V M. (Giggles) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
The Adventures of Curious George
The Adventures of Curious George
Author: H. A. Rey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/16/2007


I remember this book from my childhood. It's a story of how a man came to Africa and took home a curious little monkey he found there. He named the monkey Curious George and so begins the adventures of trying to fit into this new world he lives in. His curiosity gets him in big messes, but it also gets him out of the messes he makes. These are wonderful stories about being yourself.


Anansi and the Magic Stick
Anansi and the Magic Stick
Author: Eric A. Kimmel, Janet Stevens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/7/2007


I love the stories of Anansi. In this story Anansi steals the magic stick of his neighbor without getting all the instructions on how to use it. He ends up making a big mess of things but all ends well. Anansi stories are classics the world over and will delight your little one. This story reminds me of the Disney story the Magician's Apprentice. Who knows, this might be where he got the idea.


Anansi and the Moss-Covered Rock
Anansi and the Moss-Covered Rock
Author: Eric A. Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/16/2007


Anansi loves to get things for free. When he finds a rock that makes knocks you out for a while he decides to play this trick on all his friends to get the food they worked hard for. One friend gives Anansi a surprise.


Anansi the Spider : A Tale from the Ashanti
Anansi the Spider : A Tale from the Ashanti
Author: Gerald McDermott
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a story about how the moon got in the sky involving Anansi and his six sons.


Anansi the Spider : A Tale From The Ashanti
Anansi the Spider : A Tale From The Ashanti
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/16/2007


This is a story about how the moon got in the sky involving Anansi and his six sons.


Anansi the Spider : A Tale from the Ashanti (An Owlet Book)
Anansi the Spider : A Tale from the Ashanti (An Owlet Book)
Author: Gerald McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/16/2007


This is a story about how the moon got in the sky involving Anansi and his six sons.


The Armor of God (My Favorite Verses)
The Armor of God (My Favorite Verses)
Author: Dandi Dailey Mackall, Jenny B. Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love the My Favorite Verses series from Dandi Daley Mackall! These stories reinforce God's Word to children with fun loving illustrations. I'm so glad there are books that will explain the whole scripture to children instead of just the catch phrases. The illustrator has done a wonderful job of capturing exactly what the verse means so children can understand it better. My children love the catchy rhymes that make up the story. I also love that the verse directly from scripture is written on the bottom of every page so you know exactly what the author was talking about and you can really appreciate how well Dandi Mackall has written this book. She interprets scripture well and translates it for young minds. This is a wonderful book (and series of books) to have on your bookshelf!


Behind the Attic Wall
Behind the Attic Wall
Author: Sylvia Cassedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/16/2007


I read this a long time ago so I don't really remember it that much, but the impression I got was that it was a very good story. I loved how she would retreat to her place behind the attic wall.


The Bremen Town Musicians
The Bremen Town Musicians
Author: David Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/16/2007


I'm not sure what version this is, but the classic story is about a trip one animal musician makes to find a good life for himself in the City. He finds other animal musicians along the way. They happen upon a robbery and work together to chase away the bandits. They decide what better life could they have than to live and play together so that is what they do. I guess I loved the story because of my musical background.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 5/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this story of two best friends who just happen to be of the opposite sex. They play in their imaginary kingdom until something happens to one of the friends. I think my best part is having a place to go away from everyone else where your imagination can run free.


Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain: A Nandi Tale (Reading Rainbow Book)
Review Date: 3/7/2007


This is a wonderful story told about a farmer boy who does a very brave thing that saves the day. The story is told in the style of The House That Jack Built.


Chicka Chicka 1, 2, 3 (Chicka Chicka Boom Boom)
Review Date: 3/7/2007


This book is written in the style of Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. My children loved this book seemingly even more than the original. It starts out counting by ones up to 20 then continues to 100 by tens. The ending is a grand reunion just like in the original.


Chicka Chicka Boom Boom (Windows) CD-ROM
Review Date: 5/16/2007


Wonderful story introducing the letters of the alphabet. All the letters are trying to climb a tree. At first they all can't fit so they fall out. In the end they all are helped up back into the tree. The story goes through the alphabet twice.


Creative Counterpart : Becoming the Woman, Wife, and Mother You've Longed to Be
Review Date: 5/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book about how to become a godly wife to your husband. She gives you the biblical foundation and offers practical tips and help so you can actual be a doer of the Word and not just a hearer.


Crime And Punishment
Crime And Punishment
Author: Fyodor Dostoevsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/16/2007


I LOVE this book. I read it all the way back in high school because I had to, but I'm so glad I did! I loved the way it was written. I really appreciated being inside the man's head as he made the decisions he did.


The Da Vinci Codebreaker: An Easy-to-Use Fact Checker
Review Date: 2/10/2007


This book is part of the Christian response to the DaVinci Code. I didn't have the DaVinci Code so a lot in this book I didn't understand. It's just a source/reference book for Cracking DaVinci's Code.


The Day Jimmy's Boa Ate the Wash
The Day Jimmy's Boa Ate the Wash
Author: Trinka Hakes Noble, Steven Kellogg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/16/2007


I love the way the little girl relates the story. It's just how children talk. They don't give you the whole thing at once. You gotta pry it out of them. The illustrations are my favorite and what makes this story memorable for me.


Did Eve Really Have an Extra Rib? and Other Tough Questions About the Bible
Review Date: 7/15/2009


This is the second book (the first being Did Adam Have A Belly Button?) that answers lots of questions about just what do creationists believe. It will fill in the gaps of how a creationist ideology changes your viewpoint. For example instead of thinking of the dinosaurs and humans as two separate events in world history, you now realize that God created dinosaurs with the other land, air and water animals during the 4th,5th and 6th days of creation. Humans were made on the 6th day so humans and dinosaurs walked together on earth! Other stunning revelations like this abound in this book. It'll help you set your thinking right from scripture.


A Family Program for Reading Aloud: P.1 and 2
A Family Program for Reading Aloud: P.1 and 2
Author: Rosalie J. Slater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/29/2007


This is a wonderful reference book that gives a synopsis of quality books to read aloud to your children at any age. There are title and author indexes in the back. It also contains little snipets of history on certain early American history figures. There are two sections on heroes and heroines in our history. The author is concerend with shaping our children's character by the literature we read to them. The books selected will help shape godly character in your child. This is sort of a Honey For A Child's Heart for those who teach or are taught the principle approach.


Finding Your Ministry and Gifts
Finding Your Ministry and Gifts
Author: Dave Williams and David Snook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/16/2007


This is a wonderful little book on the gifts of the Spirit. It goes into detail about how those gifts fit into the church. There's also a Williams Personality Gifts Test in the back so you can figure out what your gift is. I highly recommend this book. It's good to know (if you don't already) how God has specifically gifted you to serve the body of Christ. Are you an prophet, or helper or apostle? Read this book and find out!


1 to 20 of 48 - Page: