Reviews - Sara M. (Mom2EmNAbby)

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
The Abortionist's Daughter
The Abortionist's Daughter
Author: Elisabeth Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 2/12/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book definitely could've used a better editor!"


The Absence of Nectar
The Absence of Nectar
Author: Kathy Hepinstall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 2/28/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"oddly written but a quick read"


AIDS Memoir: Journal of an HIV-Positive Mother
AIDS Memoir: Journal of an HIV-Positive Mother
Author: Catherine Wyatt-Morley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/9/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"refusing to be a victim, catherine morely presents a story of how life goes on after aids."


Amy: My Search for Her Killer: Secrets & Suspects in the Unsolved Murder of Amy Mihaljevic
Review Date: 7/11/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book caused me more than a few times to look over my shoulder, unsure if I was looking for a ghost or a bad guy. However this book is way more than a normal true crime novel, this author truly cares about Amy & finding her killer, from page one it is obvious that he is not just writing this book for thrills or money. This is truly different from any other true crime book I have read & I have read plenty. I would recommend this for anyone who cares about Amy or a beginner true crime reader. There are no crime scene photos or anything else that experienced true crime readers might expect. I truly felt as if James cared deeply for Amy & wanted to respect her with everything he wrote & it made reading this book a different experience than I felt with reading other books whose authors exploited the crime & everyone they talked to in the process. This is the way a true crime book should be written, by a person who cared from day one & never stopped caring. Kudos to James Renner. I hope you continue writing James, I cannot say I enjoyed the book but you made me care & not in a way that reminds one of a horrific car wreck but in a way that made me see Amy as a beautiful, intelligent, sweet 10 year old girl that should have lived. She lives on through you & this book & everyone who loved her. And now us readers as well."


The Big Girls
The Big Girls
Author: Susanna Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/24/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book, to me, was very disappointing. It jumps from narrator to narrator without warning & the reader is left to guess who is telling the story this time. I often had to refer to the book description to take a guess. A few times, I never did figure it out. All the warning you get that a new narrator ia taking over is a few extra spacings between paragraphs. And while I wont ruin the ending, all I can say is there must be something I missed. It certainly wasnt obvious, to me again, what, if any, point there was to this book. My final thought upon finishing it was "what an extreme waste of time." I would skip this book, reading a phonebook might be more rewarding."


Blue Water
Blue Water
Author: A. Manette Ansay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 2/26/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is very sad but a quick read. One of those that stay in your mind after you finish it."


The Boy on the Bus
The Boy on the Bus
Author: Deborah Schupack
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/13/2007


"interesting book, quick read....wish the ending had been better explained but i still enjoyed it."


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 4/24/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this book, its is about how one small choice or moment in time can change a life forever."


Bully: A True Story of High School Revenge
Bully: A True Story of High School Revenge
Author: Jim Schutze
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 4/25/2007


"this seems to be a good book, i didnt finish it as it is just not my type of book anymore. :)"


Burn Unit: Saving Lives After The Flames
Burn Unit: Saving Lives After The Flames
Author: Barbara Ravage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/9/2007


"Brand new condition, looks a little on the technical side for me!"


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 3/21/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very good book!"


Eden Close
Eden Close
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 2/19/2007


"this is a good book, fast read& very enjoyable!"


Enduring Love
Enduring Love
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 4/19/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a good book but the author couldve told the same story with a way less amount of words. His tendency to veer off into scientifical stuff got old fast but I just skipped those parts & the story itself was enjoyable."


Family History
Family History
Author: Dani Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 3/29/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Quick read, draws you right into this family & their story."


Fat Girl : A True Story
Fat Girl : A True Story
Author: Judith Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 4/23/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is sometimes funny but mainly I thought it was very sad & depressing."


A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
Author: Haven Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 507
Review Date: 2/15/2007


"enjoyable book & quick read, I finished it within a day."


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3264
Review Date: 1/28/2007


"very sad but a good read"


The God of Animals
The God of Animals
Author: Aryn Kyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 6/10/2009
11 member(s) found this review helpful.


"this book is depressing & sad. It starts off that way & it never gets better. The lead girl sometimes garners sympathy but mainly not, when she ought to feel empathy she never does. She most always chooses cruelty over kindness. Its hard to feel sympathy for anyone in this book but the horses & thats what makes it hard to read....rarely do the horses get treated like anything but crap. I read this thinking itd be similar to "chosen by a horse" and I got more & more horrified chapter by chapter. By the last few pages I knew nothing good was to come but I kept reading bc HEY, you never know!! I dont WANT to give anything away but if you LOVE & ADORE animals like me, this book will break your heart. You will HATE all the characters but one kind hearted soul & the torture inflicted upon the animals in this book will be hard to read about. Also....I used to think that I LIKED sad books, regardless of if they were about humans or animals, I changed my mind. I wish Id never read this book. The torture of horses told about in this book make me wish Id never picked it up."


Heather's Return: The Amazing Story of a Child's Communications from Beyond the Grave (The We Don't Die Series)
Review Date: 4/8/2007


"this book was okay...I couldve done without all the preaching."


High School Musical
High School Musical
Author: N. B. Grace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/2/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"cute book, based on the movie"


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: