JENNIFER M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
All Through the Night
All Through the Night
Author: Connie Brockway
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 11/9/2007


One of Brockway's best.


Anything For You (It's All About Attitude) (Harlequin Blaze, No 278)
Anything For You (It's All About Attitude) (Harlequin Blaze, No 278)
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/23/2010


This is a friends-to-lovers story and the BEST I have ever read, seriously. LOVED this book. Mayberry at her very best.


As You Desire
As You Desire
Author: Connie Brockway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 5/17/2007


Awesome read! I wish more romances were like this. Setting is in Egypt with a brilliant but vulnerable heroine and a rascally but sensitive heartbreaker. You'll fall in love!!!!


As You Like It (Harlequin Blaze)
As You Like It (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Lori Wilde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/15/2007


hot & steamy, as usual!


The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Author: Junot Diaz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 384
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I usually agree with the taste of the Pulitzer Prize committee but the fact that this book won the top prize surprised me.

I started this book with much anticipation because Junot Diaz is a good writer (read his first book of short stories) and the plot had so much potential (sci-fi loving ghetto nerd, what's not to like?) but I found the main character weak, simple and just plain boring. I struggled to finish. The overwhelming amount of Spanish slang took so much away from the book, usually one can infer the meaning of a foreign word in the context of the paragraph - NOT in the case of this book - the slang was distracting, confusing and made the story feel disjointed. Diaz probably felt he was keeping things authentic but when the reader walks away confused, it's not helping your story. For a native Spanish speaker I'm sure the experience of this novel will be high but for those who have only little to basic knowledge of Spanish, it's a chore.


Cattleman's Promise (Heartbreak Canyon, Bk 1) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 925)
Review Date: 4/16/2007


It's good but the sequel...The Horseman's Bride was superb!


Cold Night, Warm Stranger
Cold Night, Warm Stranger
Author: Jill Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 12/26/2005


Good read.


Darkness Calls (Calling, Bk 1) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 1283)
Review Date: 7/21/2005


small tear on back cover


Enjoying Where You Are On the Way to Where You Are Going: Learning How to Live a Joyful, Spirit-Led Life
Review Date: 11/9/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This book did not engage me. I think Meyer's How to Hear From God is much better.


Fantasyland: A Sportswriter's Obsessive Bid to Win the World's Most Ruthless Fantasy Baseball
Review Date: 5/16/2008


Hilariously funny!!! Never played in a Roto league before but you don't have to, this book is full of fun, funny moments with baseball players and the captures the intensity of Fantasy Baseball fans.

MoneyBall lovers will enjoy this book immensely.


Home for the Holidays
Home for the Holidays
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 7/21/2005


some store stamps


How to Handle Adversity
How to Handle Adversity
Author: Charles F. Stanley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Charles Stanley. Awesome. As Usual.


Indiscretion (Sonnet Books)
Indiscretion (Sonnet Books)
Author: Jillian Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/31/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Hilarious read! In my opinion this is Hunter's best book to date, a very romantic, poignant story of reunited lovers. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll fall in love....


Into Thin Air : A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Into Thin Air : A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 7/10/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Very gripping non-fiction read. Krakauer's writing style is easy, engaging and illuminating. Highly recommended.


Lady Sophia's Lover (Bow Street Runners, Bk 2)
Lady Sophia's Lover (Bow Street Runners, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 434
Review Date: 11/9/2007


Highly recommended. Finished it in 2 days.


The Leopard Prince (Princes, Bk 2)
The Leopard Prince (Princes, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Hoyt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 9/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


My favorite book of the Princes Trilogy. Harry is Lady Georgina's land steward, the crux of the conflict is the class difference, one is the daughter of an earl and the other a "commoner," but Harry is NO common male. Oh yeah, there is a villian running around also, killing sheep and blaming it on Harry, everyone is suspicious and Harry is trying to find out who is behind all the ruckus, all the while trying to fend off the mutual attraction between servant and Lady.

The attraction is definitely there, sparks fly, love scenes are hot and borderline erotica (in my opinion) but no matter the romance and feelings of Harry & Lady ring true.
This one is going on my keeper shelf, sorry! =)


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1357
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very deep, introspective memoir by the author of "The Lovely Bones," detailing the effects and aftermath of her rape when she was just 18 years old. I was highly engaged by this book and think it's amazing that the author was able to detail such an awful event with so much soul.


Midnight Rhythms (Harlequin Presents, No 202)
Midnight Rhythms (Harlequin Presents, No 202)
Author: Karen van der Zee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


BORING!!!


Mistress Of The Groom (Scandals!) (Harlequin Presents, No 1918)
Mistress Of The Groom (Scandals!) (Harlequin Presents, No 1918)
Author: Susan Napier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/8/2006


HOT & STEAMY ROMANCE!!! One of my favorite. I have an extra copy or I would NOT be giving this book up.


Mr. Darcy's Diary
Mr. Darcy's Diary
Author: Amanda Grange
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/10/2009


Retelling of P&P from Darcy's perspective by way of diary entries. Nice, easy read but I felt Pamela Aidan's trilogy was much more satisfying.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: