Reviews - Jeannie H. (ilovebooksanddogs) - Pensacola, FL

1 to 20 of 164 - Page:
1000 Extra, Ordinary Objects
1000 Extra, Ordinary Objects
Author: Karen Gerhards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2010


"Very interesting look at many things I never even knew existed. Book is full of full cover photos."


The 20th Century Children's Poetry Treasury (Treasured Gifts for the Holidays)
Review Date: 4/1/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great poetry book not just for kids but adults as well."


4000 Days: My Life  Survival in a Bangkok Prison
4000 Days: My Life Survival in a Bangkok Prison
Author: Warren Fellows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/3/2010


"This was a tough read, it was horrifying to read of the conditions he endured while in this hell-hole of a prison. No crime deserves a punishment like this!"


All the Rules: Time-tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right
All the Rules: Time-tested Secrets for Capturing the Heart of Mr. Right
Author: Sherrie Schneider, Ellen Fein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/22/2011


"Okay...not sure I believe any of this bullshit...but I do know someone who follows this religiously and believes in it and it seems to be working for her. I just can't be myself or act a different way to " catch a husband". Not for me and this book seems outdated for the times. This is 2011 by the way so this book is way behind the times. I had to shake my head at most of the advice in this book. My advice is not to waste your time on this one."


Ambulance Girl: How I Saved Myself by Becoming an EMT
Ambulance Girl: How I Saved Myself by Becoming an EMT
Author: Jane Stern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 12/2/2010


"This book was hilarious, I found myself stuffing my bedsheet in my mouth more than once at 3am so I didn't wake my husband up. I learned a lot about the life of an EMT. this was a quick read, her writing style flowed so nicely and I never once lost interest."


And Never Let Her Go - Thomas Capano: The Deadly Seducer
And Never Let Her Go - Thomas Capano: The Deadly Seducer
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 3/23/2008


"I LOVE Ann Rule!! Her books always hold me enthralled and this one is no exception. I like that there is always one main story then at the end there are short versions of other cases."


Apocalypse 2012: A Scientific investigation into Civilizations's End
Review Date: 10/17/2009


"This guy did his research, he explores every known scientific fact, myth and religious belief about predictions on the year 2012. Some of it was a bit too scientific for me (yet fascinating). I can't say I was ever bored with this book. He includes his own opinion on it all and sometimes quite heatedly. Quite a lot of humor thrown in amongst it all. Interesting subject and interesting book."


Are We Almost There
Are We Almost There
Author: Valerie Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2008


"This book is full of puzzles and games for kids to play while riding in the car. License plate rummy, botticelli, 20 questions, sing-off are just some of the games. My grandkids actually found it fun!"


Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Are You There Vodka? It's Me Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 392
Review Date: 5/12/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I had never heard of this author until getting this book but that sure didn't stop me! I loved her crazy humor, almost like she was doing stand up comedy straight from the pages. no holds barred LOL craziness, from midgets to her father (or bitch tits as she likes to call him) no one is safe from her tongue. Fast, easy and quite enjoyable read!"


Astrology Through a Psychic's Eyes
Astrology Through a Psychic's Eyes
Author: Sylvia Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/12/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I think this woman is just way too full of herself. I love astrology and love most of the authors but she just grated on my nerves the entire time I was reading through this (which by the way didn't take long since this is a very small book.)
Some parts I felt like I was reading gibberish, it made no sense at all, none of it fit anyone I knew! She came across as a pompous know-it-all. A waste of my time and probably yours if you are unlucky enough to have this book on your TBR list.
AND if I could of given this a half-star rating well...that would of been too much for it too!"


Bad Dogs Have More Fun: Selected Writings on Animals, Family and Life by John Grogan for The Philadelphia Inquirer
Review Date: 11/6/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a very enjoyable read, I bought it thinking it was more about dogs but it is a collection of his writings from his newspaper column. The book touches on many subjects and made me think about some of them in a different light."


Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Author: David Sheff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 6/18/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Started off somewhat slow but didn't disappoint. I found myself identifying with the author due to my own daughters addiction, knowing someone else felt this way and had the same thoughts was somehow comforting. This story strikes at every parents fears for their child..I highly recommend."


Beautiful Joe: An AutoBiography of a Dog
Beautiful Joe: An AutoBiography of a Dog
Author: Marshall Saunders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/12/2009


"This was my dad's favorite book and he let me read it when I was maybe 8 yrs old. I still have that hardback copy. It is a very moving story of an abused and then rescued dog told from his point of view. Very hard hitting book for a child to read and it deeply influenced the way I look at and treat animals for the rest of my life."


Beautiful Stranger: A Memoir of an Obsession With Perfection
Beautiful Stranger: A Memoir of an Obsession With Perfection
Author: Hope Donahue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/12/2009


"I gave up on this book...I just couldn't get into it. I didn't find the subject matter that interesting."


Because I Remember Terror, Father, I Remember You (Associated Writing Programs Award for Creative Nonfiction)
Review Date: 7/16/2009


"This is an amazing well written book from an amazing author. Very dark and deep subject matter that haunted me from the moment I began reading it. It's obvious she wrote this from her heart and soul and mine goes out to her for having survived such a horrific childhood.
I was especially touched and moved by the ending where she wrote of helping students in her writing class. She has such empathy for others and having none shown to her during her formative years proves that she is not only healing herself but is reaching out in an attempt to help others in whom she recognizes glimpses of herself.
Amazing prose and a way with words unlike any other author I have read. I am a huge fan after reading both her books."


Beneath the Neon: Life and Death in the Tunnels of Las Vegas
Beneath the Neon: Life and Death in the Tunnels of Las Vegas
Author: Matthew O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/16/2008


"I did enjoy this book BUT I kept waiting for something more to happen. The author gives in-depth descriptions of the tunnels and what he saw there, honestly they put their lives in danger more than once and I kept waiting for something truly bad to happen. A suspenseful account of a world we will hopefully never see or know."


Bleachy-Haired Honky Bitch: Tales From A Bad Neighborhood
Bleachy-Haired Honky Bitch: Tales From A Bad Neighborhood
Author: Hollis Gillespie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/16/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Hilarious book! I truly enjoyed her writing style!"


Bones in the Desert: The Loretta Bowersock Story
Bones in the Desert: The Loretta Bowersock Story
Author: Jana Bommersbach
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/29/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was very well written and a very interesting case. Another sad story of a successful and beautiful woman who let a worthless liar and manipulator into her life. Terri's search to find her Mom's body was heartbreaking, I'm so glad she got closure."


Born Bad : Collected Stories (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard)
Born Bad : Collected Stories (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard)
Author: Andrew Vachss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/11/2007


"I love this writer and especially enjoyed reading this book. I have only read one other of his and it was very good also."


BRAVING HOME
BRAVING HOME
Author: Jake Halpern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/18/2008


"This was such an interesting book. about people who live in downright unhospitable places and their reasons for doing so. His writing is very descriptive and I felt like I was there right beside him when he investigated these places."


1 to 20 of 164 - Page: