Alice B. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 2503 - Page:
The 100 Most Important Bible Verses for Mothers
The 100 Most Important Bible Verses for Mothers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/11/2013


Beautiful gift book. Motherhood is a blessing, a joy, a privilege, and a responsibility of eternal significance, but it is also equal parts the source of disappointment, discarded dreams, loss of identity and chronic fatigue. The 100 Most Important Bible Verses for Mothers is just that-verses to encourage you, comfort you, teach you and inspire you as a mom yes, but also as a woman, a wife, a friend, a daughter and most importantly, a unique child of God. There is a verse for the days when you delight in the little guy who won't take off his Superman cape and the days when you would rather lose a limb than do another load of laundry. There is a verse for the days when you can't remember who you were before you were Ashley's mom and a verse for the days you are so proud of Scott and the man he is growing up to be, you can't remember a greater joy than being his mom. The 100 Most Important Bible Verses for Mothers speaks directly to the hearts of moms everywhere.


$10,000 in Small Unmarked Puzzles (Puzzle Lady, Bk 13)
$10,000 in Small Unmarked Puzzles (Puzzle Lady, Bk 13)
Author: Parnell Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2014


Cora Felton, the Puzzle Lady, is in a tizzy as she drives her niece, Sherry, and her husband to the Bakerhaven, Connecticut, hospital to have their first baby. There is good reason for the tizzy. Sherry, as fans of this series know, is the real genius behind Coras crossword puzzles, and if Sherry cant write them, will Cora be outed as a fraud? Complicating matters further, the towns lawyer, Becky Baldwin, seeks Coras assistance with a blackmail case. Following the first clue, which comes in the form of a Sudoku (Cora knows her Sudoku better than she does her crosswords), the Puzzle Lady sets off to do the drop of $10,000 in blackmail money. Simple task, it would seem, until Cora finds a body in the Dumpster. What follows is a farcical romp involving after-hours hospital visits to get Sherrys assistance with crossword-puzzle clues, snatching the Sudoku and crossword clues before the police find them, and dealing with the arrival of an ex-husband, judicial threats, and nighttime wanderings through a cemetery. Great fun for series fans, who will be pleased to know that mother and daughter are doing well.


100,000 + Baby Names: The Most Complete Baby Name Book
100,000 + Baby Names: The Most Complete Baby Name Book
Author: Bruce Lansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/15/2011


This book is great for giving many ideas from many languages in baby names, meanings and combinations. Do you want a new and original name for your baby?,then this book is for you.


1001 Ideas for Color & Paint
1001 Ideas for Color & Paint
Author: Emma Callery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/29/2015


For a fresh collection of stylish color schemes, look no further than 1001 Ideas for Color & Paint. Featured ideas range from contemporary treatments to traditional looks, in everything from bold colors to pretty pastels. Readers will also find professional advice for choosing paint and color, descriptions of numerous popular paint techniques, and variations on color themes on a room-by-room basis presented in sketchbook-style illustrations. Over 1,000 color palettes, photographs, and illustrations provide inspiration and tips for success. With 1001 Ideas for Color & Paint readers can give every room in their home a brand new look.


101 Medication Tips for People With Diabetes
101 Medication Tips for People With Diabetes
Author: Betsy Carlisle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/12/2012


Treating diabetes can get complicated, especially when you consider the bewildering number of Medications that must be integrated with diet and exercise. Here you will find answers to 101 of the most common questions about diabetes and medications. This is an indispensable reference for anyone with type 1, type 2, or gestational diabetes.


