Kate L. (kapusta) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Assassination Vacation
Assassination Vacation
Author: Sarah Vowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 3/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is my first Sarah Vowell, and won't be my last. Her writing style is amusing but insightful, and while you might laugh out loud at some of her passages, you also learn something along the way. Who knew that the history of presidential assassinations could be entertaining...in a good way?


Beyond the Hundredth Meridian (Bison Book)
Beyond the Hundredth Meridian (Bison Book)
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/27/2014


One of my favorite authors has written a biography/history of John Wesley Powell and the exploration of the Colorado River valley. In the first part of the book, Powell, with only one arm, doggedly pursues his goal of navigating and mapping the river. Stegner includes enough excitement and intrigue to keep you turning the pages. The latter portion concerns the subsequent attempts at settlement, development, and struggles between ranching/mining interests and governmental attempts to limit exploitation of land and settlers. Sadly, politicians haven't changed much over the decades.
Powell had a vision for the west that would have vastly altered its present incarnation, and may have avoided many of the problems that currently plague the area. A good read with lots of history.


Black Like Me
Black Like Me
Author: John Howard Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/16/2013


Somehow my high school education never included this book as assigned reading; my loss. So when I saw news that the 50th anniversary edition was out, I thought that it was time to expand my education. What a book! The risks that the author took had me shaking my head and made me fearful in reading some parts of the book. On the other hand, his portrayal of the generosity and kindness displayed by some of the people he encounters gives one hope for humanity. Highly recommended!


I Served the King of England (New Directions Paperbook)
I Served the King of England (New Directions Paperbook)
Author: Bohumil Hrabal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/23/2016


Great little book by famed Czech writer Hrabal! I had previously read, "The Little Town Where Time Stood Still", and enjoyed it, but this book is even better.
Hrabal's humor left me smiling or even chuckling through much of the novel, while his dream-like scenes, such as the description of the grandmother scavenging the cast-off shirts and underwear at the baths, evoked wonderful images.
Weeks after finishing this book, I'm still thinking about it and examining all of the nuances.


The John McPhee reader
The John McPhee reader
Author: John A McPhee
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/10/2015


This is my first John McPhee book, but I look forward to reading more by this author. His writing is wonderful, on a broad range of topics, from tennis, to the orange industry, to nuclear physics, to Georgia ecology. He uses humor, dialogue, personal history, and so many other devices to make the reading experience rewarding, interesting, and educational. A satisfying read.


The Lacuna (P.S.)
The Lacuna (P.S.)
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 10/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Perhaps Kingsolver's most mature writing. Lyrical at times, and I found myself reluctant to finish reading it. I learned a lot about the era in which the story is set, mostly 1930'3-1950's, and she certainly seems to have done exhaustive research. Very enjoyable read, but take time to savor the writing.


The Lost Empire of Atlantis: History's Greatest Mystery Revealed
The Lost Empire of Atlantis: History's Greatest Mystery Revealed
Author: Gavin Menzies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/23/2014


Interesting ideas but I think "Unearthing Atlantis" by Charles Pellegrino is better if you are only going to read one book about this subject.


The Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Writings
The Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Writings
Author: Oscar Wilde
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Occasionally, I try to read some of the "classics". I often run across literary references to this book, so I thought it would be a worthwhile read.
Oscar Wilde is known for some biting humor, and this book has some wonderful lines. His writing style takes a bit of getting used to for those of us accustomed to 21st century style. Wilde crafts the character of Dorian Gray in such a way that you at once pity and despise him. Good book, though not for the casual reader.


Sheepish: Two Women, Fifty Sheep, and Enough Wool to Save the Planet
Review Date: 11/7/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Touching, funny, and you will learn more about sheep and fiber than you ever thought that you'd want to know...but in an entertaining way. Almost made me want to go out and buy a couple of sheep. Even if you have never knitted or woven so much as a tangled web, readers will find this book enjoyable.


State of Wonder
State of Wonder
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 10/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books that I have read in a while. Her writing is wonderful, and the tale is gripping. Beware: this book may cause marital strife. My DH got cross with me because he was talking, I was reading this book and could not tear myself away from the story to concentrate on what he was saying. Like another reviewer, I was sorry when I finished the book because it was such a great read; I wanted more.


1 to 10 of 10