Reviews - Liz M. (lizzy0215)

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/1/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Many characters, all with foibles, but mostly delightful. The narration is particularly lovely for me as I love the Scottish lilt."


Bare Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 6) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 12/19/2007


"Good story, good narration. This is the first of Kathy Reich's that I've read (listened to) and would like to continue with the rest of the series."


Basket Case
Basket Case
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 5/21/2007


"One of the best so far. Great humor, great story, great characters."


Blue Shoes and Happiness (No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 7)
Review Date: 12/24/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wonderful characters. Mma Ramotswe is such a lovely soul, she warms my heart with her kindness and wisdom."


Chasing the Devil's Tail
Chasing the Devil's Tail
Author: David Fulmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/14/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I enjoyed the character development, the historical references and the political machinations developed over a place and timeframe that I knew little about. Good mystery with a logical timeline but still a complete surprise to me at the end. Definitely not a cozy mystery."


Crisis (Unabridged CD - 12 CDs)
Crisis (Unabridged CD - 12 CDs)
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/29/2011


"The story circles around a medical malpractice lawsuit and circles and circles and circles. Characters were slow to develop with little empathy to draw me into the story. The basic premise of "concierge medicine" controversy was overshadowed by the overlong and repetitive trial dialogue. There was a surprise twist ending that to me was just "what?". As a side note regarding the actual audiobook - some of my impatience with the story itself may have been with having to change from disc to disc after only 25 minutes, a 12 disc box probably could have been made into a 6 disc book unabridged."


Dark Watch (Oregon Files) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/6/2007


"Enjoyed listening, don't think it's abridged (11 CD's). Good story, good characters, well performed."


Dispatch
Dispatch
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/1/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"good story premise"


Dooby Dooby Moo
Dooby Dooby Moo
Author: Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/21/2010


"Absolutely hysterical"


Dragonsdawn
Dragonsdawn
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/28/2008


"wonderful story, provides much background for the founding of Pern. I have read and re-read many times this wonderful series and have enjoyed the rich visualizations and characters. With that said... this abridged version, only 2 cassettes, would not be the best choice for someone who has never heard the series or has no idea what the story may involve. It is well narrated and performed by Adrienne Barbeau, but way too short. I kept thinking I had skipped a side or lost another cassette, and I know the story. Very, very abridged and in that spirit it was a disappointment."


Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/21/2011


"The funny was still funny, Stephanie is still Stephanie. Plot line and secondary story just a bit thin. If I had read the hard copy I would have been pressed to actually read every page but Lorelei King as Narrator always brings out an extra something to help the characters move along."


A Fistful of Charms (The Hollows, Bk 4)
A Fistful of Charms (The Hollows, Bk 4)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 882
Review Date: 5/15/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great story, relies on previous book to keep the characters straight tho. Lots of fun and Rachael is a great character."


Gathering Blue
Gathering Blue
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 11/7/2007


"Wonderful story."


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 925
Review Date: 11/6/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Excellent story, good set up for characters."


Gravewriter (Billy Povich, Bk 1)
Gravewriter (Billy Povich, Bk 1)
Author: Mark Arsenault
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/28/2013


"Good character development, good story with that makes you want to continue to see what happens. Main character is a fallen from grace investigative reporter who is chosen for jury duty. He becomes a little more human as the plot progresses and despite his flaws is able to come to grips with a few of his demons. Well written, plot is beleivable, characters you learn to care about and want to know more. A good read, hope there is another."


The Hammer of Eden
The Hammer of Eden
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/13/2007


"Good story, this is only 3 cassettes. I am assuming it is abridged."


Hard Eight (Stephanie Plum, Bk 8) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 6/9/2007


"Stephanie is funny as ever. This CD is somewhat shorter (abridged) than the actual novel. There are a few funny moments and threads to the story that were left out but nothing that takes away from the overall effect. I only know that they're missing because I've re-read these so many times just to get a laugh."


High Five (Stephanie Plum, Bk 5) (Audio CD)(Abridged)
Review Date: 2/28/2008


"Love the Stephanie Plum series and re-read for laughs all the time. This is definitely abridged and has lost some of the flavor of the story in its short version. The books aren't that long anyway and I'm just not seeing the advantage of not using one more CD. The narrator is a speedy talker and there's really not much difference in the voices she chooses. Just one more CD to keep the whole story and slow down the rapid fire narration, not a good way to introduce a book, if I had heard this first before reading, never would have continued..."


I, Richard (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
I, Richard (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elizabeth George, Derek Jacobi (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/16/2012


"Enjoyed Derek Jacobi as the narrator. Each story has a short prelude with the author's inspiration/idea notations. On the last disk, after the end of the story there is a "interview" with Ms. George."


In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner (Inspector Lynley, Bk 10)
In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner (Inspector Lynley, Bk 10)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 10/22/2007


"Great mystery, kept me guessing til almost the end. Enjoy reading Lynley and Havers. Although the Mystery series on PBS is wonderful there are times the British accents and slang detract from all the information on the case. Reading the novels, I have the opportunity to go back if there's something I missed the first time."


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: