Laura L. (lauraofharvestlane) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 86 - Page:
Annie Ashcraft Looks into the Dark (Bethany Backyard)
Review Date: 8/31/2006


From the first page of the story:
"Annie is small, and the night is big. Very big. And sometimes scary. Tonight the night looks like it's watching her, like white eyes peeking through the dark. And there are noises-like the kind coming at her now from the other side of the thin, knotty-pine walls of her bedroom. Scrape. Scritch. Scrape. As though something with claws is trying to get in."

This is a beautifully written and illustrated book about a child facing her fear of the dark and finding those things that are making the noises that frighten her. Written from a Christian perspective.

"I can lie down and go to sleep. And I will wake up again because the Lord protects me." Psalm 3:5


Beatrix Potter's Nursery Rhyme Book
Beatrix Potter's Nursery Rhyme Book
Author: Beatrix Potter
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/31/2006


Adorable Beatrix Potter illustrations in a


Beauty and the Beast (Early Readers)
Beauty and the Beast (Early Readers)
Author: Claire Black
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/23/2007


Classic story. Nice illustrations.


The Berenstain Bears and the Missing Honey (Berenstain Bears)
Review Date: 10/4/2006


It's Berenstain Bears! What more can I say?


The Berenstain Bears and Too Much TV
The Berenstain Bears and Too Much TV
Author: Jan Berenstain, Stan Berenstain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/4/2006


A well known problem and a bear sized answer!


Best Picture Dictionary Ever! (Giant Little Golden Book)
Best Picture Dictionary Ever! (Giant Little Golden Book)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/8/2007


Richard Scarry!


Bluebonnets for Lucinda   (Vintage)  1934
Review Date: 4/5/2007


An old fashioned story from a kinder simpler time.


Breath of Dawn, The
Breath of Dawn, The
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/6/2012


When I found The Breath of Dawn in my mailbox, I was surprised. I know that I must have requested it, but... well, we won't talk about how forgetful this middle-aged momma can be sometimes. ~smile~ So, I sat down to read. I wasn't interested. Bummer. But, I've got to review it, right? So, I kept reading... prologue, chapter 1, chapter 2.... Then one of my kids wanted attention. Gee, I didn't want to stop reading! Somewhere in there, Kristen Heitzmann made the characters so real to me, I wanted to know where this story was going. By day 2, I found myself on page 86. How'd I find the reading time? You guessed it. I stayed up a bit too late, again.

Day 4, ugh, it's a thick book, and I don't want to put it down!

This is a captivating story line. There are so many threads going, intrigue, supernatural, romance, suspense, murder. I don't even know just how I'd categorize it. I just know that I didn't even want to put it down! I read it in a matter of days. It's a thick book 437 pages. Well worth the time and money in my opinion.

Read remainder of review at: http://harvestlanecottage.blogspot.com/2012/11/review-breath-of-dawn-heitzmann.html


A Bug's Life
A Bug's Life
Author: Justine Korman, Ron Fontes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/4/2006


This is a easy chapter book.


Capture His Heart: Becoming the Godly Wife Your Husband Desires
Capture His Heart: Becoming the Godly Wife Your Husband Desires
Author: Lysa Terkeurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/14/2011


Excellent book.


Children of Angels: Book One of the New Nephilim Series
Children of Angels: Book One of the New Nephilim Series
Author: Kathryn Dahlstrom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/24/2014


Children of Angels: Book One of the New Nephilim Series grabs the reader's attention quickly by jumping right into the action from page one. This may be a book for youth, but I was totally drawn into the story line.

Jeremy is a young man, in seventh grade, who is the target of the school bully. That's a normal enough for a teen book; but, what is not normal is how he responds one day to the bully. In the middle of the confrontation, there is a flash of light. His light.

Suddenly, everybody knows. That leads to an unusual opportunity to go to a private boarding school for kids that can fly. Things get weird and weirder from there as Jeremy finds that he can do things that even the other kids cannot do. Like in any good teen book, there's someone with a sinister plan and several somethings to battle.

I had to tell my 13 year old son over and over that I get to read this book first! I told him that it's becauses it's a review book; but, the truth is, I preread anything in this genre that the kids read. Although the book has some initial parallels with a popular book series featuring halfbloods and mythical creatures, it takes a different direction than I initially expected. It is a good fantasy book. I did emphasize to my children that it is a made up fantasy story.

My 15 year old just read the book in a couple of days. She wouldn't put it down. She read in bed, in the car, at the table (I made her put it down), in a chair, everywhere she went. As soon as she was done, my 13 year old snatched it up. Same story. I'm sure that when my 10 year old is a little older, she will enjoy it as well.

I think this book would be fine for kids 12 and up. Some discussion of what is truth and what is fiction with your child may necessitate pre-reading by the parent.

Thank you Litfuse for this review book.


Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America
Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America
Author: Jeff Pollard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is an excellent history of the fashion industry and the corresponding word of God regarding His requirements for modest dressing.


The Christmas Scrapbook : A Harmony Story (Gulley, Philip)
The Christmas Scrapbook : A Harmony Story (Gulley, Philip)
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/24/2012


A trip to the library...

We only go once a month or so. Since we were in town to go to the dentist yesterday, we spent a couple of hours at the library. While the kids were downstairs selecting their books and using the computers, I found a comfy chair and browsed through a tall stack of books to make my selections. You guessed it, Christmas books. Anyway, I glanced through this little book and thought I'd read the first couple of pages... well, maybe a few more... yes, I read the entire book! It was soooo funny! I couldn't laugh out loud in the library, but I did wave my hands a bit in excitement at just how good the story was. I'm not going to do a review of this book, but you have to know it's the funniest book I've read in ages. I stopped the girl shelving books and told her about it. She took it home to read. ~smile~ Just click through and check it out. I cannot wait to read more from this author.


Christmas Trivia
Christmas Trivia
Author: Jennie Miller Helderman, Mary Caulkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/23/2006


Fun trivia for parties or just reading to yourself.


Cliffs Verbal Review for Standardized Tests
Review Date: 9/28/2006


An Excellent and Extensive Overview


Confessions of a Happy Christian
Confessions of a Happy Christian
Author: Zig Ziglar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/15/2006


This is an excellent book!
It has really reminded me of the many reasons we have as Christians to be happy, joyful, and full of trust in the Lord Jesus Christ.


Congratulations, America
Congratulations, America
Author: Maria Aschwanden
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/4/2006


Innovative TV Schools and a new morality change our national image.
A novel by Maria Aschwanden

This is a delightful novel that shows the changes that can take place in a family and a nation when we think independently and go for what we believe in. Mrs. Aschwanden is knowledgable in natural foods nutrition, healthy living, and homeschooling. She weaves teaching of these things into her novel in a natural way.

Mrs. Aschwanden moved to the U.S. in 1954 with her husband and 6 month old son. She has 9 other children. She and her husband live a healthy life in Carthage, Missouri.

It's a book I just kept picking up again and again.


Courting Cate (Courtships of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
Courting Cate (Courtships of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
Author: Leslie Gould
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/6/2012


Twenty-three years old. Over-the-hill? Past hope? Destined to be a spinster? Live life through the books she reads? It seems pretty young to give up, but Cate Miller has done just that. Lots of teasing, ineptness in the kitchen, and a broken heart have combined to make Cate feel she will never marry. She keeps busy in her father's shop and cares for her younger sister whom she's raised from birth. She's a bit, well, prickly.

Will the handsome young stranger who her father hires be able to convince her of his true interest? What exactly is Pete's true interest? He came to town saying he wanted to find a job and a bride. Pretty straight forward if you ask me. Not to Cate though.

Things get sticky when Cate's father declares an edict that Cate must marry first. Of course little sister puts more than a little pressure on Cate. This book just gets more and more tangled as new characters are introduced. Cate's temper is pushed to its limit as she tries to make sense of it all and just live her life as she wants to live it- as an old maid...or does she?

I enjoyed this book very much. It did, however, step on my toes a few times. As a child, I too, was teased a lot. I too felt ugly and unwanted. This set up a cycle of thoughts in my mind that were negative. That's what's going on with Cate. I recognized some of the thought processes. I'm more aware now when those thoughts begin in my mind. I really appreciate how Leslie Gould brought this aspect of relationships into the story. So much of our lives are lived within our own minds.

Continued at: http://harvestlanecottage.blogspot.com/2012/11/review-courting-cate-by-leslie-gould-w.html

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.


Creating a SenseSational Home
Creating a SenseSational Home
Author: Terry Willits
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2007


I absolutely love this book. It inspires me in all things homey.


Crewel World (Needlecraft Mysteries, Bk 1)
Crewel World (Needlecraft Mysteries, Bk 1)
Author: Monica Ferris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 3/30/2007


I really like this book! I'm looking forward to book 2 of the series!


1 to 20 of 86 - Page: