Jean L. (MeanJean) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 72 - Page:
101 Words You'll Probably Never Need to Know but Can Use to Impress People
Review Date: 1/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The words are presented in this attractive book with not only their pronunciation help, but also with a humourous cartoon drawing and used in a sentence.
Even the most erudite English scholars probably use only a small percentage of the language in expressing their thoughts. What a waste that so many good words lie dormant, but these valid words enrich the English language.


24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 8/9/2009
Helpful Score: 9


This book is the most intense, tension-building, suspenseful book that I have read in recent memory. I have read most of the books written by Greg Iles and this has to be the best.

I could not bear to put the book down so even though it is a few more than 400 pages, I read it in 24 hours even while getting a few hours of sleep in the middle. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a thrilling page-turner.


The AESOP for Children
The AESOP for Children
Author: Aesop
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/30/2008


This is the full-color edition of the classic Aesop with the original illustrations by Milo Winter.
The unique collection features 126 of the best-loved fables, including such favorites as "The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse," "The Ants and the Grasshopper," "The Goose and the Golden Egg," "The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing," and "The Hare and the Tortoise." All the wonderful and amusing animal characters appear in this colorful edition.
Aesop's fables retain the widespread appeal that has kept them alive for centuries. Parents and grandparents who relished these tales as children can pass them on to a new generation to appreciate and enjoy.
These stories end with a moral, some with more than one.


Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1046
Review Date: 12/14/2008
Helpful Score: 6


This is the introductory Alex Cross book. Patterson certainly knows how to write a thriller that will keep you turning the pages, perhaps even keep you up late into the night. His charactors are real people. Alex is a very well-drawn personality and tells the story in the first person.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes thrilling mysteries.


As I Am: An Autobiography
As I Am: An Autobiography
Author: Patricia Neal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Too often when a famous person writes his/her autobiography, they emphasize only what makes them look best. Patricia Neal has written in full about the "warts" and all. At times she certainly did not make the best personal decisions, but even so, she has been, can be and she will continue to be an inspiration to many.
She worked diligently to come back after suffering three strokes. She had to learn to speak again. Then she used her experiences to inspire other stroke victims to overcome their limitations.
She writes in such a way that I found myself turning the pages as if this were a suspenseful novel.


Back Spin (Myron Bolitar, Bk 4)
Back Spin (Myron Bolitar, Bk 4)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 5/3/2009


This is #4 of the Myron Bolitar series. Myron is in Pennsylvania for the US Open Golf Tournament.
Golf + revenge + sex + murder = another thrilling story. I loved the book.


Black Cross (World War II, Bk 2)
Black Cross (World War II, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 6/6/2009


A very interesting fictional historical novel.
It deals with WWII and some of the evil of that era.


The Black Echo & The Black Ice
The Black Echo & The Black Ice
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/13/2010


Here is a two-fer; the first two books in the Harry Bosch series. You get both books for just one point. Lots of tense excitement, really good writing. Michael Connelly really delivers.


Blind Justice (Ben Kincaid, Bk 2)
Blind Justice (Ben Kincaid, Bk 2)
Author: William Bernhardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A real page turner as Ben Kincaid defends his best friend and former co-worker Christina. She has been charged with murder. Ben knows that this is a job for which he has no experience. The judge (another former co-worker is prejudiced against Ben but Ben and Jones his male secretary give it their all.


The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 8)
The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 8)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 11/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. It had so many twists and turns. I thought I had it figured out several times - but was wrong! I tried to put it down several times but couldn't leave it very long.
I highly recommend this book. You'll enjoy it.


Country and Western Songbook
Country and Western Songbook
Author: Robert Dolezal (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/2/2009


Easy to moderate arrangements for keyboard, guitar and voice. Although a hardback book, the pages are spiral bound so that book remains open for playing. A separate small lyric booklet accompanies the songbook.
Section 1 contains the most-loved Hank Williams Hits including Lovesick Blues, Your Cheatin' Heart, Cold, Cold Heart, and more.
Section 2 contains newer Country Classics including Lucille, Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue, Delta Dawn, and others.
In Section 3 are Country Hits of the '60s, Welcome to My World, Gentle on My Mind, Flowers on the Wall, El Paso, My Last Date, and more.
Section 4 has Country Hits of the '50s including Singing the Blues, Release Me, I Can't Stop Loving You, Fraulein, Send Me the Pillow You Dream On, Blue Suede Shoes, If You've Got the Money (I've Got the Time), and I Don't Hurt Anymore, among others.
Section 5 is filled with Golden Memories of the '40s: Jealous Heart, Tennessee Waltz, Slipping Around, Cigareetes, Whusky and Wild, Wild Women, I Love You So Much It Hurts, Any Time, Beautiful Brown Eyes, Pistol Packin' Mama, Candy Kisses and more.
Section 6 is filled with Western Classics such as Wagon Wheels, Deep in the Heart of Texas, Tumbling Tumbleweeds, Don't Fence Me In, Back in the Saddle Again and others.
Section 7 has the All-Time Old-Time Classics such as Are You from Dixie?,
When It's Springtime in the Rockies, In the Jailhouse Now, Orange Blossom Special, The Wabash Cannonball, I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes, and more.
Section 8 is entitled The Touch of God's Hand and has that song, plus Wings of a Dove, His Hands, and several others.


Dead Irish (Dismas Hardy, Bk 1)
Dead Irish (Dismas Hardy, Bk 1)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 12/31/2010


This is the first of the Dismas Hardy series. It's a good one and I intend to read the rest of them. It is exciting with good twists and turns.


Deadly Justice (Ben Kincaid, Bk 3)
Deadly Justice (Ben Kincaid, Bk 3)
Author: William Bernhardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/28/2008


I really enjoyed this page-turner.


Deal Breaker (Myron Bolitar, Bk 1)
Deal Breaker (Myron Bolitar, Bk 1)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 12/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


It is no wonder that Harlan Coben has won so many awards. Deal Breaker is the first of the series featuring Myron Bolitar, the sports agent who hates his first name with a passion. Few are the mystery novels with witty lines such as this series has. Try it; you will enjoy it.


Drop Shot  (Myron Bolitar, Bk 2)
Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar, Bk 2)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 330
Review Date: 4/26/2009


This is an exciting thriller with some hilarious lines. One of the Myron Bolitar series.


Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3)
Fade Away (Myron Bolitar, Bk 3)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 4/30/2009


This is a really good book. It is #3 in the Myron Bolitar series. Myron gets to play a bit of Pro-basketball and learns more about what happened back when he got the knee injury that ended his career.


False Dawn
False Dawn
Author: Paul Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/20/2010


Another exciting Jake Lassiter book. This is #3 of this series. It is a good one.


Festival of popular songs
Festival of popular songs
Author: Reader's Digest editors
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/2/2009


This book contains 288 spiral-bound pages of much-loved songs with easy arrangements for instrumental ensemble, solo recital, or a grand old sing-along session for which there is a separate lyric booklet.
Section 1 contains songs and themes from favorite films: Somewhere, My Love, The Shadow of Your Smile, The Way We Were, and others.
Section 2 has top tunes of the 1930s including Lazy River, Georgia on My Mind, It's Only a Paper Moon, Winter Wonderland and more.
Section 3 gives us top tunes of the 1940s. Here are such as I'll Be Seeing You, Blueberry Hill, Now is the Hour and more.
Section 4 - The Gaslight Years and World War 1: Peg O' My Heart,Down By the Old Mill Stream, The Missouri Waltz and others.
Section 5 - The Sunny, Funny 1920s: If You Knew Susie, Hardhearted Hannah, I'll See You In My Dreams and others.
Section 6 - Popular hits of the 1950s, '60s, and '70s: I Left My Heart in San Francisco, Misty, Yesterday and others.
Section 7 are songs from Broadway musicals including Matchmaker, Matchmaker, Summertime, September Song, and more.
Section 8 has folk song favorites including Where Have All the Flowers Gone?, Leaving On a Jet Plane, and more.
Section 9 has country classics such as You Are My Sunshine, Cool Water, Mockin' Bird Hill, Heartaches By the number and others.
Section 10 is A Little Ragtime, Boogie, Blues, and Jazz and has Scott Joplin's The Entertainer and more.
Section 11 - is Strictly Instrumental with Clair de Lune and Malaguena.
Section 12 is for children of all ages and sizes.


First Lady (Savile and Mangum, Bk 3)
First Lady (Savile and Mangum, Bk 3)
Author: Michael Malone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book, in fact, I loved all three books in this series (to date). I'm hoping that there will be more books written in the series because I really learned to care about the characters and want to know what happens next!


The Fool's Run (Kidd And LuEllen, Bk 1)
The Fool's Run (Kidd And LuEllen, Bk 1)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 12/29/2010


This is the first of the Kidd series. Kidd and his partner LuEllen are professional criminals. Fast-paced action.


1 to 20 of 72 - Page: