Tanya F. (TanyaMT) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 62 - Page:
Adam and His Kin: The Lost History of Their Lives and Times
Adam and His Kin: The Lost History of Their Lives and Times
Author: Ruth Beechick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


First of all, I do not come from a young earth/creationist viewpoint. In the interest of understanding that viewpoint though, I have selected a few texts to read, this being one of them. The author, Ruth Beechick, I was already familiar with, having read some of her homeschooling education/books. She is an engaging author who is able to encourage deep thought without unnecessarily complex or confusing writing. Her focus is clearly on encouraging in the reader introspection rather than the focus being on her own writing complexity or skill. Even younger readers can enjoy this book and pick up a lot from it, sparking questions and discussion.

Beechick starts off freely admitting that this is how it could have happened, and then proceeds with an engaging tale of biblical times. Even if you are not a creationist, you can enjoy the story and familiar characters. If you are new to the creationist idea, you can gain an understanding of the viewpoint, written in an intelligent and engaging way. The brief bibliography in the back is also a nice jumping point for learning more.

This book is thin (not overwhelming), well written and engaging.


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 317
Review Date: 9/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I usually like Shreve but I felt this really was one of her more dull books and had trouble getting through it at all.


Another First Poetry Book
Another First Poetry Book
Author: John L. Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/13/2006


Pretty good poetry and I am not a poetry fan. My son enjoyed most of it.


Barney  Baby Bop Go to the Library (Go to ... Series)
Barney Baby Bop Go to the Library (Go to ... Series)
Author: Mark Bernthal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/18/2007


My son used to love this book when going through the Barney phase. The real people pictured were interesting to him, and it is a nice story about visiting the library.


Barney's Little Lessons: Be My Friend
Barney's Little Lessons: Be My Friend
Author: Sheryl Berk
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/18/2007


Barney provides an easy to understand life lesson. Good for about age 2 or young 3 but my son outgrew this one fast.


Blue Ginger : East Meets West Cooking with Ming Tsai
Blue Ginger : East Meets West Cooking with Ming Tsai
Author: Ming Tsai, Arthur Boehm
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/20/2006


Truly a fantastic cookbook but definitely not for quick weeknight meals.


Close Encounters of the Sexy Kind (Planet Nerak, Bk 1)
Close Encounters of the Sexy Kind (Planet Nerak, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great mix of humor, imagination and romance.


The Continuum Concept: In Search of Happiness Lost (Classics in Human Development)
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is quite interesting, and very applicable to reasoning behind attachment parenting. I found the author's observations regarding the tribe fascinating, as I did her speculation about the underlying continuum concept. However, I found her speculating that homosexuality, drug addictions, etc., are caused by not being held as a baby offensive. Putting it in perspective though, this is an older book that was extremely ahead of its time in terms of attachment parenting. At the time it was written though, many things regarding the nature of the brain were not as well known, and many things we now consider either inborn or genetic were then considered diseases or attributable to "poor parenting." Excepting those parts of the book, I found her general ideas plausible and a refreshing change from more conventional ideas regarding child rearing.


A cook's guide to cheese
A cook's guide to cheese
Author: Juliet Harbutt
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/20/2006


Fantastic illustrations and uses for many common and unusual cheese varieties.


The Cure for the Common Life
The Cure for the Common Life
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/13/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent book. He talks about arranging your life so you are living in your "sweet spot," enhancing yourself religiously but also on a personal secular level.


Dr. Seuss's ABC: An Amazing Alphabet Book! (Bright  Early Board Books(TM))
Review Date: 5/19/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent board book copy of the classic Dr. Seuss book for young children. Not quite as good as the original though in its board book condensed orm.


The Friendship Test
The Friendship Test
Author: Elizabeth Noble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 7/18/2006


A truly enjoyable and believable story about a group of friends over the years. What I particularly enjoyed was that the story was well written and realistically portrayed, with drama but not melodrama.


The Fussy Baby Book: Parenting Your High-Need Child From Birth to Age Five
Review Date: 4/13/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great info for the parents of a high needs child.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3372
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An incredible memoire of a very strong woman, able to look back on her past and see the good and the horribly bad, and write about it in an engaging and thoughtful way.


Handwriting Without Tears (Kindergarten Teacher's Guide)
Handwriting Without Tears (Kindergarten Teacher's Guide)
Author: Janice Z. Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 4


The Handwriting Without Tears series is good, and I highly recommend the student workbooks; however, the teacher's editions I rarely consulted.


Home by Choice : Raising Emotionally Secure Children in an Insecure World
Review Date: 11/26/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Well researched and written book about negative impact to children of parents (specifically mother mainly addressed) working full time outside of the home. The writer writes from the perspective that a mother should be present in the home until approximately age 3 at least and presents research and opinions to support her belief.


The Homeschooling Book of Answers : The 101 Most Important Questions Answered by Homeschooling's Most Respected Voices (Prima Home Learning Library)
Review Date: 7/25/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Good resource in an easy, engaging question/answer format but strongly biased towards unschooling and less structured methods of homeschooling, at times becoming a bit critical or harsh of other more critical styles. That said, it is a solid resource, even including a wonderful chapter with writing by current and past homeschooled children.


It's All Too Much: An Easy Plan for Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff
Review Date: 2/20/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Good practical ideas on decluttering, addressing the psychological as well as the practical considerations. At the end is a chapter including hints on maintenance after you have everything in shape. The best part of the book though was the examples, I thought. They were inspiring.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5693
Review Date: 8/14/2006


Well-written and memorable tale, very sad.


Lessons from the Top : The 50 Most Successful Business Leaders in America--and What You Can Learn From Them
Review Date: 7/14/2006


A little dry at times, but some interesting insights from the interviews.


1 to 20 of 62 - Page: