Paul W. (BookLovers) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
All Tomorrow's Parties
All Tomorrow's Parties
Author: William Gibson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 3/31/2007


Another great cyberpunk novel from the master.


Area 51 (Area 51, Bk 1)
Area 51 (Area 51, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Doherty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 11/5/2006


Easy read, lots of action, and a touch of scifi. Looking forward to reading the other books in this series.


Blasphemy (Wyman Ford, Bk 2)
Blasphemy (Wyman Ford, Bk 2)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/28/2009


A real page turner - I finished it in less than 24 hours. Mystery, action, and a little romance; a fun read.


Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 11/27/2006
Helpful Score: 2


My first experience with this author/series. Great twisted-serial- killer-hunter fun. Already bought another book in the series and will be looking for others.


The Cobweb
The Cobweb
Author: J. Frederick George, Neal Stephenson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/2/2008


Another great book by one of my favorite authors (or co-author in this case), Neal Stephenson. The FBI, CIA, NSA, Turkish spies, and an Iowa deputy sheriff all play a role in combating Iraqi terrorists in a small mid-western town. But while the powers-that-be in Washington are deciding whether to believe that trouble is brewing in Wapsipinicon Iowa, the deputy is on his own... A real page turner.


The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
Author: Amy E. REichert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/15/2016


Fun read. Held my interest all the way through.


The Confusion (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 2)
The Confusion (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 2)
Author: Neal Stephenson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/13/2007


If you are a Neal Stephenson fan, you will love this series - very deep plots and great characters, set it the late 17th / early 18th century, mainly in western Europe, but with adventures all over the world.


Cryptonomicon
Cryptonomicon
Author: Neal Stephenson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/20/2008


Typical Neal Stephenson story - lots of interesting characters, plot twists, and a touch of technology. I read everything of his that I can get my hands on.


Darwin's Radio (Darwin, Bk 1)
Darwin's Radio (Darwin, Bk 1)
Author: Greg Bear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 9/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Edge of your seat biotech thriller. World-changing events are unfolding, but no one wants to believe it.


Dead Hot Mama (Loon Lake Fishing Mystery, Bk 5)
Dead Hot Mama (Loon Lake Fishing Mystery, Bk 5)
Author: Victoria Houston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/19/2017


Nice mystery with humor and great characters, just like the rest of the series. Fun read.


Deadstock (Punktown, Bk 2)
Deadstock (Punktown, Bk 2)
Author: Jeffrey Thomas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you like William Gibson cyberpunk novels, you'll like this one. Less emphasis on computer technology, more about bio-engineering (gone very wrong, in this story). A gripping read.


Deep State (Dagmar Shaw, Bk 2)
Deep State (Dagmar Shaw, Bk 2)
Author: Walter Jon Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/18/2018


I liked the first book of this series and I liked this one even more. Complicated scenarios and plenty of action in exotic locales. Reminds me of Neal Stephenson's Cryptonomicon. Highly recommend it.


Double Homicide
Double Homicide
Author: Faye Kellerman, Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/27/2006


Good murder mysteries. Kept me guessing until the end.


Drinking Midnight Wine
Drinking Midnight Wine
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/28/2015


Enjoyed this book. This came out before the Nightside series and contains many references that Nightside fans will recognize. If you like the Nightside series, you'll like this book.


The Elfstones of Shannara (Shannara, Bk 2)
The Elfstones of Shannara (Shannara, Bk 2)
Author: Terry Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 322
Review Date: 4/8/2007


Second book of this great fantasy series - elves, trolls, demons, witches - fun read.


The Facts of Death
The Facts of Death
Author: Raymond Benson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/24/2009


Fun, quick read, plenty of action, and true to Ian Fleming's creation.


The Footprints of God
The Footprints of God
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 3


A tense thriller that I enjoyed from start to finish. Two people on the run, they can trust no one, including (especially) the US government. Murder, a top secret project that threatens the world, a touch of scifi, and even some romance. If you like 24, the TV show, you'll like this book.


Gunman's Rhapsody
Gunman's Rhapsody
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/21/2007


I am a big Spenser fan, but I don't care for Westerns. I did not expect to like this book, but I did, very much.


Heaven's Prisoners (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 2)
Heaven's Prisoners (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 2)
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/21/2007


The 2nd Dave Robicheaux novel of this great series. I have never been to New Orleans, but I feel like I know it well, thanks to Mr. Burke.


Hellhole (Hell Hole, Bk 1)
Hellhole (Hell Hole, Bk 1)
Author: Kevin J. Anderson, Brian Herbert
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Strong characters set on interesting worlds. Hellhole is a damaged planet with strange weather and a number of surprises, including aliens whose agenda is unclear. Looking forward to the 2nd book of the trilogy.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: