April A. (flutterby) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 142 - Page:
Aesop's Fables
Aesop's Fables
Author: Magnum number 74
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/4/2005


Magnum Easy Eye Edition Number 74. Complete and Unabridged.


Afternoon of an Autocrat
Afternoon of an Autocrat
Author: Norah Lofts
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/5/2006


Very, Very good.


The Alamo
The Alamo
Author: Lon Tinkle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/2/2005


(From the cover) Original title : Thirteen Days to Glory. The true, minute-by-minute, bullet-by-bullet story of how 182 tough Texans fought off for 13 desparate days an army that outnumbered them 30 to 1!


Alice in Orchestralia
Alice in Orchestralia
Author: Ernest LaPrade
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 5/2/2007


This review written by Walter Damrosch.
"Alice in Orchestralia" is but another "alice in Wonderland," for the author taakes us in delightful fashion into the heart of that most wondrous land of all-the land of music.
Alice is to be envied, for there is hardly anything about a modern symphony orchestra-its make-up, its functions, its manner of speaking that universal language of human emotions-that she does not learn theough the pages of this book. And it is all done in such a bequiling way that one might swear that it had been written by the whimsical and immortal author of the original "Alice in Wonderland."
I am glad that this work was written by an American, and am proud that he is also a member of my orchestra. I prophesy for this book a wide distribution wherever the English tongue is spoken and the love of music prevails.


All that glitters: The story of gold and silver
All that glitters: The story of gold and silver
Author: Rebecca Magruder
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/25/2007


Scholastic


And to Each Season ...
And to Each Season ...
Author: Rod. McKuen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/2/2005


Beautiful...As are all his works.


Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6)
Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 4/18/2006


Another good "Harry" book.


Anywhere but Here
Anywhere but Here
Author: Mona Simpson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/4/2006


The mother and daughter bound for California and the midwstern family left behind. The obsessive desire to rise in the world, the passion be anywhere but the here we are born to...As the book opens Adele August and her 12-year-old daughter, Ann are running away to California in her splindid (unpaid for) Lincoln Continental fleeing small-town boredom and what she believes to be the dead-end lives of her mother and sister. A book that holds us with its storytelling brilliance, its sharp and profound understanding, its generousity of spirit.


Appointment with Death (Hercule Poirot, Bk 18)
Appointment with Death (Hercule Poirot, Bk 18)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/22/2007


ISBN is 0425108589, but when I kisted it as such a different cover image came up. My cover has Poirot as the central figure (head shot) ahd then other characters around the edge on the front cover. This is on book posted on bookshelf of April A.


The Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Birds: Western Region
Review Date: 11/14/2005


One of the best of its size I've seen. The pictures are really acurate.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/22/2007


Great read, like all of Patterson's work.


Bean Blossom Dreams: A City Family's Search for a Simple Country Life
Bean Blossom Dreams: A City Family's Search for a Simple Country Life
Author: Sallyann J. Murphey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/20/2007


Really a wonderful book about a family and their city vs. country.


Blindsighted  (Grant County, Bk 1)
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 3/2/2006


VERY Good Read.


Blood Crimes
Blood Crimes
Author: Fred Rosen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/8/2005


Chilling!


The Body of a Woman (Mike Yeadings, Bk 16)
The Body of a Woman (Mike Yeadings, Bk 16)
Author: Clare Curzon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/2/2006


First book I've read by this author. I will be looking for more.
psychological suspense and and some police procedure. quite a good read.


Book
Book
Author: Whoopi Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/8/2006


Pure Whoopi!!!


A Book of Angels
A Book of Angels
Author: Sophy Burnham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I was personally disappointed in this book because I believe in angels, but not in ghosts. There was too much about writers thoughts?, views?, on ghosts and I wasn't interested in what I feel is fiction.


The Breaking Point
The Breaking Point
Author: Daphne du Maurier
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/1/2005


ver-r-r-y good.


Calypso
Calypso
Author: Ed McBain7.
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/9/2005


Please note. ISBN # for this edition is 0553133993 rather than the ISBN # requested on the wish list.


Charity Girl
Charity Girl
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/7/2006


Book is in very condition, including the cover and binding, but the dust cover is missing.


1 to 20 of 142 - Page: