Carolyn S. (iluvamystery) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
The Alpine Legacy (Emma Lord Bk. 12)
The Alpine Legacy (Emma Lord Bk. 12)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/25/2014


Excellent


The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 9)
The Burning Wire (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 9)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/29/2014


Lincoln Rhyme is a fascinating example of a methodical detective, housebound, paralyzed, but with a brilliant mind and assistants who can visit scenes of the crime to help him resolve the cases. I find the entire series absorbing, and this adventure is spellbinding. Heartily recommended.


The Casebook of Constance and Charlie, Vol. 1
The Casebook of Constance and Charlie, Vol. 1
Author: Kate Wilhelm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/7/2017


Strange and not up to par


A Christmas Journey
A Christmas Journey
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/30/2012


I think Anne Perry's Christmas series is an absolute joy to read. Hope thee are many more to come.


A Christmas Visitor  (Henry Rathbone)
A Christmas Visitor (Henry Rathbone)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 5/4/2014


Anne Perry's Christmas mysteries are always a high spot in my reading! This is a delightful novelette, and one which has earned a permanent space in my personal library.


Cockatiels at Seven (Meg Langslow, Bk 9)
Cockatiels at Seven (Meg Langslow, Bk 9)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 1/18/2012


The Meg Lanslow mysteries are a joy to read. What an extraordinary family. Good read.


Dangerous to Know (Lady Emily, Bk 5)
Dangerous to Know (Lady Emily, Bk 5)
Author: Tasha Alexander
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/8/2013


I enjoy the entire series of Lady Emily books - it's fun following Emily's efforts to rise above the subservient position of even the most well-bred women in Victorian England, and revel in the use of her intelligence, imagination and determination.


Death at Dartmoor (Victorian-Edwardian Mystery, Bk 8)
Death at Dartmoor (Victorian-Edwardian Mystery, Bk 8)
Author: Robin Paige
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 4/15/2018


I have always enjoyed each of the books in this series!


Death of a Valentine (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 26)
Death of a Valentine (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 26)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/27/2018


okay


Evil in Carnations (Flower Shop, Bk 8)
Evil in Carnations (Flower Shop, Bk 8)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 3/11/2012


Good read. Fun series.


An Excellent Mystery (Brother Cadfael, Bk 11)
An Excellent Mystery (Brother Cadfael, Bk 11)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 3/28/2014


I've never met a Brother Cadfael book I didn't love!

"An Excellent Mystery" is truly an excellent mystery.

Cadfael is especially endearing to me, both as an astute detector of truth, but also as a man of God who is full of compassion and love of his fellow-men. He understands that, in this world, justice must be tempered with mercy, and that, in the next world, God will sort it all out.


Faithful Unto Death (Chief Inspector Barnaby, Bk 5)
Faithful Unto Death (Chief Inspector Barnaby, Bk 5)
Author: Caroline Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/27/2018


Good plot


Herald of Death (Special Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery)
Herald of Death (Special Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/7/2017


I'm getting tired of this series.


The Heretic's Apprentice (Brother Cadfael, Bk 16)
The Heretic's Apprentice (Brother Cadfael, Bk 16)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 4/16/2014


i have never met a Brother Cadfael book I didn't enjoy!

This is a winning series, and I totally recommend it to mystery novel lovers.


The Holy Thief (Brother Cadfael, Bk 19)
The Holy Thief (Brother Cadfael, Bk 19)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 3/31/2014


I have never met a Brother Cadfael book I didn't really enjoy!

This mystery is representative of the entire series, depicting Brother Cadfael as a good, down-to-earth compassionate medieval monk who is a whiz at solving mysteries, and who understands that only God has the right to make judgment calls.

His enormous experience, both a a member of his monastery, as well, as his many years before that, serve him well.

Ellis Peters makes the history of the times come alive.

Heartily recommended.


Killer Market (Judge Deborah Knott, Bk 5)
Killer Market (Judge Deborah Knott, Bk 5)
Author: Margaret Maron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 10/25/2014


I never met a book by Margaret Maron that I didn't enjoy! This is no exception. Great fun.


Mayhem in Miniature (Miniature Mystery, Bk 2)
Mayhem in Miniature (Miniature Mystery, Bk 2)
Author: Margaret Grace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 2/18/2012


The start of a fun cozy mystery series.


Mrs. Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans (Mrs. Jeffries, Bk 22)
Mrs. Jeffries and the Best Laid Plans (Mrs. Jeffries, Bk 22)
Author: Emily Brightwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/28/2012


Fun series. Addictive. Good read.


A Murder Hatched (Meg Langslow, Bks 1, 2 )
A Murder Hatched (Meg Langslow, Bks 1, 2 )
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/24/2012


I am delighted with the zany characters in this mystery series. -- so much so, that I am trying to read every one of them, I like that these are the first 2 in the series. It's always best if possible to start at the beginning and track your way through.


Murder on Nob Hill (Sarah Woolson, Bk 1)
Murder on Nob Hill (Sarah Woolson, Bk 1)
Author: Shirley Tallman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/12/2015


My only regret is that thee aren't enough book in this absolutely delightful series of mysteries set in a period where women lawyers were an exception to the rule! It's compulsive reading. Write more of them, Shirley Tallman!


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: