Eileen Z. (Dakota) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
500 Great Books by Women : A Reader's Guide
500 Great Books by Women : A Reader's Guide
Author: Jesse Larsen, Erica Bauermeister, Holly Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/29/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book has been my most reliable reference ever since it came out, leading me to good books that I wouldn't have otherwise known about. Titiles are organized according to large themes such as: ethics, art, family, wives and lovers, growing old. A paragraph or two gives information about the title.


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 4/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


When a dynamic feminist professor dies young, she leaves a letter urging several friends to take her ashes to several places, getting to know more about her life and about each other.


Anything Considered
Anything Considered
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/17/2007


A mystery romp through Provence and Monaco by an expatriate Englishman and an American woman who served in the Israeli army at one time.


Anywhere but Here
Anywhere but Here
Author: Mona Simpson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/17/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A mother has in mind a film career for her daughter, and they move to California with this in mind. The daughter moves from adoring her mother to doubting the wisdom of her plans and methods.


A Basic Guide to Writing, Selling, and Promoting Children's Books : Plus Information about Self-publishing
Review Date: 1/1/2012


Although Writing comes before Selling and Promoting in the title,very little space is devoted to the actual creation of a book. This is essentially a pamphlet about marketing one's writing.


The Blue Bistro
The Blue Bistro
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 8/5/2006


The plot of this romance is weak, but the characters are interesting as are the descriptions of working in an upscale resort restaurant.


The Bormann Testament
The Bormann Testament
Author: Jack Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 8/5/2006


This thriller was read by someone else in the family, not by me. It involves a paper that lists former Nazis who are in hiding at the time the story takes place.


Bridgeport Bus
Bridgeport Bus
Author: Maureen Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/15/2007


Critics claim this is hilarious, but I think the humor is mean-spirited. Bridgeport Bus is evidently a game like musical chairs, which eliminates people. The main character is a woman who manages to get away from her nasty mother and live a different life for awhile.


Chain Lightning (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 256)
Chain Lightning (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 256)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Light romance about diving on The Great Barrier Reef.


Charmed (Donovan Legacy, Bk 3) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 780)
Charmed (Donovan Legacy, Bk 3) (Silhouette Special Edition, No 780)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 4/17/2007


A light romance, part of The Donovan Legacy, featuring a woman with healing powers.


The Courage to Be Yourself: A Woman's Guide to Emotional Strength and Self-Esteem
Review Date: 1/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I wish I'd had this book 30 years ago when I was struggling to build self-confidence and self-image. It highlights most of the pitfalls that can prevent women from being independent and happy, but she does it gently. Mainly how can we learn to live without fear of rejection or feeling responsible for everyone else's happiness.


Desert Fury
Desert Fury
Author: Tom Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/18/2007


Men's adventure. I did not read this book.


The Devil's Lair (Lou Prophet, Bk 6)
The Devil's Lair (Lou Prophet, Bk 6)
Author: Peter Brandvold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/17/2006


A western in the style of Louis L'Amour.


Dot Complicated: Untangling Our Wired Lives
Dot Complicated: Untangling Our Wired Lives
Author: Randi Zuckerberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2015


The title of the book does not reflect the content, which is mostly general knowledge and common sense about social media with some of the author's personal experiences added.


The English Teacher
The English Teacher
Author: Lily King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/11/2007


I appreciated the reference to literature, but I thought the plot and motivation of characters was questionable.


Fierce Attachments
Fierce Attachments
Author: Vivian Gornick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2007


A writer remembers her mother and the way they have loved, fought, misunderstood each other, and how her early life has affected her other relationships.


Frustration (Harlequin Presents, No 339)
Frustration (Harlequin Presents, No 339)
Author: Charlotte Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Light romance in the world of British television


Heart of the West: 2 Novels in 1
Heart of the West: 2 Novels in 1
Author: Pamela Toth, Ruth Wind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/1/2007


Silhouette Romance westerns


Heat and Dust
Heat and Dust
Author: Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An English woman in the 1920's makes an unusual life in India, and 50 years later her step-granddaughter researches the story, making otheer choices about living in that country.


Imperfect Chaperone (Harlequin Presents, No 698)
Imperfect Chaperone (Harlequin Presents, No 698)
Author: Catherine George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Light romance on holiday in Spain.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: