Bob G. (snowbyrd) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
The 9th Girl (Kovac and Liska, Bk 4)
The 9th Girl (Kovac and Liska, Bk 4)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/10/2016


Fast paced, gritty & interesting.


Beyond Recognition (Boldt & Matthews, Bk 4)
Beyond Recognition (Boldt & Matthews, Bk 4)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/24/2005


This was my initial exposure to a Ridley Pearson work and I found it very satisfying. I will definitely read more of his work.


The Birthday Party: A Memoir of Survival
The Birthday Party: A Memoir of Survival
Author: Stanley N. Alpert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A quick,easy(hard to believe it was written by a lawyer),& enjoyable read. Truth is indeed stranger than fiction.


Capital Offense
Capital Offense
Author: Kathleen Antrim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/24/2005


A decent political thriller which I enjoyed.


Captains and the Kings
Captains and the Kings
Author: Taylor Caldwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/24/2008


Read this quite some time ago, but remember liking it very much


Catch-22
Catch-22
Author: Joseph Heller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/24/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I started this book several times,losing interest before getting too far into it; when I committed to reading it I became hooked, & thoroughly enjoyed it. Really a very funny book.


Cider House Rules
Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 8/24/2005


I read this in 1987, saw the movie, & just re-read the book this Spring. I think it's Irving at his best!!!!


City of Thieves
City of Thieves
Author: David Benioff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 6/11/2009


I found this to be one of the best books I have read recently. It was an informative yet humorous depiction of the siege of Leningrad; well written,easily read & hard to put down. I have become eager to read more of David Benioff's writing.


Comeback (Thorndike Large Print Cloak and Dagger Series)
Comeback (Thorndike Large Print Cloak and Dagger Series)
Author: Richard Stark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/24/2010


Well, I still haven't been able to find a Richard Stark work that I haven't enjoyed.
He is indeed worthy of his lofty reputation.


The Devil's Garden
The Devil's Garden
Author: Ralph Peters
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/11/2006
Helpful Score: 2


An exciting thriller that comes hauntingly close to today's headlines from the Middle East.


The Devil's Teardrop
The Devil's Teardrop
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 8/24/2005


A very good psychological thriller. I enjoyed this one more than The Bone Collector, which is the only other Deaver book I have read.


Everybody Pays: Two Men, One Murder and the Price of Truth
Everybody Pays: Two Men, One Murder and the Price of Truth
Author: Maurice Possley, Rick Kogan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/2/2007


An astonishing true story of judicial corruption in Chicago and the courage of an honest citizen who witnesses a mob hit and has his life turned upside down.


The Final Detail (Myron Bolitar, Bk 6)
The Final Detail (Myron Bolitar, Bk 6)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 302
Review Date: 4/23/2011


Harlan Coben is quickly moving up my list of favorites.


The Godfather
The Godfather
Author: Mario Puzo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/22/2005


One of my all-time favorites


The Handle: A Parker Novel
The Handle: A Parker Novel
Author: Richard Stark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/20/2010


Today's cold rainy weather required a special kind of escape. Perhaps an old Cagney or Bogart movie; or maybe Edward G. Robinson or George Raft. Maybe I should read something by Stephen King or Elmore Leonard. Happily, I turned to Richard Stark and once again neither he nor the amoral Parker disappointed... but then again they never do.


The Hunter: A Parker Novel
The Hunter: A Parker Novel
Author: Richard Stark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/9/2009


A fast-paced,well-written,enjoyable short story introducing Parker: the wrong man to cross. I couldn't put it down,& will definitely look for more works in the Parker series!


Hypoglycemia: The Disease Your Doctor Won't Treat
Review Date: 8/22/2005


Haven't read.


In Broad Daylight
In Broad Daylight
Author: Harry N. MacLean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/24/2005


A very good and very disturbing true story of a town driven mad by an out-of-control bully.


The Incumbent (Jack Flynn, Bk 1)
The Incumbent (Jack Flynn, Bk 1)
Author: Brian McGrory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/25/2007


A very interesting thriller.


Juvenile Delinquency : Theory, Practice, and Law (with InfoTrac)
Review Date: 8/25/2005


A very readable & informative look into some juvenile behavior, the underlying causes,and,hopefully,some solutions.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: