Katherine G. (superscrounger) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
The $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook: 200 Recipes for Quick, Delicious, and Nourishing Meals That Are Easy on the Budget and a Snap to Prepare
Review Date: 10/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


It's a winner!
Great recipes and shopping strategies. My mom borrowed it to copy some recipes and my sister liked it so much she purchased a copy herself.


The Best of Gahan Wilson
The Best of Gahan Wilson
Author: Gahan Wilson, Cathy Fenner, Arnie Fenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/11/2012


Gahan Wilson has a gift. Dry,wry and morbid, it is thoroughly enjoyable!


Chas Addams Half-Baked Cookbook : Culinary Cartoons for the Humorously Famished
Review Date: 9/4/2014


Wry and dry as Chas Addams always is!


The Confession of Brother Haluin: The Fifteenth Chronicle of Brother Cadfael
Review Date: 9/5/2009


Once again Ellis Peters takes us to early England and gives us a look into monastery life. This is another excellent foray into the world of Cadfael; Crusader and ship's captain turned Benadictine monk. As an herbalist, healer, gardener and detective, using observation, deduction (and the early roots of forensic science) he untangles the threads of murder, deception and the occasional conspiracy. In this addition to the Cadfael collection, he accompanies Brother Haluin on a journey of absolution for a long ago wrong. But, as always, situations are not as simple as they seem...


Furniture: A Concise History (World of Art)
Furniture: A Concise History (World of Art)
Author: Edward Lucie-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/26/2011


Excellent source of information on the history and development of furniture.


Good Night, Mr. Holmes (Irene Adler, Bk 1)
Good Night, Mr. Holmes (Irene Adler, Bk 1)
Author: Carole Nelson Douglas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/23/2014


First in an enjoyable series!


The Harvester
The Harvester
Author: Gene Stratton-Porter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/7/2015


I love Stratton-Porter's books, and this one was okay. Enjoyable but not her best work. I think it is a little weaker than her others. Still, worth a read.


The Indispensable Guide to Classic Men's Clothing
The Indispensable Guide to Classic Men's Clothing
Author: Christopher Sulavik, Josh Karlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/19/2011


Excellent source of info on men's clothing.


John Rosemond's New Parent Power!
John Rosemond's New Parent Power!
Author: John Rosemond
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/4/2014


Traditional, old school parenting, when a child knew a parent meant what they said, expected them to obey, and would follow up if they didn't. Traditional parenting gives a child security and allows parents to do what they are supposed to, Lead and Teach. Solves 90% + of discipline problems and can restore peace to a fractured, tumultuous household.


Mig Pilot: The Final Escape of Lt. Belenko
Mig Pilot: The Final Escape of Lt. Belenko
Author: John Barron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/30/2012


Inspirational, engaging and eye-opening.
Whenever I see a copy of this I purchase it, because I know I will be lending or giving it away. I recommended it to a friend and she said it should be required reading for every high school student in the country. With the revisionist history texts and negative "America is bad" stuff being thrown around, they need to be taught that which will engender patriotism, not an apologist and indifferent agenda.


Mr. Monk on the Road (Monk, Bk 11)
Mr. Monk on the Road (Monk, Bk 11)
Author: Lee Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/10/2012


Another excellent addition to the 'Monk' canon. I like the character of Ambrose, Monk's brother. This story features Monk's intention to give Ambrose a fuller life for a birthday present. There are, of course, the requisite number of bodies (that seem to follow Monk wherever he goes) as well as Natalie overcoming her (to Monk) irrational fear of RVs and their connection to devil worshipers. This one is as good (if not better) than the others.


Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, Bk 1)
Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, Bk 1)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 435
Review Date: 7/30/2014


I was sent to the book after viewing the film. I enjoyed both. Odd Thomas is an interesting character and I enjoyed the tone and premise of the book.


A Redbird Christmas
A Redbird Christmas
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 7/16/2011


The title sounds like possibly another mawkish Christmas novel. Not so! A 'Redbird Christmas' is one of Fannie Flagg's best! She has the gift of taking the ordinary and making it extraordinary, of taking everyday people and giving them dignity and charm. She's also one heck of a storyteller!


A Redbird Christmas
A Redbird Christmas
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 12/26/2013


Another delight from Fannie Flagg. A true storyteller, she has the gift of description and of giving dignity to her characters. You'll be pulled in and love every moment. It is also appreciated that it is not a schmaltzy Christmas tale (as the title might imply).


Shameless Exploitation in Pursuit of the Common Good : The Madcap Business Adventure by the Truly Oddest Couple
Review Date: 9/26/2011


I enjoyed the account of the development of Newman's Own and the 'Hole in the Wall' camps. A good example of never giving up on either venture.


Standing in the Rainbow (Elmwood Springs, Bk 2)
Standing in the Rainbow (Elmwood Springs, Bk 2)
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 7/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of Fannie's best, the other being 'A Redbird Christmas'. She is a spectacular storyteller, one of her gifts being elevating the ordinary. Her characters, some of whom are people that could be easy to discount, have dignity and humor.
My new favorite author!


Star Wars: Dark Force Rising (Thrawn Trilogy  VOL. 2)
Star Wars: Dark Force Rising (Thrawn Trilogy VOL. 2)
Author: Timothy Zahn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 11/19/2011


Timothy Zahn nails the Star Wars Universe, and the Thrawn Trilogy is a pleasure.


Sweet Celebrations : The Art of Decorating Beautiful Cakes
Review Date: 3/15/2015


Inspiring. This book is one of the reasons I'm taking cake decorating. Another path to create art! After studying Sylvia's cakes, the different skill levels among local cake decorators was very apparent. People who take cake decorating classes are a dime a dozen. Artists at Sylvia's level are Sylvia are rarer.


The Virgin in the Ice (Brother Cadfael, Bk 6)
The Virgin in the Ice (Brother Cadfael, Bk 6)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 7/26/2009


Another great in the Cadfael canon. Also significant because it introduces characters that will prove pivotal in other books in the series.


1 to 19 of 19