101 Moments in the Presence of God
101 Moments in the Presence of God
Author: Rick Hamlin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/5/2014


This is a beautiful gift book, currently being sold on Guideposts website. It is written by Rick Hamlin, an editor at Guideposts. He lives in New York City In Manhattan and interweaves his life with the interestingness of living in New York City. His wife, 2 sons and him live in a apartment building; 500 units coop that share the same laundry room. Only you buy these apartments and I am sure at a premium price. He sees the goodness of the people in New York, And this has a year's devotions with a Bible text and short, and I do mean short story.I could not put it down till I finished reading it. Rick is a very gifted writer and I must say New York City and the Bible interwoven were quite interesting. I loved his descriptions. He described in a short paragraph an old house his friends bought and it was so rundown I doubt that anyone would have bought it except in New York City. His descriptions are short and concise.He is an excellent writer. I also found it interesting how the New York folks regardless of race and /or religion work together to help one another.This is a 10++++ book.


1022 Evergreen Place (Cedar Cove, Bk 10)
1022 Evergreen Place (Cedar Cove, Bk 10)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/3/2012


Dear Reader, Guess what? I'm falling in love! With Mack McAfee. My baby daughter, Noelle, and I have been living next door to Mack since the spring. I'm still a little wary about our relationship, because I haven't always made good decisions when it comes to men. My baby's father, David Rhodes, is testament to that. I9;m so worried he might sue for custody.

In the meantime, the World War II letters I found are a wonderful distraction. Both Mack and I are trying to learn what happened to the soldier who wrote them and the woman he loved.

Come by sometime for a glass of iced tea and I'll show you the letters. Plus I'll tell you the latest about Grace and Olivia, my brother Linc and his wife, Lori (who tied the knot about five minutes after they met!), and all our other mutual friends. Oh, and maybe Mack can join usMary jo Wyse. This is a great read.


1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 11) (Large Print)
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 11) (Large Print)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/3/2012


Dear Listener, You've probably heard that my wife has left me. Rachel's pregnant, and she says that she can't handle the stress in our household anymore. My thirteen-year-old daughter, Jolene, is jealous of her. Maybe it's my fault. As a widower I spoiled her -- Jolene was reading over my shoulder just now and says that's not true. She claims Rachel ruined everything. But that's not true. The real question is: How can I get my wife back? I don't even know where she is. She's not with Teri Polgar or any of her other friends from the salon. The other question is... when will Jolene grow up and stop acting like such a brat? Of course, I'm not the only one in town with problems. Linc Wyse's father-in-law is trying to destroy his business. And you know Charlotte Rhodes? Seems she's becoming forgetful, and the family's worried about her and Ben. Lots of other stuff going on -- but Rachel is better at keeping up with it than I am. If you have any idea where my wife is, please give me a call. Please. This is a great read.


1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 6/15/2012


The people of Cedar Cove know how to celebrate Christmas. Like Grace and Olivia and everyone else, Beth Morehouse expects this Christmas to be one of her best. Her small Christmas-tree farm is prospering, her daughters and her dogs are happy and well, and her new relationship with local vet Ted Reynolds is showing plenty of romantic promise.

Butsomeone recently left a basket filled with puppies on her doorstep, puppies she's determined to place in good homes. That's complication number one. And number two is that her daughters Bailey and Sophie have invited their dad, Beth's ex-husband, Kent, to Cedar Cove for Christmas. The girls have visions of a mom-and-dad reunion dancing in their heads.

As always in life -- and in Cedar Cove -- there are surprises, too. More than one family's going to have a puppy under the tree. More than one scheme will go awry. And more than one romance will have a happy ending!

Great gift copy! I loved this book.


The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle
The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle
Author: Joanne Huist Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/28/2014


A Mother with 3 children is widowed right before Christmas in a true story In Dayton, Ohio. A Good Samaritan family gives them hope by leaving them the 12 gifts of Christmas. This is an excellent story about helping others at Christmas time.


1421: The Year China Discovered America (P.S.)
1421: The Year China Discovered America (P.S.)
Author: Gavin Menzies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/27/2012


On March 8, 1421, the largest fleet the world had ever seen set sail from China to "proceed all the way to the ends of the earth to collect tribute from the barbarians beyond the seas." When the fleet returned home in October 1423, the emperor had fallen, leaving China in political and economic chaos. The great ships were left to rot at their moorings and the records of their journeys were destroyed. Lost in the long, self-imposed isolation that followed was the knowledge that Chinese ships had reached America seventy years before Columbus and had circumnavigated the globe a century before Magellan. And they colonized America before the Europeans, transplanting the principal economic crops that have since fed and clothed the world.

Beautiful Gift Copy!


The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 7/3/2014


Faith, I tell them, is a mystery, elusive to many, and never easy to explain.

Sweeping and lyrical, spellbinding and unforgettable, David Ebershoffs The 19th Wife combines epic historical fiction with a modern murder mystery to create a brilliant novel of literary suspense.

It is 1875, and Ann Eliza Young has recently separated from her powerful husband, Brigham Young, prophet and leader of the Mormon Church. Expelled and an outcast, Ann Eliza embarks on a crusade to end polygamy in the United States. A rich account of a familys polygamous history is revealed, including how a young woman became a plural wife.

Soon after Ann Elizas story begins, a second exquisite narrative unfoldsa tale of murder involving a polygamist family in present-day Utah. Jordan Scott, a young man who was thrown out of his fundamentalist sect years earlier, must reenter the world that cast him aside in order to discover the truth behind his fathers death.

And as Ann Elizas narrative intertwines with that of Jordans search, readers are pulled deeper into the mysteries of love and faith.


2 x 4 Furniture: Simple, Inexpensive and Great-Looking Projects You Can Make
Review Date: 7/30/2013


Beautiful Gift book. A collection of home and garden furniture projects, which call only for the use of inexpensive, standard 2" X 4" lumber, common tools and simple techniques. The designs range from traditional to contemporary.


20 Most Asked Questions About the Amish and Mennonites
20 Most Asked Questions About the Amish and Mennonites
Author: Merle Good, Phyllis Good
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/27/2015


This is a very interesting book.It discusses and answers many questions that I had about the Amish and Mennonites.It's not long, but it explains many of their beliefs. If you wonder about either of these groups and the differences between them, This book will answer your questions.


200 House Plants Anyone Can Grow
200 House Plants Anyone Can Grow
Author: Richard Gilbert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/24/2012


Chosen because they require the simplest of care, this book looks at 200 decorative houseplants, illustrated with a colour photograph set in a domestic environment. Water, light, temperature and humidity conditions favourable to each plant are described along with any special relevant factors.


200 Puzzles! SUDOKU #4 - The Number Puzzle Sweeping the Nation!
200 Puzzles! SUDOKU #4 - The Number Puzzle Sweeping the Nation!
Author: Playmore, Inc.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2013


This book will give you hours of entertainment trying to figure out the sudoku puzzles.


2007 Household Almanac: Tips and Advice From Costco
2007 Household Almanac: Tips and Advice From Costco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/10/2013


New tips on HDTV, health, laundry, home office, hobbies, kitchen, garage & home maintenance.
Stocking your Kitchen
Talking about your health
Straightening your Home office
Taking, Editing, storing and sharing your digital photos
Beautiful Gift copy.


2016 The almanac For Farmers and City Folk
2016 The almanac For Farmers and City Folk
Author: Lucas MC Fadden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/17/2015


New Just came out today 9-17-15
14 Month Weather forecast
HUmor, Homilies and Helpful hints
Nostalgia and Trivia
Cookery and Calendars
Puzzles and Contests
Stories, Articles and Just plain Fun


2017 The almanac for farmers and city folk
2017 The almanac for farmers and city folk
Author: Lucas Mc Fadden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/24/2016


Farmers almanac
Fishing and Planting tables; Gestation time for farm animals
Humor, Homilies and Helpful Hints Nostalgia and Trivia
Cookery and Calendars
Puzzles and contests
Stories, Articles and Just Plain FUn


365 Soirit Lifting Devotions for Women (Daily Guideposts)
365 Soirit Lifting Devotions for Women (Daily Guideposts)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2012


This is a wonderful and beautiful book..For women on the go, there is a scripture each day, a brief story tying into the scripture and a brief saying summarizing your short daily reading.


1 to 20 of 2503 - Page: