Lynn L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
An Abundance of Blessings
An Abundance of Blessings
Author: Carolyne Aarsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/13/2016


I enjoyed this book very much! If you have ever read any of the Home To Heather Creek series then you will know what I mean. It is not necessary that one need ever to have read any of the series to fully enjoy this book as a stand alone work of fiction. It is a testimony to rural family life in the farmlands of Nebraska during winter and enduring extended family love and faith.


An Artist of the Floating World
An Artist of the Floating World
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/27/2017


This work of art was a real treat for me. I have always been most curious of Japan and the culture, especially of this time period, covered. I feel that this is a study of not only post-war Japan but also of the interactions of parent and adult children in Japan and of a widowed father attending the traditions of all required in the attaining of a marriage, in this case, Mr Ono for his daughters Setsuko and Noriko. It also portrays the serious nature that artist can have on their life and the lives of others even their country.
So here in this small book, we have the life of Mr Ono from his childhood and young adult ages through unto that of accomplished artist, revered by some, viewed as a traitor by others. Ishiguro gives us another opportunity to look at someone's day-to-day life under the microscope and see all the little nuances that make up this thing we call Life.


Angel of vengeance
Angel of vengeance
Author: Anthea Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/25/2016


Anthea Cohens books were written mostly in the 1980s. I read very many, all I could ever get my hands on, of them. They are about a nurse, Sister Carmichael "who dispensed both medicine...and justice". I believe that Angel Without Mercy was Cohens first novel. I enjoyed Angel of Vengeance very much. I would describe this as a British crime drama of medical nature.


Black Out
Black Out
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/9/2016


I did not enjoy this book at all and found it most predictable. The only good thing that I can say is that I enjoyed the authours description about what happens to things that enter the waterways deep under the earth of Florida.


Cats Eye
Cats Eye
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/23/2017


I truly enjoyed this Atwood work! It really does provide a wonderful study on how mean girls can be! Really, really young girls even can be very mean and the older they get, the meaner they can become!!!
To this day I have trouble with developing friendships with females. All 3 of Elaine Risely's friends are part of this trio of girls who made Elaine's life miserable, for it really does stay with you your entire life! Hooray for Elaine that she channelled this into her art instead of becoming a failure!
Great character study! 5 STARS!!!


The Cave
The Cave
Author: Jose Saramago, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/14/2017


Wow! Another great, deep-thought provoking book by Saramago. I will say that I think that it is not necessary for one to have read Platos 'The Republic' to 'get' the meanings behind this book. I find it hard to believe that it was written in 2000 as it seems in so many ways so current - but likewise, I find it mind blowing that Platos 'The Republic' was written approximately 350 BCE but yet seems to accurately define what was, what is, perhaps what will be as for systems of government which, of course, are made up of individuals. But I digress.
Saramagos 'The Cave' is not one of the books that I felt fevered to stay up 'all hours' reading; however, I always looked forward to have opportunity to again pick up and continue every chance. For me, this book is unlike Saramagos 'Blindness'.
Enjoyable read which seems quite laid back but delivers unto us a chance to learn much about pottery, nuclear families, and a behind the scenes look at ways the capitalist governments rule over much of our lives whether we are aware of this or not.


The Double Bind
The Double Bind
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 12/9/2017


I have never read any of Bohjalians works before. I enjoyed this one and plan to read more of his books. I enjoyed the subject matter of this novel & found myself quite surprised at some of the authours reveals during this story.
I would certainly recommend.


Here on Earth
Here on Earth
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 7/9/2016


I must say that while this is not a bad book - it is not Hoffmans' best. I could have easily put it down at any point and not feel as though I had made a mistake by so doing. My husband however enjoyed it very much and he completely understands my love for all novels Alice Hoffman. Never before had I been able to get him to even give one a try. So this is huge and means to me that it must just be me that did not care for this one.


The History of Love
The History of Love
Author: Nicole Krauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 11/21/2017


Simply an excellent book! Nicole Krauss is a true artist. One of the things that I liked so much is this story brings to light that in life what we do or do not do can so much affect the lives & future of others - even people we do not know nor may never know.
I know that my life has been altered by others (even books) and they are not aware of this. And I also realise that I am affected by others in ways that I will never begin to understand.
As an avid reader, I have the pleasure of my life being changed by reading a really great book - And 'The History of Love' is one of those.
Can not recommend highly enough - Great book! 5 Stars


Horns
Horns
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 9/26/2015


This is an awesomely terrific book! I also very much enjoyed "Heart Shaped Box". I do not even think about Stephen King being his Dad. Their writing styles are quite different. Being the age I am, I have read a ton of fiction and non fiction. This book takes twists and turns that I could not see coming. Joe Hill has a serious case of talent. Can not wait to read more by him! I give this book the highest grade a book could receive. My normal reading is generally authors such as Alice Hoffman, Kathryn Harrison, Susanna Moore, Anna Quinlen, Anita Shreve....and the like. Authors as young as Joe Hill when he started simply amaze me. 'Horns' left me with some serious thinking to do about my spiritual life. Indeed, Highly recommend!


Local Girls
Local Girls
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 1/21/2017


LOCAL GIRLS, years ago was my intoduction to Hoffman. At that time, I felt that this book could speak to any female. I love this book and it is one book of very few that I have read more than once.
Immensely sad? At times, Indeed. I have noticed that many of A. Hoffmans books include opium addictions, though that is not the subject of the books. I find that not off putting as seems to me that so many families are affected by addictions.
This book has something for so many as it deals with teen pregnacy, cancer, friends with a parent who has mental difficulties, teens first love, death and the maze of high school and friendships.
I still think this is a wonderful book and I give it 5 stars!


The Marriage of Opposites
The Marriage of Opposites
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/23/2017
Helpful Score: 2


WOW! I really enjoyed this book!
Now, let me begin by relating that it did take me about 39 pages to really get into it. I think many of A. Hoffmans' fans that are not so fond of some of her later works may not be fans of historical period novels. This book, (I have already popped it into the mail so that others on the site can get the pleasure of it) begins in the early to mid 1800s(approx.). It spans the life of Rachael Pomie and her day to day life. Amazing it is that one novel (based on facts) can cover the life of 1 person and the lives of several others (just not as detailed in the case of the others).
I have only a couple of friends of the Jewish faith. So one may say that I know very, very little of Judaism. I felt that I got to learn a bit on this subject and some historical facts as well as details of life in the Saint Thomas area island life.
I really enjoyed reading about Jacobo Camille Pizzaro and of his childhood and how his young artists' mind saw things. I did not know of his great contribution to the Impressionism works.
There was definitely some of Hoffman's' magicalism. This is a historical book, a love story, a book about class marriage, interfaith marriage, a book that delves deeply into the injustices of slavery, a book that touches on how u.s. civil war affected many countries.
Once again, Hoffman never lets me down. Indeed, there were tears.


The Museum of Extraordinary Things: A Novel
The Museum of Extraordinary Things: A Novel
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/22/2016


I am a hard core Hoffman fan. To me all of her books are moving and many even life altering. It is astounding that Alice Hoffman just gets better & better, like a rare and fine wine.
I cried so hard as I read the ending that it was hard to see the words and I felt them deeply into my soul. This is Hoffmans best! Without reservation, 5 stars. I would also add that for this story to be based on factual events in American history is a huge plus. I have learned some things about u.s. America that I otherwise would not have known.


A Pale View of Hills (Vintage International)
A Pale View of Hills (Vintage International)
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/20/2017


A true gem of a novel by Ishiguro. Subtle nuances, a psychological study of characters in a peripheral view sort of way. As another reviewer stated, the ending and revelations will leave one wondering for quite a bit afterwards.
This work of Ishiguro's is seemingly one of the most understated that I've the pleasure to read; however, it is truly more complex than one could realise until the ending is revealed.
I find A PALE VIEW OF HILLS to be the pearl necklace of books-simple yet elegant. 5 Stars!


The River King
The River King
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 7/9/2016


I can not recommend this book enough. It sticks with me to this day. Is there fantasy about it - to many I feel sure that there is indeed. However what one construes as fantasy, to me, is just another layer of truth that has been entrained out of many humans.
I wish this to be required reading for all early teens. For me, what started as required reading many times became life altering.


The Sense of an Ending (Vintage International)
The Sense of an Ending (Vintage International)
Author: Julian Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/15/2017


This was my first Julian Barnes read. I enjoyed it but the ending left me with the desire for more than 'The Sense of an Ending'- I have read much deeper books with no problems understanding the authours thoughts & meanings. But I must say that this book left me with a bit of confusion. A good read never-the-less. I will be reading more of his works.


Sleeping Beauties (Vintage Contemporaries)
Sleeping Beauties (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Susanna Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/9/2016


Susanna Moore is one of my all time fovourite authours. Her books do not need to be read in any certain order but you will meet people and see them again in another of Moores novels. They all become like family members to me.
All I can think to sum up this book is 'laid back' at certain points and 'heart pounding' in others!


The Tale of the Unknown Island
The Tale of the Unknown Island
Author: Jose Saramago
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/13/2018


This slim little jewel of a book would probably be of interest to serious Jose Saramago fans. It reminds me of something that it takes many years to understand: we know what we know, we know that there are things that we do not know, BUT then there are things that we can not even fathom - there are so very many things under the sun that we do not even know that we do NOT know!
To me this a little of the nuance of this book.
This is a difficult book to review. On the info inside the front cover of this book in the description, "...that if we thought we were reading a children's fable we were wrong. We have been reading a love story, a philosophical tale worthy of Voltaire or Swift."


Thank You for All Things (Wal)
Thank You for All Things (Wal)
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 1/24/2016


This was my first read of this authour. I very much enjoyed it. I am now awaiting another book of Sandra Kring 'The Book of Bright Ideas". THANK YOU FOR ALL THINGS is told through the eyes of a young girl. She very much needs to know some important details of her life which her mum feels the need protect her from. If you do not enjoy a laid back read about family relationships then this book will not be for you. But I learned alot from this little novel. Often the things from the past that we feel are such shocking huge deals that we must protect our loved ones from are obstacles keeping ourselves from moving forward in enjoying our own lives and may even emotionally cripple the loved ones around us. I give this book 4 of 5 stars.


The Third Angel
The Third Angel
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 7/9/2016


I enjoyed lots and lots. I could picture every scene in my mind and per usual with A. Hoffman needed my box of tissues. This authour has a way that makes me feel that each book was written just for me. When I say I need to keep my box of tissue near by, that is a compliment of high order.
To be concise, if you have ever enjoyed a Hoffman book then do not hesitate to obtain and read this gem!


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: