Malka E. (huskyshep) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 113 - Page:
An Eye for Murder (Prime Crime Mysteries)
An Eye for Murder (Prime Crime Mysteries)
Author: Libby Fischer Hellmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/28/2006


i was very surprised that this was a first book..
it was really good (a bit very scary in parts)
but i wish that there was not a swastica on the cover)
it kept me from reading it for a long time.


Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 5/18/2010


i did end up enjoying the story, but being new to this genre, i didn't expect all the extremly
graphic sex,
the creepy crawlies, vampires, dhampirs,werewolves, coyotes that become human, shapeshifters, skinwalkers, etc. were creepy..
but, the huge graphic amount of mention of penises in this book... were much creepier.
And also the fact that she is supposed to be saving the world....
um, she is having a lot of sex, no mention of birth control (not even in passing)
the sequels will be very interesting, if she is saving the world,
pregnant....
i did enjoy that a little orphan, ex cop from Milwaukee, was saving the world tho.


Aria In Ice (Abby Fouchet, Bk 2)
Aria In Ice (Abby Fouchet, Bk 2)
Author: Flo Fitzpatrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/12/2013


freaky, ghostly, giddy, galloping fun!


Atmospheric Disturbances
Atmospheric Disturbances
Author: Rivka Galchen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/12/2012


it wasn't that i didn't like this book, it was interesting, and the people and places were interesting, it was just all too surreal and weird, i kept waiting for it to make sense -even in a weird way....
i did like the dogs.


Attracting Birds (Storey's Country Wisdom Bulletin A-64)
Attracting Birds (Storey's Country Wisdom Bulletin A-64)
Author: Olwen Woodier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/2/2007


mostly eastern birds
also a couple of plans for bird houses


Balloons Can Be Murder (Charlie Parker, Bk 9)
Balloons Can Be Murder (Charlie Parker, Bk 9)
Author: Connie Shelton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/21/2006


a nice fast read... scary in parts,
the sleuth has a nice dog(that doesn't get murdered)
WARNING! there is a murder of an animal also, in this book.
but the book was good, the balloon festival was fun.
this was the first Charlie Parker book i had read (i think it is the 5th or 6th in series)
i will probably look for the others.


Beaded to Death
Beaded to Death
Author: Janis Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/2/2014


a fun read

From The Back of the Book:
You'd think the life of a bead artist would be fairly uneventful. But that's not the case for Lilias Ruiz. Especially when she returns from an art fair tour and is greeted by a dead body.

The police are convinced she's the killer, and suddenly Lilias finds herself hanging on to a thread of innocence. But after her home is vandalized and her van broken into, Lilias begins to realize that she has something someone wants.

Determined to return to the craft circuit, Lilias is relieved to be accompanied by her seven-foot-three-inch nephew, who's on the run from an unwanted basketball scholarship. Along with the help of her colorful neighbor Annie, a cutthroat attorney who means well and an overzealous FBI agent, they string together the clues and wonder if there really could be a gem in Lilias's collection of dusty old beads. Or is the killer after something more?


Berried Secrets (Cranberry Cove, Bk 1)
Berried Secrets (Cranberry Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Peg Cochran
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/17/2017


this book was a delight, from the first page to the last, except, that at one point i said to my self.... oh i hope she is not going to make "so and so" the murderer, and she did :( the only other problem with this book, is, it left me REALLY wanting coffee cake! (Fortunately there is a recipe for it in the back of the book) even with the murderer being who it was, i REALLY enjoyed this one, and can't wait to read the rest!


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 2/17/2007
Helpful Score: 8


despite it's title not really a cosy, really good, but scarier than i expected,between the mob and the rapist, the attempts on her life were a little too "real",
but, i really enjoyed it anyways... and can't wait to read more.
oh yeah.. AND it had a dachshund in it too!


Between the Worlds
Between the Worlds
Author: Caeia March
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/28/2009


i really enjoyed this book a lot,
(except the really sad herstory,
i didn't enjoy that, but did apprieciate it)
my only problem with this book is that
i REALLY,REALLY did not want it to end!


Bichon Frise
Bichon Frise
Author: Martin Weil
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/15/2007


nice book, lots of pictures of bichons


The Blue Place (Aud Torvingen, Bk 1)
The Blue Place (Aud Torvingen, Bk 1)
Author: Nicola Griffith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


when i read the cover of this book,
i really thought, i would NOT like it....
but i read it anyways and much to my surprise, i liked it aLOT,
even tho it was really sad.. and kept me on the edge of my seat wondering just what was going to happen next, and how bad would it be?
even tho it was a really scary book, it was filled with such joy of life.


Bones Would Rain from the Sky : Deepening Our Relationships with Dogs
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


one of the BEST books i have ever read!
esp if you are a dog person (grin)


Break No Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 9)
Break No Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 9)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 3/25/2007


another good one


Brigid's Charge
Brigid's Charge
Author: Cynthia Lamb
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/26/2007


from back cover:
The New World holds the promise of religious freedom, especially among the Quakers, known for their tolerance. But will they accept a Pagan in their Society? A witch in their community? Deborah Leeds, direct ancestor of the author, remains faithful to Brigid's charge to heal and is well loved and respected by her neighbors. Yet ultimately she lives a lie - until a new charge by a "Doctor of Physic" and the birth of her 13th child force a reckoning within her and her community. And a legend is born. Sightings of her alleged progeny, now known as the Jersey Devil, continue to this day. A story of secrets and suspicions, of religious fervor and fanatacism, of a fearful yet courageous woman's struggle to live with integrity in a world which would hang her for following her heart . . . and her destiny!
FINALIST! Benjamin Franklin Award for Fiction now on unabridged audio. "One of the best novels . . . concerned with women's spirituality." - Booklist

"A well-crafted, imaginative tale, and terrific reading." - The Midwest Book Review

"A fascinating exploration of the origin and nature of what we have come to think of as witchcraft." - San Francisco Chronicle

"[Brigid's Charge] uses the legend to get places, to say things about life and people and religion and things that matter." - The Press of Atlantic City ". . . an engaging and imaginative story of the life of an extraordinary woman in a difficult time - and a good read! - Starhawk, author of "The Spiral Dance" and "The Fifth Sacred Thing"


Canine Caper: Real-Life Tales of a Female Pet Vigilante
Canine Caper: Real-Life Tales of a Female Pet Vigilante
Author: Rose Block, Delilah Ahrendt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/27/2006


scary! but a good read anyways!
a story about another (slightly illegal) part of the network that keeps dogs safe, and gets them health care and homes.


Cart of Death (Taos Festival, Bk 2)
Cart of Death (Taos Festival, Bk 2)
Author: Mari Ulmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/5/2008


i enjoyed this one.


Charged With Guilt
Charged With Guilt
Author: Gloria White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/14/2006


P.I. Ronnie Ventana is framed for murder..
and has to find out,who? why? and how? in San Francisco.
Gloria White is always a good read (kind of like a gritty vacation to San Francisco)


Chimney  Stove Cleaning
Chimney Stove Cleaning
Author: Christopher Curtis, Donald Post
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/24/2006


short and simple.. on cleaning your stoves and chimnies
nicely illustrated too.


Communicating With Animals : The Spiritual Connection Between People and Animals
Review Date: 7/23/2007


great book! nice pictures also!


1 to 20 of 113 - Page: