Stephanie R. (stephreese) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I did my best to not read reviews for this, so I was definitely surprised by the turn of events in this final chapter of the saga. I wasn't too sure what to make of some of the plot turns, but they grew on me as the story unfolded. As with the other books in this series, I could not put the book down. I think it even joined me in my dreams. It was a good resolution to the saga. I definitely feel closure. It will be nice to get my life back, after racing through the series in the past couple of weeks. Here's hoping Stephenie gets around to fully publishing Midnight Sun one day. I found Edward's point of view thrilling.

Great series of books! Meyer is a wonderful storyteller. I look forward to her future endeavors.


The Confessions of Max Tivoli
The Confessions of Max Tivoli
Author: Andrew Sean Greer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This had a slow start for me, but soon I really began to enjoy the story and the author's writing style. The premise will be familiar to anyone who has seen The Curious Tale of Benjamin Buttons (though I have not seen it). I found the story heartbreaking and endearing, all in one. It was fun to read about old-time San Francisco. It's well-worth a read. Check it out!


Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Bk 4)
Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Bk 4)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 976
Review Date: 9/5/2009


Loved this one! Who could guess anyone could fall in love with Zarek. Definitely cried at the end. Read these in order, so you have more background on Zarek first. I loved that this one brought you even deeper into the Dark-Hunter world. This one is a bit darker than the others, but that makes it an even more rewarding story. I would highly recommend it!


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1413
Review Date: 9/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


What is with the silly title and cover??? Not to mention the bright red color! It makes the book look pornographic! This sat on my book shelf for quite a while before I finally picked it up. It just looked too cheesy. But... it's actually very good. It's a great mixture of action/adventure/romance/vampires. I'm definitely looking forward to book 2. It's thoroughly enjoyable. Hopefully the rest of the books are as engaging. Check it out for a fun read!


Fledgling
Fledgling
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! It found it really hard to put down, and I was so sad to see it end. It makes me wonder if the author had more books planned to follow this one, before she passed away. I found this an interesting twist on the vampire genre. It was very well written and completely captivating. I'd highly recommend it.


Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 753
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fun series. It gets better as it goes along. I love the Murphy/Harry interaction, the completity of the story, and the fast-paced ending. I'm constantly trying to figure out who's good and who's evil, and all the subtilties in between. I look forward to exploring the series further.


Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 1)
Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 1)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 690
Review Date: 5/8/2010


Loved it! I wasn't too sure about it at first, but then I got pulled into it. It's a quick read, and it leaves you yearning to read the next one. I'm not sure if I can wait for the next one to be available for swap. I can't wait to see where the series leads. It's a well written, suspenseful thriller, with plenty of twists and turns. The strong heroine and even stronger vamp bounty hunter make sure that there's never a dull moment. If you're a Charlaine Harris or JR Ward fan, you won't be disappointed.


A Hope in the Unseen : An American Odyssey from the Inner City to the Ivy League
Review Date: 6/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a wonderful, true story. It brought me to tears several times. Great read!


Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 7)
Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 7)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 7/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this one! It's been about a year since I read through the earlier books, but it seems that this one had a more varied plot-line. I liked that it brought in several storylines vs. only focusing on the brother/love interest and the lessors. This one seemed more balanced to me. I enjoyed learning more about Rhev, and like others have said, I wasn't too into him from his prior appearances. It's hard not to care for him here. His storyline brings in Xhex, iAm, Trez, and then intersects with John Matthews, Quinn and Blay. The Wrath/Beth portion was very endearning, especially when George is brought it. I loved it!

I've already begun Lover Mine, and am enjoying it just as much. I hope she keeps up this style for however many books are left. I'll be interested to see what stories are left.

If you're a BDB fan, you can't miss this one. Hopefully you'll enjoy it as much as I did!


Night Pleasures (Dark-Hunter, Bk 2)
Night Pleasures (Dark-Hunter, Bk 2)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1019
Review Date: 8/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Fun read! After going through all the Charlaine Harris/Sookie Stackhouse books, I found myself searching for some more paranormal romance novels. I must say, these books do not disappoint. I do feel as if I'm carrying around a pornographic novel, by the title and cover. But I'm sure I'll have finished it soon enough not to worry much longer. I am enjoying this more than Fantasy Lover, mostly due to the backstory and world Sherrilyn Kenyon creates. I like her combination of Greek mythology with vampires and other demons. Such a nice balance of action, adventure, mythology and romance. I'm not finished yet, but I find myself picking up the book every chance I get.

I did read one of the Dream Hunter books out of order, and I much more enjoy going back to the beginning of the series. Read them in order if you can. The world is built layer by layer, with a whole host of characters. Check out Sherrilyn's website if you get lost. I'm definitely happy to have found this series. I can't wait to read them all!


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1567
Review Date: 8/9/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a wonderful read! It took me a little while to get into the story, but then I ended up getting swept away by the adventure. It's a fun, romantic, historical fiction account of life in Scottish highlands. The lead character accidentally steps through a portal to a time 200 years in the past. I look forward to reading the other novels in this series.


The Street of a Thousand Blossoms
The Street of a Thousand Blossoms
Author: Gail Tsukiyama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love this author's style of writing. She tells a story beautifully. This is a family saga, mainly focusing around the lives of 2 orphaned brothers, raised by their grandparents in Japan. It follows Japan's history from pre-World War II up through the early 60s. Many other characters weave in and out, to add depth to the story. The author vividly describes a world that was filled with much pain and sacrifice. Lovely story about life and death in Japan. This is much longer that the author's other books. I would highly recommend it.


Sunshine
Sunshine
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 410
Review Date: 7/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Such a wonderful book! Great story that was excellently told. I found this book very hard to put down, but at the same time I wanted to savor every sentence. I love Robin McKinley's style of writing. I will definitely be checking out some of her other books. This book was truly a pleasure to read. The story is pretty simple and straight forward, but the depth of the characters the vividness of their surroundings just sweep you away to a new time and place. I would love for her to write a sequel to this. I highly recommend it!


The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This is wonderful read! It's David's anecdotes about living in Paris, interspersed with recipes. His observations are funny and endearing. I look forward to trying out the recipes. They're not always what you would expect. I was suprised to find recipes for chicken mole and carnitas, but I dying to try them. Yummmm.... He reminds me a lot of Anthony Bourdain, with his snarky comments. I enjoyed it thoroughly and would highly recommend it.


Those Who Save Us
Those Who Save Us
Author: Jenna Blum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 5/4/2010


I loved this book! It was one of the more moving stories I have read in quite a while. It is beautifully written and a very powerful story. I found it hard to put down.


1 to 15 of 15