SUSAN S. (susieqmillsacoustics) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 583 - Page:
The 100 (100, Bk 1)
The 100 (100, Bk 1)
Author: Kass Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/15/2015


The book is interesting and the plot lines playing out have potential, but it didn't feel like a complete book. We are really left hanging with several cliffhangers in the balance. Also, I didn't feel the society and harsh laws governing these people were explored in depth. There's the teen love interests and a bit of a love triangle (ugh), but there was more to these relationships than the usual YA fare. A good read, but my advice is wait until the sequel is available to complete more of the story.


The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
Review Date: 2/18/2015
Helpful Score: 2


What a wonderful book! An adventurous journey with famous and infamous characters throughout. Funny, quirky, lovable characters and some crazy twists on history. Very entertaining!


11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 7/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I should say up front, this is probably a biased review because I read Stephen King with caution. I don't like his writing style (I gloss over his crude descriptions and tend to roll my eyes at his over-the-top dialogue on occasion). However, he can be a good storyteller and has quite an imagination-"The Green Mile" is the best example of this to me. I read everything by him when I was much younger-right up until "It" turned me against him. That long book was a great read until it ended so ridiculously. Another reason I do not trust him is that he crosses lines I do not want to cross-he does it on purpose and fans of King may like that-but the lines I'm talking about are the ones that make sure children and animals are protected-call me naive or whatever-but for my reading enjoyment I want those lines protected. So, that's my frame of mind on picking up what looks like a very interesting premise. I have to say I liked it. There are many subplots and many characters we come to know and root for along the way. It started out very interesting, but I became leary about 150 pages in as we revisited, of all things, the town of Derry, Maine, and the scene of "It"! This was just a side road with references from those past events (thankfully) so the overall story continued without becoming lost. The story itself is well done and kept me guessing on how it would play out all the way through, for the characters, the country, and the world. It is a satisfying read that I really enjoyed in the end (despite rolling my eyes and glossing over some things). For me, that's a glowing review on a Stephen King book.


14
14
Author: Peter Clines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/14/2015


This is a very strange book. It kept me reading to find out what was going on with this building as the tenants banned together determined to solve the mystery. I expected it to be scary, but it is not so scary as just "out there". The last 100 pages really pick up the pace and it's an adventurous ride with some crazy twists.


24/7
24/7
Author: Jim Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/27/2013


A very intense, edge-of your-seat thriller! It grabbed me at the start but the further you read the more it is impossible to put down. A fun, scary roller coaster ride filled with twists and turns to the very end!


The 4:8 Principle
The 4:8 Principle
Author: Tommy Newberry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/19/2013


This little book is priceless! It is packed with wisdom and practical tools for applying this to your life. It is based on biblical teachings and if you are a Christian, this book is empowering. However, even if you are not particularly religious, this is outstanding advice for improving the way you think and ultimately, improving your life. The basis is founded on the universal law that "Thoughts are causes and circumstances are effects." This is a book that will inspire and benefit anyone! Excellent, excellent book!


The 5th Wave (Fifth Wave, Bk 1)
The 5th Wave (Fifth Wave, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Yancey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 6/22/2015


This is an exciting read with many twists and turns along the way! I can't wait to read the next installment!


7 Souls
7 Souls
Author: Barnabas Miller, Jordan Orlando
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/28/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I was hesitant about this book in the beginning because there was a "teenage mentality" in the main character and her friends, but it really became a page-turner very quickly. It is intensely scary in places, and a very cleverly woven tale in the end. Unique and I daresay maybe quite brilliant.


77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 2/20/2012
Helpful Score: 3


This is the master storyteller we've not seen in awhile! This book is quite creepy from the start, but seems a bit confusing in the beginning, however he weaves the tale so that it comes together in a surprising and amazing way. The plausibility and science are very well done. A ghosts story, but not a ghosts story. I could not put it down!


Abandon
Abandon
Author: Blake Crouch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 2/18/2017


This is a gripping mystery that is told in two perspectives- over 100 years ago and in modern day. It is a story of greed, family ties and insanity. All questions are answered but there is nothing supernatural, just the evil men are capable of.


Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 10/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The introduction hooked me right away. I knew immediately that I love the way this author writes. Accurate historical facts with some compelling twists. A fun page-turner.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/26/2012
Helpful Score: 4


A real page turner! Definitely one of Barclay's best-and that is saying alot. I could not put this one down! With all the twists, it kept me guessing to the end! Well done!


The Accursed
The Accursed
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/11/2014
Helpful Score: 2


A hefty Gothic horror tale with historical characters of the time. It is outrageous in places, creepy, humorous and disturbing. The Curse comes to light in 1905 and the story is told over the course of one year. Characters involved include Woodrow Wilson, Grover Cleveland, Upton Sinclair and Jack London to name a few. The politics of Princeton are fascinating, but it takes some time to set up the atmosphere and background of our characters crucial to the story. Once it begins with the arrival of (the devil himself?) it is quite a crazy and horrific journey. Well done.


The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 12/3/2012
Helpful Score: 4


This is a very gripping and unique tale of a world where antibiotics are no longer effective and lasting consequences have occurred. Medical technology has also advanced where organs can be preserved for long periods of time. Jenna awakes with no memory of an accident which put her in a year-long coma and no memory of her family or life before. She struggles to find her sense of self and decide who she is. I highly recommend.


The Affinity Bridge (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations, Bk 1)
The Affinity Bridge (Newbury & Hobbes Investigations, Bk 1)
Author: George Mann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderfully quirky characters. A bizarre mystery in a very whimsical setting yet with dark undertones. I was quite surprised at the revelations and what the affinity bridge actually was. I really look forward to seeing where this series goes.


Afraid
Afraid
Author: Jack Kilborn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 12/8/2012


A real page turner. I could not put it down until it was finished. An intense, but rough, roller coaster ride! After the first paragraph, there is no time to catch your breath.


After the Golden Age
After the Golden Age
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/28/2014


This is a fun and entertaining read. I enjoyed the colorful characters, the humor and the dysfunctional family dynamics. Better than average superhero tale.


The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/16/2014


11-year-old Julia tells the story beginning on a normal Saturday when news of "the slowing" first occurs and leads us through the devastating consequences. (Though we never learn the source of the slowing.) It is a very personal story as her world changes her family, friends, neighbors and all of humanity. It is a coming of age story with some of the everyday middle school issues, but in a world where everything is uncertain. It is a story of family. In the end, it is more of a beautiful tale of mankind and who we are. Moving and unique.


Agent to the Stars
Agent to the Stars
Author: John Scalzi
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Amusing and delightful read. Aliens make the trip to introduce themselves after learning all they know of us from our TV broadcasts.


Airtight
Airtight
Author: David Rosenfelt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/22/2014


This is an intense page turner with surprising twists! The protagonist has the quick wit that Rosenfelt does so well. The plot is mult-layered and edge of your seat. This is my favorite of Rosenfelt's books I have read to date. Highly recommend!


1 to 20 of 583 - Page: