LecClier K. (SierraK) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 181 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 10/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Abby Cooper is a Psychic Intuitive who has an uncanny ability to predict the future. During a reading for a client, she gets an "icky feeling" about the client's future, and is filled with guilt when her client is murdered a few weeks later. But when it appears that her client's killer is now stalking her, Abby has to use her intuitive skills to save herself! Really enjoyed the characters in this story and look forward to reading more in this series.


The Alehouse Murders (Templar Knight, Bk 1)
The Alehouse Murders (Templar Knight, Bk 1)
Author: Maureen Ash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I really enjoyed this medieval mystery. It's the first in a new series featuring Templar Knight Bascot de Marins. Bascot is recovering from wounds suffered in several years of Saracen captivity during the Crusades. He is sent to assist at a Templar monastery near Lincoln, England, where he is asked by the castellan to look into the deaths of four people who are found murdered at the local alehouse.

This story had great characters. I relly enjoyed the historical setting as well and will definitely be reading the other books in this series.


All the Old Knives
All the Old Knives
Author: Olen Steinhauer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/29/2015


Interesting format for an espionage novel. Henry Pelham and Celia Favreau were working for the CIA and became lovers while stationed in Vienna. Then, a tragic hijacking at the Vienna airport goes terribly wrong, and Celia leaves the service and moves to Carmel, California.

The entire book is set over a dinner meeting between Henry and Celia five years later, as Henry tries to figure out if there was a CIA-security leak that led to the botched mission. Lots of flashbacks. Enjoyed it.


Amelia's Guide to Babysitting (Amelia)
Amelia's Guide to Babysitting (Amelia)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/26/2010


Great book for 10-12 year olds! Amelia and her best friend Carly decide to start a baby-sitting business together. Written in notebook form and full of great illustrations, Amelia shares their baby-sitting adventures and tips for new baby sitters.


The Amish Groom (Men of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
The Amish Groom (Men of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
Author: Mindy Starns Clark, Susan Meissner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/19/2018


I'll be the first to admit that I don't know much about the Amish way of life. I've lived in the West my whole life, pretty far removed from the major Amish homelands. So I really learned a lot about the Amish culture from this book.

Our main character, Tyler, is unique within his community, because he had an Amish mother and an "Englisch" (non-Amish) father. When his mother dies suddenly when Tyler is six, his father , who is in the military, sends young Tyler to live with his maternal grandparents in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. Fast forward seventeen years to the time of the story, and we find Tyler trying to decide if he wants to be baptized into the Amish faith. Tyler has visited his father, who has now retired from the military and moved to Orange County, regularly during his childhood, so he has had much more contact with the outside world than most of his Amish peers. This was a really well-done story of Tyler trying to decide which world he wanted to be part of, the Amish one or his father's contemporary American lifestyle.


An Unhallowed Grave : A Wesley Peterson Crime Novel (Wesley Peterson Crime Novels (Hardcover))
Review Date: 1/1/2016


Third installment of the Detective Wesley Peterson crime series. This time, Detective Peterson and his fellow officers are investigating the death of a middle-aged woman, found hanging from a tree in a village churchyard. As is the pattern in this series, the modern crime has parallels with a medieval crime which occurred in the same town. I really enjoy the characters in this series and also like the mix of medieval history with the modern murder mystery.


Annie's Song
Annie's Song
Author: Catherine Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 11/16/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This was a fast, suspenseful romance which really kept me turning the pages. Set in turn-of-the century Oregon, the story revolves around Alex Montgomery, a well-to-do rancher, and Annie Trimble, a lovely young girl who is branded as the town's "moron". When Alex's brother rapes Annie and she becomes pregnant, Alex decides to marry her, and discovers some amazing secrets about Annie.

I don't often read romances, but I really enjoyed this one!


April Fool Dead  (Death on Demand, Bk 13)
April Fool Dead (Death on Demand, Bk 13)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/3/2007


Annie Darling, owner of the mystery book store Death on Demand, is busily preparing for a book signing of local author Emma Clyde's latest bestseller "Whodunit?". Annie, who is always fond of sponsoring contests in her store, has come up with a special promotion for Emma's book signing. The special contest is a challenge to identify nine mysteries and their authors, based on clues given in an advertising flyer which Annie has distributed around the island. However, several days before the signing event, another set of mysterious flyers appear on Broward's Rock Island which appear as if Annie is accusing some of her neighbors or murder and other crimes as part of her contest. In order to clear the name of her store, Annie and her husband Max set out to find the real author of the fake contest flyers.

I felt that the first half of this book moved pretty slowly. I did enjoy Ms. Hart's wonderful descriptions of the South Carolina swamps and wildlife. The pace of the story picked up for the last one hundred pages or so, when two island residents are found brutally murdered. Together with her friend Henny, Annie and Max try to discover if the flyers are related to the murders, or if the flyers were just a smoke screen to divert attention from the real murderer.


Arsenic and Old Cake (Piece of Cake, Bk 3)
Arsenic and Old Cake (Piece of Cake, Bk 3)
Author: Jacklyn Brady
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


"Arsenic and Old Cake" is the third entry in Jacklyn Brady's Piece of Cake mystery series. The main character, Rita Lucero, owns a specialty cake bakery in New Orleans. I really like all the characters in this series, especially Rita. In this one, Rita and a local bartender named Gabriel pretend to be on their honeymoon so they can go snooping at a bed and breakfast in town to help out one of their friends. The author does a great job of filling the story with lots of New Orleans ambiance. Good mystery, with a little bit of cake baking thrown in for good measure.


Artifacts (Faye Longchamp, Bk 1)
Artifacts (Faye Longchamp, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Anna Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/9/2013


Very interesting read. The story is about a "pot-hunter", Faye Longchamps, who is trying to save her ancestral home on an island off the Florida panhandle. There's also a couple of murder mysteries. A couple of archaelogy students were murdered on the island, and Faye also discovers the bones of a missing heiress who had been murdered fourth years before. Lots of history of the Florida Panhandle in the mix as well.


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 6/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed this book, especially the character of Vicki, the sister with lung cancer. The author did a great job of making the characters seem real.

I've never visited Nantucket, but this book definitely made me want to spend a summer there!


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 12/15/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. Great story about love, family, and keeping secrets. The characters in this book were so well-developed, they felt like friends. And Ms. De Los Santos' writing style is wonderful! Highly recommended!


Beneath a Marble Sky
Beneath a Marble Sky
Author: John Shors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 10/2/2007
Helpful Score: 7


"Beneath a Marble Sky" is a beautiful story of a forbidden romance between the Mughul princess Jahanara and the architect who designed the Taj Mahal. The Princess Jahanara, eldest daughter of the Hindustani ruler Shah Jahan, tells the story in flashback form to her two granddaughters. The story is one of great loves, great treachery, and the building of one of the world's greatest monuments, the Taj Mahal. This was a wonderful story which made me want to learn more about the building of the Taj Mahal.


A Bespoke Murder (Home Front Detective, Bk 1)
A Bespoke Murder (Home Front Detective, Bk 1)
Author: Edward Marston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/17/2017


This was a solid historical mystery set right after the sinking of the Lusitania. Set in London, the story introduces us to Scotland Yard Inspector Harvey Marmion and his assistant, Sergeant Joe Keedy. After the sinking of the Lusitania, there was a backlash of violence targeting German Jews who had emigrated to London. Upscale tailor is murdered during a riot at his shop, and at the same time, his daughter Ruth is raped. The case is a good one, trying to find our of Stein's death was a result of the fire in his shop, or was it a premeditated crime? I very much enjoyed the main characters in this story, looking forward to reading more in this series.


Biggie and the Mangled Mortician (Biggie Weatherford, Bk 2)
Biggie and the Mangled Mortician (Biggie Weatherford, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Bell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/18/2010


Another charming Texas tale, starring Biggie Weatherford and her 12-year old grandson J.R. There's a murder to be solved in this one....the town's new undertaker is found murdered in his funeral home. But more of this story is about the Wooten Creek monster, Halloween antics, and a missing boy. Again, the narrator is 12-year old J.R. I love this series!


Biggie and the Poisoned Politician  (Biggie Weatherford, Bk 1)
Biggie and the Poisoned Politician (Biggie Weatherford, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


In this cozy mystery set in southern Texas, Grandma "Biggie" Wootten Weatherford investigates several unusual happenings in their home of Job's Crossing. The story starts out with the explosion of Biggie's tenant's car in their driveway. The mystery moves on to the sudden death of the town's Mayor Gribbons while eating his favorite angel food cake dessert at the local cafe. The story is narrated by Biggie's 12-year old grandson J.R., giving the story a charming perspective.


Review Date: 3/6/2012


I thoroughtly enjoyed this book. The first few chapters, I kept thinking what a shallow self-centered b*tch the author was, but as I followed her on her lay-off journey, my opinion of her changed completely.

Love the sarcastic sense of humor, and look forward to reading more of her books.


The Blood Ballad (Torie O'Shea, Bk 11)
The Blood Ballad (Torie O'Shea, Bk 11)
Author: Rett MacPherson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/28/2010


Small town Missouri genealogist Torie O'Shea has a knack for finding dead bodies. Even while she is participating in New Kassel's first Birding Olympics, Torie manages to find a dead body. She is also approached by a mysterious man who is obsessed with her grandfather's fiddle music. When the mysterious musicologist makes allegations about Torie's grandfather's parentage, she find herself quickly involved in solving another mystery. This is the eleventh Torie O'Shea book.

Very enjoyable book for fans of this series.


Blood Matters (Roxanne Prescott, Bk 2)
Blood Matters (Roxanne Prescott, Bk 2)
Author: Taffy Cannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/22/2013


This is Cannon's second book featuring Roxanne Prescott as the main character. (We first meet Roxanne in "Guns and Roses".) Roxanne has returned to her roots and is now working with the San Diego Sheriff's Department. This police procedural has great characters and a well-developed mystery to solve. I enjoyed it very much.


Blue Latitudes: Boldly Going Where Captain Cook has Gone Before (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 10/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed listening to this Book on CD. Tony Horwitz writes about his adventures re-tracing the voayages of Captain Cook, and the surprising things that he learned on his trips.

Daniel Gerroll, who reads the book, is very easy to listen to and did a great job.


1 to 20 of 181 - Page: