Krista M. (kskrista) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 163 - Page:
84, Charing Cross Road / The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
84, Charing Cross Road / The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
Author: Helene Hanff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/11/2007


Oh, I absolutely LOVED these books! Absolutely wonderful!


Above Suspicion
Above Suspicion
Author: Helen Macinnes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/1/2006


A GREAT suspense story that takes place on the eve of World War II in Europe.


America The Beautiful
America The Beautiful
Author: Katherine Lee Bates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Provides photographs depicting the words to the first verse of "America the Beautiful".


And God Created the Au Pair
And God Created the Au Pair
Author: Pascale Smets, Benedicte Newland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/12/2007


I didn't realize at first that this book consists entirely of email conversations and it took me a little while to sort out the two sisters, but once I did, I really enjoyed it! I laughed out loud several times. I'm not quite sure where the title fits in though--that is definitely a secondary subject of the book.


Anna and the King of Siam
Anna and the King of Siam
Author: Margaret Landon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


What a book! The true story is infinitely more interesting and shocking than the musical or motion picture versions! Anna was an amazing lady.


Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 7/13/2006


Book 1 in the Grace and Favor series.


Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 13)
Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 13)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 10/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I continue to read this series although I find myself wondering why after each successive book. Apple Turnover Murder seemed to me more of a recipe book decorated with a story line. In fact, the mystery for me in this book was *who* would be murdered. I forgot it was going to be a mystery and was interested enough to keep reading this sweet, rather inane, story until suddenly the mystery of who would be murdered was solved. I then had no trouble figuring out "whodunnit", long before Hannah did. (I won't share how I figured it out.)

What fascinates me about these books is that somehow they *do* continue to hold my attention. This latest book is a fast read with short chapters and lots of recipes. While I wasn't sitting on the edge of my seat reading with bated breath, I also didn't want to stop reading until the story was over. As I've noticed with the last few books in this series, the writing is somewhat stilted in the beginning and then picks up. I'm not sure if it's because one gets used to the style or because the writing actually improves.

I give this book three stars. It was a quick, gentle read with many delicious recipes. The only thing I really didn't like was (another) abrupt ending. And this abrupt ending includes a small cliff hanger. The nerve. :-)


The autumn rose
The autumn rose
Author: Fiona Hill
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/2/2007


An enjoyable Regency story with a rather interesting turn of events that is only somewhat obvious from the beginning. :-)


The Bachelor's Bargain (Miss Pickworth, Bk 2)
The Bachelor's Bargain (Miss Pickworth, Bk 2)
Author: Catherine Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A good historical fiction book written from the christian POV. It's also good because the story line is about a long-lost son returned home, previously thought dead, and his love for a .... gasp .... servant! Their relationship is interesting and romantic.

After a somewhat slow start, this book was really good. I enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I read it before I read the first Miss Pickworth book (The Affectionate Adversary) and now can't remember what happened to all the other "unfinished" story lines. For that reason, I would recommend attempting to read these in order. :-)


Baker Towers
Baker Towers
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 1/20/2007


I was surprised at how interesting this book is. The characters are interesting and the way the book flows from each of their perspectives makes it fairly engrossing.


Bear Party
Bear Party
Author: William Pene Du Bois
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/24/2006


A cute book for ages 2-6.


The Bell Branch
The Bell Branch
Author: Lucy Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2007


First of all, I just read this book and find the description from the back of the book rather incorrect! This story was not really a love story since romance was not hugely present. What I found was a sweet story written from Theodora's perspective about her life in England (she loved it) and many references to her family and the importance they held in her life.

Gerry, while mentioned often in the story, did not take over the book and actually impressed me by the way she carried herself--she was not frivolous or like a "rattlesnake" and I'm trying to remember why the book would say she was called such!

Perspectives on marriage, relationships with co-workers, learning more about herself, Theodora grows and matures in this story. A very nice read.


Beverly Hills Tutor
Beverly Hills Tutor
Author: Libby Keatinge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/27/2009


Nice story! The main character is down to earth, beautiful, nice, and moral. This story is very tastefully written and absolutely fascinating to read. It is probably based on a lot of truth--what is not written is that for this girl to be hired to tutor these children is that she had to be very smart, very mature, and very tactful. She handles each situation with grace while being very likable at the same time.

I like the fact that at the end of the book, she hasn't particularly been swayed by the actions of the "rich and famous" and is still herself--down to earth, moral, and nice. In her case, making the right choice also brought reward.

This is an easy read and a short book, but a lot occurs in the story and she learns a lot very quickly. 5 stars.


The Bite of the Gold Bug: A Story of the Alaskan Gold Rush
The Bite of the Gold Bug: A Story of the Alaskan Gold Rush
Author: Barthe DeClements
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/24/2006


A good, short, chapter book about the Alaskan Gold Rush. A good story to draw kids into wanting to know more about history.


Bonnie and Clyde: A Love Story
Bonnie and Clyde: A Love Story
Author: Bill Brooks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/8/2006


A fast, intriguing read. Written in a prosy, poetic style. Definitely catches your interest.


Boom Town
Boom Town
Author: Cat Bowman Smith, Sonia Levitin
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Making a new life in California back when it was "new".


A Branson Love
A Branson Love
Author: James D. Yoder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/29/2007


Sweet and with a couple twists and turns.


British Columbia: The Romantic History of Dawson Creek in Four Complete Novels (Inspirational Romance Collections)
Review Date: 3/24/2006


Good stories; I've always loved stories of Alaska and Dawson Creek.


Butterflies in the Garden
Butterflies in the Garden
Author: Carol Lerner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/24/2006


Beautiful drawings of butterflies and plants. Includes names of same.


Butterflies! (Know-It-Alls)
Butterflies! (Know-It-Alls)
Author: Darlene Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a PAPERBACK book with the same ISBN as the hardcover? Anyway, an easy-to-understand explanation of the butterfly from caterpillar to butterfly. Nice illustrations.


1 to 20 of 163 - Page: