Kathy B. (FrenchProf) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 53 - Page:
After Dark (Harlequin Blaze)
After Dark (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Wendy Etherington
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/10/2009


This book was difficult for me to get into. The Hero was a weak character, the secondary characters were silly and it read like a cozy mystery with sex. Not what I expect in a Blaze title. Pick up with caution.


After Hours (Harlequin Blaze, No 102)
After Hours (Harlequin Blaze, No 102)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 6/29/2008


This is one of my all time favorite Blaze titles. It is on the keeper shelf. Find a copy of this book and read it, you won't be sorry!!


Blood Orange Brewing (Tea Shop, Bk 7)
Blood Orange Brewing (Tea Shop, Bk 7)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/8/2007


This is the first Tea Shop Mystery I have read and thoroughly enjoyed it. You'll learn a lot about different teas in this book. I have a couple of the others in this series. I'll go dig them out.


The Colton Ransom (Coltons of Wyoming, Bk 1) (Harlequin Romantic Suspense, No 1760)
Review Date: 7/10/2013


This book was a slow start and not as suspenseful as I normally like and the romance was just so so. I did finish it, though, because it is the first book in the Coltons of Wyoming continuity.


The Conqueror's Lady (Knights of Brittany, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historical, No 954)
The Conqueror's Lady (Knights of Brittany, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historical, No 954)
Author: Terri Brisbin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/5/2010


This book was a 5 star read for me. Granted, I LOVE medieval historical romance, but what intrigued me was getting a glimpse of what life was like in England shortly after the Battle of Hastings. I highly recommend this book!


The Cop (Harlequin Blaze)
The Cop (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Cara Summers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/17/2007


This is the second in a trilogy about 3 Greek brothers finding love, and solving a murder. The first installment is the P.I. by the same author.
Okay read. Nothing spectacular.


Dangerous Games (Tempting SEALs, Bk 2)
Dangerous Games (Tempting SEALs, Bk 2)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 549
Review Date: 4/2/2007


This was my first book by this author, but I'll certainly look for subsequent books. However, WARNING, this book, in my opinion, falls into the erotic category, so if that's not your thing, you had better pass this one up.


Devil's Bride (Cynster, Bk 1)
Devil's Bride (Cynster, Bk 1)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 2/6/2008


This is the book that got me hooked on romance. In my opinion,that Devil Cynster is the benchmark of sexy.


Flyboy (Harlequin Blaze)
Flyboy (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Karen Foley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/30/2007


This was a 5 star read. Just the intensity you would expect from a good Blaze title. Great chemistry between the H/H and a mystery to be solved as well. Don't miss this one.


French Fried (Carolyn Blue, Bk 10)
French Fried (Carolyn Blue, Bk 10)
Author: Nancy Fairbanks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/18/2007


Good mystery set in southern France. Relationships were a bit confusing, but I have not read the previous books. I'll add the others in the series to my TBR pile.


Gaits of Heaven (Dog Lovers, Bk 17)
Gaits of Heaven (Dog Lovers, Bk 17)
Author: Susan Conant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book in the series that I have read, and it might be my last. I struggled to finish this one--it was boring. There was so much digression into the world of mental therapy that I almost lost track of the plot. The best thing about the book were the dogs.


Geared for the Grave (Cycle Path, Bk 1)
Geared for the Grave (Cycle Path, Bk 1)
Author: Duffy Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 3/30/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This was a DNF (do not finish) for me. I quit after about 100 pages. There were a dizzying amount of characters that I could not keep straight, and I was not interested enough in them or the murder to give the book any more of my time. I love the author's consignment shop books, so I'll just stick to those.


The Haunting (Harlequin Blaze, No 317)
The Haunting (Harlequin Blaze, No 317)
Author: Hope Tarr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 4/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love a Civil War setting, so this was a great time travel read for me.


Her Best Friend's Husband (Redstone, Incorporated, Bk  8) (Silhouette Romantic Suspense, No 1525)
Review Date: 9/20/2008


This book just did not light my fire. In fact, it took me well over 2 weeks to read it. Neither the suspense, nor the romance was up to what I expect in a Silhouette Romantic Suspense novel. This is part of the Redstone Incorporated series. This is the first of the series I have read. I'll try another one before I give up on the series entirely.


Her Master Defender (To Protect and Serve, Bk 4) (Harlequin Romantic Suspense, No 1869)
Review Date: 10/27/2015


I agree whole heartedly with Susan's review. This was one fantastic romantic suspense novel. It was one of those books for me that I couldn't put down and was sorry to see come to an end. Also, like Susan, I get annoyed and literally pulled out of the story by the improper capitalization, or not, of the words Marine and Corps, and even once I saw navy SEAL!!! COME ON, HARLEQUIN!!! All these terms should be capitalized, and shame on Harlequin that they have editors that don't know this. I've read Harlequins for years, and these mistakes persist. If I could rate this book 10 stars, I would!! Thanks for a fabulous read, Ms. Anders.


Her Sexy Valentine (Harlequin Blaze)
Her Sexy Valentine (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/7/2010


I will have to whole heartedly agree with Carol's review. First of all, I am appalled that this book is so short. The actual story begins on page 7 and ends on page 197 and the font is absolutely huge!!! The story itself is very shallow. I did not feel any connection at all with the H/h, and as Carol mentioned, this was a wordy remake of the movie Groundhog Day, so there was LOTS of repetition. This is my first book by Stephanie Bond and it will most probably be my last. This book was a waste of precious time and money and I would not recommend that anyone spend a credit on this book.


Holy Bible
Holy Bible
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/22/2007


This is the Douay Rheims Version


Hot Under Pressure (Harlequin Blaze)
Hot Under Pressure (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Kathleen O'Reilly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/28/2009


I will certainly have to agree with the others who have reviewed this book. This was just flat awful. I had to force myself to finish it. The plot moved along at a snail's pace, the characters were boring, and the subject matter was depressing--divorce, alcoholism, and co-dependency. Who wants to read about that stuff in a romance novel-- especially a Blaze????? Don't waste any money and especially a precious credit on this one.


Hot Zone (Elite Force, Bk 2)
Hot Zone (Elite Force, Bk 2)
Author: Catherine Mann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 4/7/2012


I have to agree with the other reviews. This was a fabulous read. I absolutely could not put it down. If you missed the first book in this series, Cover Me, I suggest you run to wherever you buy your books and pick that one up, too. Great series and book 3 is out in May. You can't miss with a Catherine Mann book!!


Hurricane Homicide (Kate Kennedy, Bk 4)
Hurricane Homicide (Kate Kennedy, Bk 4)
Author: Nora Charles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 5/20/2007


This is the first book I have read in this series, but it definitely will not be my last. Loved the main character, and the author makes good use of the flashback which is a literary style I like.


1 to 20 of 53 - Page: