Rivka K. (book-eater) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The 7 O'Clock Bedtime : Early to bed, early to rise, makes a child healthy, playful, and wise
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fabulous book. Sensible mom, great ideas, engaging style. Specific timing tips, recipes. I had it from the library for months. If I don't get it on pbs then I think I'm going to actually buy it.


Alef to Tav (Artscroll Youth Series)
Alef to Tav (Artscroll Youth Series)
Author: Yaffa Ganz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/9/2008


This is a great book. Michael Horen's bright and colorful airbrush illustrations are stunning as usual. My kids loved studying the lively, unlikely scenes like "a zaken [old man] with a long zakan [beard] riding on a zippy zebra."


Body Clutter : Love Your Body, Love Yourself
Body Clutter : Love Your Body, Love Yourself
Author: Marla Cilley, Leanne Ely
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Nice book. Not as good as Sink Reflections was, but nice. A lot of good content. For a more thorough education on the psychology of weight, I preferred Fattitudes by Jeffrey and Norean Wilbert.


Building an Igloo
Building an Igloo
Author: Steltzer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/31/2007


Beautiful photography. Fascinating. I took it for my preschool age kids but would own it for myself. You are basically standing right there in the action, watching a father and son build an igloo.


Drawing With Children: A Creative Method for Adult Beginners, Too
Drawing With Children: A Creative Method for Adult Beginners, Too
Author: Mona Brookes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. I actually started drawing from this book - rather than from the famous "Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain," which I also liked.


Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass
Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass
Author: Harold Gatty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I am not an outdoors person, but I still love this book. It's one of those general education books that broadens your soul. Your whole perception of the world changes.

A dozen ways to identify the direction of the prevailing wind. How to go in a straight line. Telling time by the shadows, or by the stars.

Even if you don't go through the technical step-by-step and learn to really do it well, you get a picture of how it works, and it is just fascinating.


Hattie Big Sky (Readers Circle)
Hattie Big Sky (Readers Circle)
Author: Kirby Larson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/11/2008


I must say, this is a good book. And I appreciate that it's completely clean. Still, Newbery Honor? I wouldn't have thought so. It's a nice story but not as well developed as I'd have liked. When you read the Little House books, you learn how to make butter, straw hats, or a well, right along with Laura. When you read about Hattie learning, all you learn is that she found out how to do it.
Also, I suspect that the author doesn't know how to cook. To read Hattie, you'd totally that it's easier to become a farmer than to learn how to cook. I doubt it.
The author's anti-war opinions are very evident throughout - it seems to be a major theme in the book. For a good (negative) review on that topic, see http://www.amazon.com/review/RIDFK8DG9QDV2/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm
Still, it's a fairly accurate, engaging historical fiction. An enjoyable read.


Life on the Color Line: The True Story of a White Boy Who Discovered He Was Black
Review Date: 2/28/2008


Readers should be aware of the sex and violence in this book. (I don't read fiction for that reason, so I would have liked to know about it in advance.)


Sidetracked Home Executives : From Pigpen to Paradise
Sidetracked Home Executives : From Pigpen to Paradise
Author: Peggy Jones, Pam Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 2/29/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good book, good system, but Flylady is what really worked for me. Check out her book: Sink Reflections by Marla Cilley.


What Did You Say?
What Did You Say?
Author: Rabbi Simcha Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is about communication in marriage.


Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories
Yertle the Turtle and Other Stories
Author: Dr. Seuss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/23/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Yertle is my favorite of Dr. Seuss's books because it's more lesson than nonsense. That's my personal preference - you might not agree. But the rhymes, characters and illustrations are as fun as you could ask for.
There's Yertle, who tries to improve his own situation by stepping on other people, and learns a lesson. There's Gertrude McFuzz, who wants a fancier tail just like that other girl, and learns a lesson. And in the last story, there are a set of animal characters who try to out-boast each other... and learn a lesson.
My kids are always asking for "the Yertle book." It's classic Seuss, and a full five stars.


You Can Draw! From Pencils to Pastels in 15 Easy Lessons
You Can Draw! From Pencils to Pastels in 15 Easy Lessons
Author: Sheila Coulson
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/28/2014


Wonderful book, really teaches you how to get started experimenting in each section. I also appreciated that there was no nudity in the human figures chapter. Good quality cover and spiral binding.


1 to 12 of 12