Carrie G. (tapiocapdding) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Devil's Labyrinth: A Novel
The Devil's Labyrinth: A Novel
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 2/22/2010


This book was awful. The author started two plotlines but left one of them and continued the other until I totally forgot about the first plotline. He was all over the place and left huge holes, provided little explanation, and wrapped it all up (when he reached his quota of pages, I assume). I like some of Saul's other books, but this one was just awful.


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/7/2009


This is a ridiculously funny book. Even the sad parts are funny. The characters are well um, well whatever you do to characters. The dialogue is crackling. This book has me in dire fear of a baby saying kitty to me!


Duma Key
Duma Key
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Duma Key was pretty good. I was hooked all the way through but thought the 'reveal' and ending left a bit to be desired. Kudos to King for creating great story and plot, he just missed on the bad guy, which is usually his forte.


A Girl's Guide to Vampires (Dark Ones, Bk 1)
A Girl's Guide to Vampires (Dark Ones, Bk 1)
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 8/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I could not get past the first few pages of this book. The writing is just dreadful. I felt like I was coming into the middle of an ongoing conversation; the dialogue is abysmal.


High Fidelity
High Fidelity
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/28/2008


This book was pretty funny and still dealtwith some serious issues - I love Hornby. FYI - people waiting for this book can order a version published earlier in 1995 by Riverhead/Berkley under isbn 1-57322-551-7.


Hot Summer Nights
Hot Summer Nights
Author: Joan Elizabeth Lloyd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Not one of her best efforts. The story line was ridiculous and it was not nearly as steamy as some of her other, better, works.


Jokes To Go: 1,386 Of The Funniest Bits From the Best Comedians
Jokes To Go: 1,386 Of The Funniest Bits From the Best Comedians
Author: Judy Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/31/2008


This book is ok. I chuckled a few times; laughed out loud once. A lot of the one-liners in the book are ones that I had heard before or were variations of stuff that has been done before.


Letters from a Nut
Letters from a Nut
Author: Jerry Seinfeld, Ted L. Nancy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 2/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was really funny in spots.It hadme shaking my head at the insane letters that Nancy wrote and the ridiculous responses he got from companies trying not to offend this obvious nutjob.


The Madam of Maple Court
The Madam of Maple Court
Author: Joan Elizabeth Lloyd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/6/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I've really enjoyed some of Lloyd's books, but this one wasn't one of them. The plot was boring, formulaic and very similar to one of her other books. The worst crime she commits with this book, though, is that the 'erotic' parts advertised in the description are sorely lacking. My advice is to skip this one.


Mercy
Mercy
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 785
Review Date: 2/18/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This book didn't do much for me. I loved the Allie character and pretty much disliked everyone else. Some of the other reviews said this is about mercy killing and virtual reality. In my opinion, those issues were subplots. She covered the bare surface of both of those topics but delved deep into the affairand its effects. To me, this is about the 'favorite son' learning that the world does not revolve around him and that his choices have consequences. And the mercy that his wife shows.


Octopus Alibi (Alex Rutledge, Bk 4)
Octopus Alibi (Alex Rutledge, Bk 4)
Author: Tom Corcoran
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/8/2008


This is not a particularly good book. The beginning has so many storylines going on that it is hard to follow and by the middle of the book I was completely uninterested in ALL of the characters. There's lots of buildup and foreshadowing for stuff that never happens. It is based in Key West and I was hoping more of a Keys 'feel' top the story. The author name drops some famous places, but this story could have taken place anywhere.


Relentless
Relentless
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 8/24/2009


This book is a waste of time. I was immediately drawn into the story and stayed up late a couple of nights reading it only to be bitterly disappointed with the final quarter of the book. As other reviewers have mentioned, Koontz is definitely recycling character types and plotline. To me this book feels like it was ghost written on the style of Koontz.

There are so many things going on in this book that none of them are fully explored and the end is rushed and thrown together as if the author was in a hurry to finish and get on with his next book.


With
With
Author: Donald Harington
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/29/2008


I loved this book so much that I bought it for 3 people for Christmas the year that I read it. The story grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let go.


1 to 13 of 13