Loraine N. (momrain) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 132 - Page:
After a Fashion (A Class of Their Own, Bk 1)
After a Fashion (A Class of Their Own, Bk 1)
Author: Jen Turano
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/18/2017


Oh how I love the stories that this author writes! I love how this story made me laugh out loud at the circumstances that these characters found themselves in. It was a story filled with wonderful and quirky characters. Add romance and humor to the mix and I consider this book to be a winner. Full review at my website.

I received this book in a giveaway. I was not required to give a positive review. All of the opinions I have expressed are my own.


After All (Hanover Falls, Bk 3)
After All (Hanover Falls, Bk 3)
Author: Deborah Raney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/12/2015


The first thing that I have to say about this book is this: I did not see that coming! This was a really good story about three people who have been deeply affected by the death of some heroic firefighters. They must move on from their grief and struggle with how to do that in the midst of changing perspectives about the deceased. I was glad to have a good ending to the series.


Almost Forever (Hanover Falls, Bk 1)
Almost Forever (Hanover Falls, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Raney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/10/2015


What if some simple and foolish mistake caused the death of someone else? Everyone at some time has made mistakes that could have disastrous consequences but by the grace of God most of them are just foolish mistakes. This story follows the regret and guilt of someone's innocent but deadly mistake. I rarely cry when I read a fictional novel, but this one just drew it out of me. I could feel the pain and regret of the person living with that one foolish mistake. This story was well written and really powerful.


Annabel Lee (Coffey & Hill, Bk 1)
Annabel Lee (Coffey & Hill, Bk 1)
Author: Mike Nappa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/25/2017


Great suspense. I was genuinely riveted until the end. Full Review at my website.


Another Way Home: A Chicory Inn Novel
Another Way Home: A Chicory Inn Novel
Author: Deborah Raney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/1/2017


Absolutely my favorite book in this series so far. What a wonderful story of gratefulness and love. It was also a reminder to me about how easy it is to look at what others have that we don't, when we need to be focusing on what we do have. My heart sank with Danae and Dallas as they face frustration and sorrow. It soared when God blessed them. Wow. It was a roller coaster that I did not want to get off of. Full review at my website.


The Antelope in the Living Room: The Real Story of Two People Sharing One Life
Review Date: 5/9/2017


I was not sure if I would like this book since I am not real big on memoirs, but I was surprised to find that I really enjoyed it. I loved the authors sense of humor. I am sure that I got quite a few looks from others while reading it because there were so many parts that made me laugh out loud. It was a good read.


The Apothecary's Daughter
The Apothecary's Daughter
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 11/30/2016


I learned quite a bit about Apothecary history from this novel. The history coupled with the struggle of Lilly being a female at a time when women were not welcomed into the medical field, made for an interesting story. 3 1/2 stars - full review at my website.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 8/10/2016


I really enjoyed this book. It was recommended to me as a clean mystery without murder. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I found that I really enjoyed getting to know Lori and the cast of characters that showed up. I am definitely looking forward to reading more of these.


Bees in the Butterfly Garden (Gilded Legacy,Bk 1)
Bees in the Butterfly Garden (Gilded Legacy,Bk 1)
Author: Maureen Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/9/2016


What I found interesting about this story was the idea that Meg is so determined to follow the footsteps of her father knowing that it would ostracize her from society. Ian, a thief himself, wants to honor her father's wishes by keeping her on the right path. How would two people so determined to follow the wrong path manage to end up on the right one? 3 1/2 stars (Full review at my website)


Beneath the Surface (Dive Team Investigations)
Beneath the Surface (Dive Team Investigations)
Author: Lynn H. Blackburn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/21/2018


Romantic suspense just as I like it. This one was a page turner in so many ways. Who was the killer? What did Leigh Weston have to do with it? Who was John Doe? Would Ryan just kiss her already? Yes, the romance kept me turning pages as well. I really enjoyed the way that it continued to simmer throughout the suspense. This is my first book from this author and it will not be my last. Full review is at my website.

I received this book complimentary as a participant of the Revell Blog Tour. I was not required to give a positive review. All of the opinions I have expressed here are my own.


Beyond Justice
Beyond Justice
Author: Cara C. Putman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/11/2018


I really enjoyed this story of intrigue and romance. The depth of feeling that the story brought to the issues of immigration and children was outstanding and relevant. I've never considered myself a fan of legal thrillers, but I love the way this author pulled me right into that world. Full Review at my website.


Blue Ridge Sunrise (A Blue Ridge Romance)
Blue Ridge Sunrise (A Blue Ridge Romance)
Author: Denise Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/7/2018


This is the first book that I've read by this author so I went into the story with an open mind. I love Hallmark movies and the âhigh school sweethearts â breakup â find themselves back together again â throw in a struggling orchardâ felt kind of like a Hallmark movie storyline. I was a little thrown by the flashback/backstory of Zoe and Cruz's relationship, which begins just after chapter six and is about ten chapters. Perhaps if the backstory was at the beginning of the book and then we caught up with them years later, I would have liked it better. This way felt disjointed to me and I think it kept me from being to invested in their story. Full review at my website. 2 1/2 out of 5 stars. I received this book in a giveaway. I was not required to give a review. All of the opinions I have expressed are my own.


Bound by Duty (Military K-9 Unit, Bk 2) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 675) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 5/9/2018


I really enjoyed this story. Single mom Zoe is under suspicion because of her brother's sins. How difficult that must be, to stand tall in your innocence when the world believes you to be guilty. The tension between Zoe and Linc is good. I liked the addition of a lovable little boy and a dedicated K-9 dog. I loved Zoe's depth of character which showed in her love for her son and in her concern for Linc and his dog even when they weren't on her side.

I received this book complimentary as a participant of the Love Inspired Blog Tour. I was not required to give a positive review. All of the opinions I have expressed here are my own.


Bound Heart (Everstone Chronicles, Bk 2)
Bound Heart (Everstone Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Dawn Crandall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2016


This was an interesting story. Meredyth has her mind set on marrying one man and Lawry makes her want to throw all of her good intentions right out the window. With the position that she had set herself in, I wondered how things between her and Lawry could ever turn out good. (Full review at my website)


Brentwood's Ward
Brentwood's Ward
Author: Michelle Griep
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/8/2017


What a good story! I loved the push-pull between Emily and Nicholas right from the start. I was kept on my toes as Emily pushed the boundaries of her protective detail while Nicholas fought to keep her safe and his heart unattached. Full review at my website.


The Captain's Daughter (London Beginnings, Bk 1)
The Captain's Daughter (London Beginnings, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Delamere
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/28/2017


This was a very enjoyable read. I loved the slow romance between Nate and Rosalyn. I was also intrigued by the theater world that they find themselves in. I am looking forward to reading the upcoming books in this series. I received this book complimentary as a participant of the Litfuse Blog Tour. I was not required to give a positive review. All of the opinions I have expressed here are my own.


The Captive Imposter (Everstone Chronicles, Bk 3)
The Captive Imposter (Everstone Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Dawn Crandall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/17/2016


Oh, I thoroughly enjoyed this story. By far, it is my favorite one in the series. The entire story I watched Estella and Dexter become friends and slowly fall in love. It is their friendship that I loved the most. (Full Review at my website)


The Cautious Maiden
The Cautious Maiden
Author: Dawn Crandall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/7/2016


Having read about Vance and Violet in the previous books in this series, I was curious as to how the author would handle them. Particularly Vance who was quite a scoundrel in the previous stories. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised that the author managed to take a man who I didn't like at all and turn him into someone who I came to respect. And she gave him a love of his own in Violet. Good job. (Full review at my website)


Centralia
Centralia
Author: Mike Dellosso
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/24/2016


Wow. So much suspense packed into one book. I had to stay up late to finish this one. I needed to find out what was real for Peter. Why doesn't he remember his past? There were so many questions to be answered, that I was on the edge of my seat watching Peter try to get those answers. (Full review at my website)


Chance of Loving You
Chance of Loving You
Author: Terri Blackstock, Susan May Warren, Candace Calvert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/3/2016


For Love of Money by Terri Blackstock (4 stars): This was my favorite story out of the three novellas. It tackles the question, What would you do if you won a huge sweepstakes? Now that is not to say that anyone actually won money (no spoilers you have to read it for yourself), but it is an interesting story about how people deal with that question. I enjoyed watching Julie become more confident in herself and her talent as well as discovering what type of man Blake actually was.

The Recipe by Candace Calvert (3 1/2 stars): This was a sweet story. It did take me some time to get invested in Aimee and Lucas' story. Because of that, the story seemed too short to me. However, I did like the ending where the kindness and selflessness of the characters shined through.

Hook, Line & Sinker by Susan May Warren (3 stars): I typically like this author's writing and I think this story was well written. I just could not connect to Abigail and Ross. It might have been the fishing angle, as I found that I was not that interested in their fishing expedition.


1 to 20 of 132 - Page: