Katherine S. (kathyk519) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 112 - Page:
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 3/9/2009
Helpful Score: 3


All of us Dark Hunter fans have been waiting patiently to read more about Acheron. The glimpses that we have gotten of him in the series have been intriguing.

As much as I have wanted to read this book (It has been on my bookshelf for 3 months) - I kept putting it off because in reading the reviews for it - I knew the first half of the book was going to be brutal and I had to mentally prepare myself for reading it. It was brutal, but in reading the story, it also became hopeful. I have never before wanted to dive into a book and kill some of the characters before. I wanted to protect our dear Acheron from the horrors that he experienced in his young life.

This is a must read for all Dark Hunter fans - we get a huge amount of back story about Acheron, the start of the Dark Hunters, and who were the people in the legends that were talked about in previous books, i.e. who was Apollo's mistress that was killed by the Apollites. It was also a traditional Dark Hunter book in the sense that our hero finally finds his heroine - who is his perfect match! I highly recommend this book


Always the Bridesmaid
Always the Bridesmaid
Author: Whitney Lyles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 10/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoy books by Whitney Lyles. Her writing grabs you and hooks you in fast. The books are an easy, fast, and entertaining read.


Another Chance to Dream (De Piaget, Bk 1)
Another Chance to Dream (De Piaget, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Kurland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 1/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


How long do you wait to be with the one person you truly love? What lengths are you willing to go to? This book is a love story that is filled with romantic tension, intrigue, chivalry and even comedy. The hero and heroine, Rhys DePiaget and Gwennelyn of Segrave are two people who will wait a long time to be together. During a time, when women and girls have betrothals made for them by their fathers, these two will find a love that goes beyond everything. Rhys is one of those heroes you absolutely fall in love with yourself a man who loves his lady, stands by her no matter what and also claims and loves the children she has with another man who wouldnt want that.

Lynn Kurland weaves another wonderful story. Kurland creates a geneology of two families DePiaget & MacLeod and writes the romances of various generations and time periods (some stories include a bit of time travel) although the books can be read stand alone I would suggest that you read them all, as I intend to do.


Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 6)
Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 6)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 11/6/2009


I have had this book on my TBR pile for a while now. I have been a fan of the series and was excited to read it, but based on some of the reviews on this site, I put it off. The reviews were mixed of either liking or disliking the book. I found that although it was not the best book of the series, it was good.

The main characters in this installment are Andreas and Claire, who had been lovers about 30 years ago, but because of some issue, their relationship ended. Both moving on - Claire bonded and became a mate to another male, while Andreas took on other lovers - neither one of them ever forgetting the other.

This book is filled with romance/sex, action and intrigue. Adrian does a great job intertwining the book plot with the series plot and both move along nicely (as well as mingling new and old characters to enrich the story).

I recommend this book and the series. I cannot wait for the next book to come out.


Beauty
Beauty
Author: Susan Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I love any story that has a Beauty & the Beast feel to it. The story is about Alexandra Miller (Alex) who is a painter as were other family members before her. There is a family tradition that a member of the Miller family paints a portrait of a member of the Crompton family each generation. Alex is going to paint Leland Crompton (Lee). Lee has a disease that has altered his appearance and left him insecure about himself.

The duo meets and become good friends, who are there for one another. As they realize that they are falling in love, it is not Alex who shies away from Lee, it is he who can't believe that anyone would love him because he has some physical deformities. This is truly a beautiful and inspiring story - I will warn you - you will need a box of tissues - but I highly recommend it. Very touching!!!


Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast
Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 7/1/2008


Move over Disney! This is a wonderful telling of the Beauty & the Beast story that will captivate and move you. Wonderfully written and you will be sure to fall in love with the characters! McKinley's account of the story is slightly different, but adds to the enchanting tale in ways that will only make you appreciate it more. Highly recommended!!!!


Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 7/21/2008


This is the first book that I have read by the author. It was a great story that had a little bit of everything in it - romance, action, time travel and magic. The characters - Hawk and Adrienne - are both strong characters with dominant personalities. It was a little frustrating reading about their interactions with one another - when you knew what they were thinking, but they couldn't verbalize to each other and were too stubborn to do so. The antagonist (Adam) was great as were the secondary characters - you really had a chance to get to know them too. I look forward to reading more of the writer's work - both with this Highlander series and the Fever series.


The Big Love
The Big Love
Author: Sarah Dunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 11/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Alison's live in boyfriend goes out for mustard before a dinner party that they are throwing and does not come back. He is "in love" with someone else. So we see Alison as she as she first waits for him to come back, then as she tries to figure out how she can put her life back together.

I found her to be very whiny about everything - her break up; her religion; her friends; everything. She grew up as a Christian - and she blames her life on that, even though she no longer abides by it - and in the next breath, she wonders if because she no longer is a die hard Christian, if some how God is getting back at her. She tries to figure out what love really is...

I don't know - the book and the character just rubbed me the wrong way - and not because she was or wasn't Christian - just that she whined about everything constantly - I just wanted to shake her and say, okay, we know this, now move on... I also thought that the book ended in a way, that I don't feel like I got closure after putting up with reading about her.

Don't waste your time reading this book...


Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 7/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I had a busy week and could not just sit down and read this book - but I found that even reading a few chapters here and there, I was thinking about the characters - really thinking about them. I think that is the key to a great story.

Once I was able to devote the time to reading, I could not put it down. I love the way she describes being a werewolf - it almost made me feel like I was one. The story was great and it just grabbed you - I love how you see both Elena and Clay grow as characters - and I feel like I really got to know them in the story - I also felt like I had a chance to get to know the secondary characters as well - that is a feat - because sometimes you only get to know the main characters and the rest of them are just in the periphery - but with this book, you feel like you get to know them a little too.

I can't wait to read more from this author - in looking at her website, not all the books are narrated by Elena - that is exciting - to be able to get into this world from different perspectives. If you couldn't already tell - I recommend this book!


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 2/1/2010


I started the first book (Darkfever) on a thursday and by sunday - I had read the first 3 books in the series. The story blends action, back story and celtic myths and history in a well paced and planned story. The action was nonstop and once the book was over, I needed to start the next and the next to know what happens. Mac is a great character that grows throughout the series - Her male protagonists are great (I want to know more about the mysterious Jericho Barrons and the fae prince, V'Lane). I have to get my hands on the next one ASAP. I highly recommend this series, you won't be able to put it down.


Bond of Blood  (Texas Vampires, Bk 1)
Bond of Blood (Texas Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Whiteside
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 9/29/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had mixed feelings when I started this book based on the reviews I saw on this site. I am glad that I decided to read the book anyway.

Although the story was a little slow getting started, it turned out to be a great story - with great twists in Vampire lore. The story had a little bit of everything in it - action, adventure, romance, and of course back story since it is the first book. I liked the main characters - Rafael and Grania - and I loved reading their story (the sense of honor, the dreams, etc). I also thought that the mix of Spanish language in the book did not detract from the story - it just gave it that little bit of something extra - made it more exotic, but not over the top.

I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series to see how the main conflict plays out. I recommend this book!


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3514
Review Date: 8/4/2008


Wow! A great ending to the series. This book was filled with non stop action - and it really took the characters to a whole new level. You can see the progression of how the characters have grown up and dealt with a new set of choices.

I am usually good with figuring out what is going to happen in a book, but this one kept me guessing. I wasn't expecting what happened - but it went above and beyond my expectations! I wish I could say more, but I don't want to give anything away.

This book does have more adult content in it - but nothing over the top - although I would recommend that the appropriate age would be 16+. I highly recommend this book (and the series)!!!!


The Bride Finder (St. Leger, Bk 1)
The Bride Finder (St. Leger, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 7/1/2008
Helpful Score: 5


When I read the synopsis in the back of the book, I thought that this was going to be a good story - and it was better than that - it was great. The story is about Anatole St Leger and Madeline Breton who are arranged to be married by the Bride Finder (which is a tradition for the St. Leger family - that if your wife/husband is picked by the Bride Finder that ensures true love and a happy marriage). As with any good book, the happily ever after part has some bumps in the road with the hero and heroine learning each others' secrets (feelings, powers, etc). There is a plot with a mortal enemy of the St Legers, some supernatural powers, and a haunting vision that enhance the story. A great book, and I am looking forward to finding the sequels to this story.


Call of the Highland Moon (MacInnes Werewolves, Bk 1)
Call of the Highland Moon (MacInnes Werewolves, Bk 1)
Author: Kendra Leigh Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 4/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was the first book that I have read by this author - and I am not sure if I will read more. The premise was a good one - Alpha werewolf (Gideon) leaving his beloved Highlands to see the world. Just when he was going to go back - he is attacked and wounded. Carly finds his wolf self on her doorstep and cares for him. Romance and hot sex ensues, etc.

The first third or more of the book was a little slow for my taste. I felt that there was too much inner dialog happening with not enough action or story. The next third picked up and got better. The last third was great. The action was intense. The overall story line is going to continue in the next couple of books - with some more paranormal aspects - a door leading to another world, some evil beings and back story about where the werewolves came from.

It seemed like some things in the book were explained while others were not. Sometimes there was too much detail, while at other points, the story just fluffed along.

Since the last third of the book picked up - perhaps I will give the second book a try...but we will see.


The Captive
The Captive
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I am not going to do this book justice with this review. It was a great read - it had a little bit of everything in it - romance, science fiction, action, political intrigue. At times it had a Star Wars feel to it - travel between planets and different looking people. It wasn't quite what I expected, but it was a pleasant surprise - a great and enjoyable read. I am not really a space buff at all, but the descriptions were vivid and it was above all, a great love story.


A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry, Bk 2)
A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry, Bk 2)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 651
Review Date: 3/27/2008


This is the second installment in the Merry Gentry series. The premise of the series is that Merry must get pregnant before her cousin, Cel, to be able to inherit the throne in the Unseelie Court. She has not gotten pregnant yet, but her powers are growing - she is becoming a force to be reckoned with. There is sex, adventure and political intrigue - what more can you want.
I think that this series is wonderful and provocative. The Merry Gentry books are the only ones that I have read by the author - I am excited to keep reading her books.


Cleopatra's Daughter
Cleopatra's Daughter
Author: Michelle Moran
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 11/6/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This was one of the best books that I have read in a while. The story draws you in from the first page and does not let go! We all have heard of the story of Cleopatra and Marc Antony, but not much about her children. Although this is a fictionalized account, it has historical accuracy for the most part.

The story is told through the eyes of Cleopatra Selene (or just Selene as she is known). It starts when her father's (Marc Antony's) army is defeated by Augustus and as a result both her parents take their own lives. She and her brothers are brought to Rome where Augustus can parade his win.

It spans the next several years. We find out how she and her sibling accustom themselves to life in Rome and what her fears and thoughts are. There is a great balance of viewing Selene has a scared teen trying to figure out life, as well as, seeing her as a strong woman who stands up for her principles. This is a great book and I highly recommend it for both teens and adults!


Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Bk 4)
Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter, Bk 4)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 975
Review Date: 8/18/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Wow! A great book. I was drawn to Zarek in the last Dark Hunter book where he played a role in Talon & Sunshine's story. I am very glad that Zarek was able to have a story devoted to him. Zarek was a Roman slave when he was human - he went through hell - never knowing any kindness in his life. In his Dark Hunter life, everyone thinks he is insane and a screw up. Astrid is a justice nymph who is sent to judge him - if she judges him guilty, he dies. Her reputation is that she has never found a Dark Hunter innocent. The interactions between the two main characters is great - you learn more about the dark hunter mythology - as well as more about Acheron.


Dangerous Desires
Dangerous Desires
Author: Julia Templeton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/21/2010
Helpful Score: 5


I enjoy reading Julia Templeton books. My only complaint is that they go by too fast. Dangerous Desires was a quick read. Yes, it was an erotic historical romance, yes, there was a huge age difference between the characters (she was 17, he was 33 - but of course that was the order of the time period), and yes, the sex scenes were hot! I found it more than that. It really was a great love story between these two characters who were trying to figure out themselves and their lives. I disagree with another reviewer who said that the characters were whiny and annoying. I found them likeable, intriguing, and the story itself captivated me. I recommend this book as well as other Julia Templeton books.


Dark Curse (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 16)
Dark Curse (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 16)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 10/6/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Another great addition to the Carpathian series! We are not only introduced to Lara and Nicolas who are the lifemates featured in this book, but we learn more about why Carpathian women miscarry their babies and why so many males are born. We also find out more about Xavier & Razvan as well as some more of the traditions of the Carpathian people. This series keeps getting better and better especially with this race survival piece and how the Carpathians are working together against Xavier. I highly recommend this book (and series)!


1 to 20 of 112 - Page: