as I was caught up with the place,Florida,time frame,1858-1968 and the cast of characters thru 3 generations. This was back when Florida was wild, hot , ridden w/all sorts of man-eating critters and Mosquitoes!We follow Tobias and his wife and 6year old son,at the start of the civil war in Georgia,as he leaves GA.and comes into the Florida scrub.Having sold 40 acres of Georgia clay and a house,he came to florida(east of the Okefenoke swamp) with his family in a horse drawn wagon and the barest of food,seed tools and dishes . Tobias MacIvey,Emma and their son Zechariah take you on a 3 generation trip,that gives you an insight to Florida Frontiers,the heartbreaking struggles,defeats and finally,triumphs,hard won.I really loved reading this book/author.I will read another by Patrick D.Smith


The Last Days Of Dogtown
The Last Days Of Dogtown
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/13/2011


loved this book,much better than Red Tent.


Lost
Lost
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/8/2019


I really plodded through this book,as I hate to give up...the end of the book pulled it together..I did like the end,but was not worth the read.


The Night Strangers
The Night Strangers
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/11/2012


OH,Yes,Chris does it again! I really enjoyed reading this book,I was not disappointed at all.


Rush Home Road
Rush Home Road
Author: Lori Lansens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/25/2011


I really enjoyed reading this story,Addy,70 year old black lady,meeting the young white child,Sharla,heartbreaking story of 2 unlikely people,they changed each other's life forever.They were both from poor backgrounds,and the child was left in the care of Addy.you might say abandoned,by a mother who had no coping skills.Sharla,the 5 year old child,and Addy,tell a wonderful story,love,hate,memories,race and all emotionally compelling,a story well worth your time.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 306
Review Date: 1/27/2012


I loved this book. I have read The Mermaid Chair as well,but I just didn't get into it.


Something Wicked This Way Comes
Something Wicked This Way Comes
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/30/2011


I read this book years ago,so i ordered it.I love it1 I will not trade this copy,it will be on my "Favorite reads" shelf.


Still Alice
Still Alice
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 2/8/2019


I did enjoy reading this book.It is about Alzheimer's,in a 40plus woman..a professor in Boston.I learned a lot and could easily put myself in her situation.It was sad..especially in the end,but this story will be forever remembered.


Trans-Sister Radio
Trans-Sister Radio
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 1/27/2012


I just love anything Chris Bohjalian writes!


Water Witches
Water Witches
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/11/2012


Yes,indeed,I enjoyed this book.I will read anything by Chris Bohjalian,he has a way with people and situations,and Vermont. He deals with a different subject in every one of his books.This book dealing with the old way of finding water was great,we may forget that "back in the day" many things were figured out in what we think are strange ways.So,I say ,pick up any of Chris B.'s books,they are a good read.


1 to 18 of 18