Matthew H. (boywonder) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Act of Treason (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Act of Treason (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 11/2/2012


This series is just fantastic! Reads quite fast, and its action packed. Once you pick up a book from this series it is one of those that you can't put down.


The Art of Fielding: A Novel
The Art of Fielding: A Novel
Author: Chad Harbach
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/7/2012


This novel is gracefully written and keep the reader flipping through chapters. Each character is so rich and integral. The way the author describes the baseball is so fluent and catches how graceful our main character is on the field. Simply a fantastic surprise when I read it. Best book I have read in quite some time.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1626
Review Date: 12/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Collins does not disappoint in her 2nd part of the Hunger games Trilogy. This is my favorite book of the 3, and quite action packed with twists and turns. Not to mention a few surprises on the horizon. I really can't see how the movie will hold up to this book. A definite must read.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3341
Review Date: 12/7/2012


Simply one of the best novels I have ever read. So rich and colorful. This book has its lovers and haters and you can mark me in the love category. Just couldn't wait to finish it once i started page 1.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 11/2/2012


Simply a book that leaves you wanting more.


The Green Year: 365 Small Things You Can Do to Make a Big Difference
The Green Year: 365 Small Things You Can Do to Make a Big Difference
Author: Jodi Helmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/7/2012


Some things are a bit too much that they suggest, but there are plenty of good tips littered throughout the year in this book.


Liberty and Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto
Liberty and Tyranny: A Conservative Manifesto
Author: Mark R. Levin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 11/2/2012


Love him or hate him he's usually right. if you have never read him, or are put off by what he says. Do your self a favor and read it and judge for yourself. Its quite interesting the points he raises.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1036
Review Date: 11/2/2012


Dan Brown redeemed himself in this book after Angels and Demons for me. A very well done 3rd book in the Langdon series. If you enjoyed Da Vinci Code, then you will very much enjoy this novel. The pages practically turn themselves and before you know it its over and leaves you wanting more. Always a good thing about a book i feel


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1995
Review Date: 12/7/2012


If you saw the movie and didn't read the book, well then you have done your self a disservice. This book is beautiful written and very complex.


Next
Next
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 12/7/2012


A very quick, and enjoyable read. Not one of his best books, but still very entertaining.


Oliver Twist
Oliver Twist
Author: Charles Dickens, George Cruikshank (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/7/2012


I read this book to read a classic, and although some of the prose is long and at times boring. That being said I loved this book, and Its a classic and should be read by all.


The Rants
The Rants
Author: Dennis Miller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/7/2012


Dennis Miller and his rants are hilarious. In a world of over PC nonsense he is a breath of fresh air. His takes on daily things we do in life is absolutely brilliant. You will not be disappointed and you will laugh your ass off.


Saturday
Saturday
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 11/2/2012


The book is beautifully written but sadly this does not over come its shortcomings. The ending is rather predictable, as I had it figured out about halfway through. I bought this after reading Atonement, and its a far cry from that book. It was on people's must read list,and won awards, but it wasn't my cup of tea.


Servant of the Bones
Servant of the Bones
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 12/7/2012


Not really sure how this book left me feeling. I didn't love nor hate this book. I guess I could say its a good escape for the next few hundred pages.


Shaq Talks Back
Shaq Talks Back
Author: Shaquille O'Neal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/7/2012


has a few good stories that almost make up for the length of this book. Overall its a little mundane, but there are a few tales not to be missed.


Unstoppable Global Warming: Every 1500 Years
Unstoppable Global Warming: Every 1500 Years
Author: Dennis T. Avery, S. Fred Singer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is quite the interesting read, and a fantastic read. Can be mind numbing at first and do not recommend for early morning in reading unless you have had your first cup of coffee. Haha. But it tells the other half of the global warming/climate change argument. I know people ask why would you read this, and I say to them I want to be educated from both angles and let me draw my own conclusion. Its a very interesting topic and a very well done book.


1 to 16 of 16