Darlean M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
1000 Vegetarian Recipes From Around the World
1000 Vegetarian Recipes From Around the World
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the perfect recipe book because all of the recipes are listed on one page, all of the recipes have pictures and it has sooo many recipes to chose from, the only thing I don't like is that the index is not listed by recipe name but instead by ingredient which is useful I would have just liked both. This is one HUGE book! it's very heavy I found it at Ollie's for $9.00 I think your chances at finding it at a discount store would be better than finding it here I'm doubting anyone would want to mail this thing it weighs about 10 lbs.


50 Ways to Take the Junk out of Junk Food: Quick and Nutritious Treats to Make with Your Kids
Review Date: 7/25/2008


healthier junk food for your family - there is something for everyone, some of our favorites - honey-nut corn, banana graham squares, apple crisp, cinnamon honey buns, bread pudding, maple chips, and yummy apple cookies, crazy crispy balls, pea-nutty squares, & banana sandwich squares.

*** If your not used to baking with (or eating) wheat flour I'd recommend using 1/2 wheat & 1/2 unbleached white flour to get used to it, because "all wheat" flour recipes produce a denser product than your probably used to. This way you can still get a healthier version of the recipe without using all white flour and you won't notice a drastic change in texture than what your used to. As time goes on you can continue to decrease the amount of white flour you use or just stick with a 50/50 mix I prefer this in many recipes that call for all wheat flour.


Agnes Browne
Agnes Browne
Author: Brendan O'Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is the same book as "The Mammy" it has just been retitled after the movie came out. It's not part of the continuing series as I thought. But the book is so good you can never have enough extras to pass on to friends... just don't expect it to be a different book. After reading the book I got the movie and it wasn't nearly half as good as the book! I'd also recommend reading all three books in the series each one is as great as the other! (The Mammy [Agnes Browne], The Chisellers, and The Granny) Now a fourth book which is about the "young" Agnes Browne - The Young Wan.


Book Crush
Book Crush
Author: Nancy Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I consider myself very knowledgeable in children's books I spend countless hours searching, reviewing, and reading them always on the lookout for that "perfect book" for my child to fall in love with. So I normally would not have picked this book for myself but the school librarian recommended it to me at a book fair so I gave it a shot. I was extremely surprised and pleased! the book has multiple categories so you can easily find a great book for your child to read... I went straight to the 9-12 boys LOL section first, and found books I hadn't seen yet. It an extremely wonderful book! from now on I'll start my book shopping with the help of a guide! it doesn't get easier that this.


The Brown Bag Lunch Cookbook (Cookbooks)
The Brown Bag Lunch Cookbook (Cookbooks)
Author: Miriam Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/25/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book is great HEALTHY cookbook for kids and adults. It has a great recipe for peanut butter bars that are amazing!!!! It also has many types of healthy breads & muffins; I always keep a stash in my freezer for breakfast, lunches, & snacks. This books also takes soups & salads to a whole new level - these are some of the best selections I've seen and they are very tasty -> from sushi to spreads this book has it all!

The thing I most liked in this book is the use of powdered buttermilk I've always been a big user of it for the ease of storage, the price, & convenience - it was nice to see many more recipes using it. I pretty much use powdered buttermilk in all recipes calling for regular milk - especially pancakes!



*** If your not used to baking with (or eating) wheat flour I'd recommend using 1/2 wheat & 1/2 unbleached white flour to get used to it, because "all wheat" flour recipes produce a denser product than your probably used to. This way you can still get a healthier version of the recipe without using all white flour and you won't notice a drastic change in texture than what your used to. As time goes on you can continue to decrease the amount of white flour you use or just stick with a 50/50 mix I prefer this in many recipes that call for all wheat flour.


Coloring Outside the Lines: Raising a Smarter Kid by Breaking All the Rules
Review Date: 4/8/2009


I can't say enough about this book it's AWESOME!!! He goes beyond the "getting good grades" aspect of school. This book is especially welcoming to me as a parent who has been told my child is very gifted in areas that can't be graded, many listed in the inside cover "speaking convincingly and eloquently, thinking fast, finding logical solutions to problems easily, is curious, sets goals and doesn't think about failure, is very self confident, is overly creative and engaging".

BUT this was pointed out to me in a negative manner "your child is so intelligent BUT in ways that can't be graded so they are viewed more as negative "traits" and should not be displayed in school. My child suffers from too much "free spirit-ness" and it certainly causes us great concern because we wanted him to fit in into the "structured society" of school norm.

This book helped us find ways to balance some of the things we struggle with, my child doesn't have to try hard to get grades, and he's fine with that. But what the teacher and we as parents see instead is he's capable of so much more because he's not really putting in much effort. So we push him harder (or try to anyway) we really don't need to be doing that as long as we keep everything balanced in a healthy and enriching way. We have so much drive for our children that it's hard to except they don't have the same drive.

The book certainly isn't a "just let your children be as they are" book. It's a book for proactive parents who care about the intellectual development of their kids and want to guide them toward a happy future. I got the book not so much to help direct my child to "color outside of the lines" but how to "color more inside the lines" and I think the book can help no matter which side your child tends to lean more on.


A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers: A Novel
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers: A Novel
Author: Xiaolu Guo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/6/2009


Loved the book! loved the bad English it was worded very realistic! I thought the relationship part of the story was weak. but her life in general was a great story line. You definitely get a good feel for how hard it is to try and gap duel languages & cultures.


Cook Once a Week, Eat Well Every Day : Make-Ahead Meals that Transform Your Suppertime Circus into Relaxing Family Time
Review Date: 9/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This has some of the most healthiest recipes I've seen in a make ahead cookbook besides Jill Bond's "Mega Cooking" which is also filled with healthy choices. However this book has many more modern updated recipes. They are not the same old re-done recipes that get passed around over the years like the mac & cheese.

I really think there is something for everyone, even if you alter a few ingredients. This book has a wide variety of choices. The ideas are fabulous I love the quickie meal section(from what you've got) I would love to see a book just filled with info like that. This book is also very vegetarian friendly.

I had never used parchment paper to make baking pouches before I've only used to bake on. This was a very useful tip for me and the end result is better than using just foil. This book is filled with great menus, tips, shopping lists & more!


Crushed
Crushed
Author: Laura McNeal, Tom McNeal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


pretty good young adult book - the description doesn't really describe the book well at all. It's mainly about being in high school and all that teen drama that goes along with it - only the main characters are smart (by choice) but not all that wise. Someone is writing an underground school newspaper that trashes both students and teachers.


Dry : A Memoir
Dry : A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 717
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 8


I really enjoyed this book, I don't think you have to read "Running with Scissors" first, but if you do, You really need to read this book next! they are totally different but with the same great humor.

I thought in the first book he writing his experiences as he remembered them as a child and that is really different than how we would see those experiences as an adult, which is what makes it so hard for people to believe. In this book he is writing his experiences as an adult.

I find it refreshing that throughout his life and books he focuses on the positive and not the negative like so many other memoirs. He was luckily blessed with an incredible sense of humor that allows him to remain afloat in a world of crap.

I don't think he at says "look at me I have a messed up life aren't I so funny and fabulous" to me he's funny and fabulous IN SPITE of his messed up life... and I've only read two of books but I don't recall his ever thinking he was fabulous. I suppose people think that if he was beaten down his whole life he should act more like it - I'm glad he doesn't!

For people who have not had such a "perfectly normal" life his books are better than therapy! and in his books you can find "hope"


....of having a smile at the end of your worst day ever.


The Kitchen God's Wife
The Kitchen God's Wife
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


- I loved the rich history and the way the story unfolded I was very surprised how the ending wrapped up the whole story in a way I hadn't expected but I wish it had gone just one more chapter longer all in all it was such a fantastic story!

I just had to add something - if you get a chance you should listen to the audio books written & narrated by Amy Tan - "The Opposite of Fate" because she talks in more detail about the writing of this book and many other things. It gives you even more appreciation for the book... and it did give me the last chapter I so desperately wanted but having her describe it was even better than reading it.


The Mammy (Agnes Browne, Bk 1)
The Mammy (Agnes Browne, Bk 1)
Author: Brendan O'Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 9/30/2008


I would love to read a series of books just like this one! an absolutely wonderful book but way to short!!!


Mega Cooking: A Revolutionary New Plan for Quantity Cooking
Mega Cooking: A Revolutionary New Plan for Quantity Cooking
Author: Jill Bond
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/19/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book is very detailed it's a big book but it will give more detailed info than any other freezer book out there (I have many lol!) but what I like best is her clear sense of good nutrition. This is a "must have" guide that can help you save time, money, and energy. I would even recommend this book to well seasoned OAMC people.


The Opposite of Fate (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Opposite of Fate (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I find myself wanting to order copies for my friends because my copy is being passed around so much. I love that Amy Tan does her own narration she makes you feel like you are a part of all her stories & then you get to feel that your sitting right next to her understanding and laughing in a way only a best friend could.

She gives so much filler information, the back & forward to her books. In "The Kitchen God's Wife" I really wanted a final chapter telling about a return trip. She actually gives you that trip in this book but hearing her tell you the story is priceless compared to reading it.

I laughed so hard listening to parts of this I loved it, "the F words" was my favorite part not my children's as I of course made them listen to it they were shocked beyond belief - my son said that simply could not be true lol! my older daughter laughed in sad recognition.

It is filled with happy and sad, profound & even horrific events that have filled Amy's life but I think it's a must listen too for anyone who enjoys Amy's books - and I do mean listen I wouldn't enjoy this nearly as much had I read it. I enjoyed the reflection and emotion of her voice making no mistake of the meaning behind her words.


Please Stop Laughing at Me: One Woman's Inspirational Story
Please Stop Laughing at Me: One Woman's Inspirational Story
Author: Jodee Blanco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 4/16/2009


While I hate even the thought of bullying and think no one deserves to be bullied for any reason - I can't get over her undertone throughout the book I have the "impression" after reading this that she always thought she was better than everyone else. Like she was the only one doing anything right - the moral compass to the world.

And while I wouldn't be mean to someone like that I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to be nice to them... It also really sounds like she does over-embellish the issues, even if they are all true, when she writes it out I have a hard time not thinking she is a bit crazy.

It's also hard for me to understand her self image issues, because all she talked about was her crushes on boys. It's like I hate myself but look I'm normal because I still have crushes on boys not just any boys but the "popular in-crowd hot boys". And while I'm not a psychiatrist I think most people with self image issues aren't worried that a boy will like them. They don't feel good about themselves so they try to avoid the situation completely. I think her issue was more "I'm great why don't you like me as much as I like myself?"

I was really disappointed with her message at the end of the book -> everything that happened to me was ok because it made me this strong amazing person who excelled in business???? I doubt she ever thought she wasn't amazing a day in her life. You don't just smile 20 years later and say it's OK guys you like me now so it's all good? are you kidding me? I think her lack of personal relationships is probably a better testament to how well she really coped with this abuse, yet she glosses that over with I got to drink beers with the high school hottie at the 20 year class reunion?

And even though she says she let it go she's still trying to prove she's better than everyone else by adding her professional bio to the back of the book .....for real?

The whole book left a bad taste in my mouth - I think bullying is a real issue and a very important one - but this book does nothing to help with that issue!

I enjoyed reading the reviews of this book more than I liked reading the book. I can actually feel the painful experiences in some of those comments.

This book probably would have been much better if she had a professional write it for her because for me her personality came across in a very bad way. One that was much worse than the subject at hand.


Running with Scissors : A Memoir
Running with Scissors : A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 7/12/2008


not what I expected - I bought the book because I read it was funny, it is funny but also very crude and disgustingly descriptive in places. Even so the story is really well written and very good. By the time I got to the last chapter I was sad it ended & wanted to read more... so I'm getting the next book. It's the first true story I've read about a life so bad - come across almost as normal. He makes the worst situations seem so comical you want to cheer him on, not pity him.


Saving Fish from Drowning (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Saving Fish from Drowning (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/4/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I thought this started out a bit slow & confusing but then got much better after the second disk (I think it had more to do with the history of the story before the story begins) - it was a good intriguing story I was listening both in my car & in my house because their were parts I didn't want to pause on. The finish was a fantastic surprise. Again I thought Amy Tan did a wonderful job of weaving a beautiful story that entwines it readers, her attention to detail is amazing and it allows you to easily visual what is happening. I love Amy Tan books but wasn't sure this one would be as interesting as others, so I opted for the CD copy instead of the book and I'm glad I did, otherwise I might not have gotten around to reading the book - and it is a story worth reading.


Shipwreck (Island, Bk 1)
Shipwreck (Island, Bk 1)
Author: Gordon Korman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 8/24/2008


Korman is great read for kids - and I really enjoyed his books even as an adult.

the only thing I would prefer is that the books were sold in sets or instead of small series books have them all combined in one larger book - because it's difficult to find all the books in a series.

It's awful to invest time in a book where you don't get to find out what happens next. So get all the books before you start reading them or give them to your kids because each book is a continuation of the last and you have to read them in order.


Sudden Rain: A Novel
Sudden Rain: A Novel
Author: Maritta Wolff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/8/2008


Wolff's seventh novel, Sudden Rain, rapidly transcended me back to the 1970's. I'm not sure if I've read the book before or it was just the time frame of the book that made it all seem very familiar to me. I was a bit surprised to see the time frame of the story only evolves over a long weekend. But she pulls it off, and the story flows well - it almost seems like not much is happening in this book, but it's just that that reminds me of daily family life. I found it a very enjoyable read.


Summerland
Summerland
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


and I had a really hard time getting into it, I even tried listening to the audio and couldn't get interested (neither was my 9 year old) I really want to give the book a chance but I doubt I'll pick it back up again. To me it's just a really strange book that's a bit too bizarre to follow...


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: