Debbie M. (debbiemc) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 6/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. The author's description of heaven is exactly what I grew up believing. We are all put on this earth for a purpose and his was to share his experience with us. Great book, I would definitely recommend.


After Anne (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 1)
After Anne (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 1)
Author: Roxanne Henke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book, I actually cried about three times while reading it. It seemed so real. I loved the characters and the references to God and scripture. Excellent book about friendship, family, etc. Take the time to read it, you won't be sorry.


All the Way Home
All the Way Home
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 5/11/2008


My first Wendy Corsi Staub book and it won't be my last. Great mystery, kept me guessing until the end. Fast read and great book!


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 2/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Really interesting story about how the legal system can be manipulated by power and money. Even tho this is fiction I'm sure this happens in real life. Really indicates how life is not fair. I would definitely recommend this book, especially if you are a John Grisham fan. Quick read.


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book. Loved the characters and the setting. Great read would highly recommend.


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 6/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was awesome! I loved the characters and the author's way of writing. This is my second book by Kristin Hannah and now I'm hooked. Love her stuff!


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/28/2009


Great book! Very interesting reading about mental hospitals and treatments in the 1950's. Loved the characters and was very surprised by the ending, I didn't see it coming! Would highly recommend!


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/27/2009


I really enjoyed this book. I like the author Jacquelyn Mitchard's writing style. Quick read.


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1014
Review Date: 6/24/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This book was sooooooooooo good. I grew to love the characters. It is a very long book, but I wished it never ended. I love how it was written in decades and the author uses music, clothes, etc. to describe the times. I could definitely relate with the time periods. Basically, the books is about two friends from teenage years on. Very good, I would highly recommend it.


For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
Author: Sharon Rocha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 8/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. I followed the story when Laci went missing and really looked forward to reading the book from her mother's point of view. Sharon Rocha wrote from the heart and it came through on the pages of the book. Thank God Scott Peterson was found guilty and is in jail. Unbelievable that someone could kill their wife and unborn child!


Good Luck
Good Luck
Author: Whitney Gaskell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/23/2009


I really enjoyed this book. Quick read, light and fun! Enjoy!


Hide (D. D. Warren, Bk 2)
Hide (D. D. Warren, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 442
Review Date: 6/26/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book was awesome! I'm a true Lisa Gardner fan now after having read three of her books! This book kept me guessing right until the end!


The Kindness of Strangers
The Kindness of Strangers
Author: Katrina Kittle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 9


I really like this book a lot. What a horrific topic, but this story is not so much about the child abuse as how the family helped the boy and took him in their house where they could help him try to heal. I was actually crying at the end of the book, the author did an awesome job with her discriptions,etc. I really felt that I knew these characters and liked them. Worthwile and a quick read. It's worth it.


Left To Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust
Review Date: 10/4/2009


I read this book in two days. It is a story I will never forget. I had to remind myself that this was a true story and happened only about 15 years ago. Horrific that this type of behavior can be carried out in this day and age. Immaculee is inspiring in her faith. I would highly recommend.


The Liar's Diary
The Liar's Diary
Author: Patry Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 9/2/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I really enjoyed this book. It was a page turner, I read it in two days. Great story about a family in denial and how they can look perfect on the outside. It had me guessing all the way to the last few pages. I would recommend this book!


Magic Hour
Magic Hour
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 6/3/2008


I really liked this book. The main story about the girl coming out of the woods is a little much (in my opinion), but the way the author wrote the story in the end it seemed believable. I really enjoyed the characters and the author's style of writing. I will read more of her books.


Multiple Blessings: Surviving to Thriving With Twins and Sextuplets
Review Date: 7/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. I read it in one day. I am a big fan of the show and am so sad what has happened to their marriage. This book was written before their marital problems so we see a different picture of the family. I love how Kate describes her faith and how it helped her throughout her pregnancy and the babies first year. I would highly recommend reading this if you are a fan of the show.


The Next Thing on My List
The Next Thing on My List
Author: Jill Smolinski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 10/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. It was so adorable. I finished it in one day. The main character is so cute and funny and the ending is great! Check it out!


No Second Chance
No Second Chance
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 437
Review Date: 9/26/2008


This is my second Harlan Coben book. Loved, loved, loved it. Quick read!


One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2237
Review Date: 5/7/2008


This is the first book I read by Janet Evanovich and it won't be the last. Some very LOL parts in the book, which I enjoyed. Quick read!


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: