Linda H. (hopefaith) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
2002 Things to Do on a Date
2002 Things to Do on a Date
Author: Cyndi Haynes, Dale Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a nice guide that allows you to quickly browse and find an activity that can often be arranged within a few minutes planning. There are also some activites that may take some longer planning, but again, most can be done without a great deal of fiancial expense.

Book is separated into a variety of sections to help you find a date to mathc your mood. Some sections included are: "Good Old-Fashioned Romantic Outings," "Something New," "The Couple That Plays Together Stays Together," "The Stuff Dreams Are Made Of," "Our Parents Used to ... ," "Surf's Up" and "Recreation Means Fun and Adventure" -- to name only a few! The book also has check boxes next to each of the 2002 activites for those who "like to keep score."


365 Ways to Save Money
365 Ways to Save Money
Author: Lucy H. Hedrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/24/2009
Helpful Score: 4


All the other money savings books that I have read include more narrative and cute stories than actual advice on how to cut expenses in an insightful way.

The book is broken into topic based chapters and subchapters. Within these chapters, tips are numbered and discussed individually. So, if you know you want to try to save money on insurance, you go to that chapter or subchapter and scan for ideas that will fit your situation and save you a bundle. At the same time, you can very easily read the book cover-to-cover if you have no idea how to begin to change your spending habits to help you navigate changing financial times and situtaions.


Before It's Too Late : Why Some Kids Get Into Trouble--and What Parents Can Do About It
Review Date: 5/29/2007


Very good book I picked up at children's mental health needs conference a few years ago. Quick read.


Bunnicula Strikes Again! (Bunnicula, Bk 6)
Bunnicula Strikes Again! (Bunnicula, Bk 6)
Author: James Howe, Alan Daniel (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/29/2007


Bunnicula is always a fun read with your kids book. Here is another one that is just as cute and engaging.


Can I Pray with My Eyes Open?
Can I Pray with My Eyes Open?
Author: Susan Taylor Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2007


Wonderful book to share with your children to talk about how easy it is to pray. Help them to pray in their own way with the influence of your faith's traditions added by you. This was one of my favorites to read to my child at bedtime.


Can You Sue Yor Parents for Malpractice? (Audio Cassette Unabridged)
Can You Sue Yor Parents for Malpractice? (Audio Cassette Unabridged)
Author: Paula Danziger
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My 14 year old son enjoyed the title :)

The title got him listening in the beginning. But, this is one of a few books that he could not "put down". He carried it from stereo to stero throughout the house, to the car and back.

No complaints either . . .


Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This title is one of the milder in the series. This book and any in the series were a great motivator for my non-interested boy reader in 1st-4th grade. He suddenly had an interest in reading. Cute, quotable book for kids in this age range.


Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants (Captain Underpants, Bk 4)
Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


While I hated the title, this book and any in the series were a great motivator for my non-interested boy reader in 1st-4th grade. He suddenly had an interest in reading. Cute, quotable book for kids in this age range.


Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman (Captain Underpants, Bk 5)
Review Date: 9/25/2007


Not the most catching title for parents, but for the kids it sure is! This book and any in the series were a great motivator for my non-interested boy reader in 1st-4th grade. He suddenly had an interest in reading. Cute, quotable book for kids in this age range.


Caring for Yourself While Caring for Your Aging Parents: How to Help, How to Survive
Review Date: 8/9/2007


This is one of a few books I recommended to caregivers when I worked in the National Family Caregiver Support program.

Nice information on how to find resources.


The Case of the Unnatural (Mathnet Casebook, No 1)
The Case of the Unnatural (Mathnet Casebook, No 1)
Author: David D. Connell, Jim Thurman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Nice way to show kids how Math can be fun for those who don't really care for it too much.


Cases and Materials on Domestic Relations (University Casebook Series)
Review Date: 8/9/2007


We used this as a textbook for my Family Law Class at the University of Maryland, College Park. Review of major cases concerning "families" --quotes are intentional, sometimes the case was defining family :)

Very interesting to know why some case precedents have occured.


Catch a Sunflake -- Third Grade Reading Student Textbook
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Very nice textbook for third graders. A nice combination of various types of reading.


A Christmas Carol
A Christmas Carol
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/26/2007


It is much easier for children to listen to Dickens on audio than it is for them to try to read it on their own. We listened to the story after seeing the movie and play. A nice way to show the langage of Dickens to children, once they are familiar with the storyline, the language is easier to understand.


A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens Study Guide (with Connections)
Review Date: 9/26/2007


Very nice teacher resource. This guide includes much more than the basic novel resource you usually find for teachers.


Clara Barton (Christian Heroes)
Clara Barton (Christian Heroes)
Author: Robert Kraske
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Nice, short book about a little known figure from history


Colt
Colt
Author: Nancy Springer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Story description is missing from automatic entry. Back cover:

"Colt Vittorio has never run a race, or even walked down the street on his own. Having spina bifida means that he sees the world from a wheelchair, and he hates being different from other kids. Then his mother signs him up for a riding program. Colt feels tall and fast on his horse, and it seems as if his dreams are coming true --- until an accident threatens his newfound freedom. Will he ever be allowed to ride a horse again?"

School Library Journal review on back cover:
"Readers will be affected by Colt's triumphs and failures . . . . An uplifting story."

"Winner of the Joan Fassler Memorial Book Award"

"An IRA Young Adult's Choice"


Depressed Child : A Parent's Guide for Rescusing Kids
Depressed Child : A Parent's Guide for Rescusing Kids
Author: Douglas A. Riley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/29/2007


Very good book I picked up at children's mental health needs conference a few years ago. Quick read.


Family Life Book 5 Student
Family Life Book 5 Student
Author: BENZIGER
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2010


80 page worktext

CONTENTS:

My Prayer
What I Learned Last Year

God's Gift of Family

God's Gift of Self

God's Gift of Life

God's Gift of Sexuality
Love and Friendship
Love and Marriage

God's Gift of Community


Freckle Juice
Freckle Juice
Author: Judy Blume, Sonia O. Lisker (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 10/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


As one who was ALWAYS voted "Most Freckles" at the year end school parties in school, I loved this book as a child. What a fun reminder of my childhood to read this with my child!


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: