Susan R. (Sue-in-AZ) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 109 - Page:
5 Meals for $5: How to Feed 5 People 5 Meals for $5.00 - $8.00 or Less!
5 Meals for $5: How to Feed 5 People 5 Meals for $5.00 - $8.00 or Less!
Author: Jaci Rae
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book to be a little frustrating. It's organzied poorly, no index of recipes. The final straw - I looked up a recipe for chicken and rice. The instructions were to cook the chicken however I liked. Cook the rice however I liked. Serve with a salad. I'm sorry, that's not a recipe!

I can usually find at least one recipe in any cookbook that I like. Not so with this book.


The Abstinence Teacher (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this more than I thought I would. As the book came closer and closer to the end, I was completely in the dark about how it would end - lots of tension!

Having grown up in a fundementalist church, I recognized many of the characters. I thought the author did a good job of highlighting the contrast between "church" life and the rest of "real" life - and how hard it can be to reconcile the two.

I was happy with the ending. Things went in a direction that I found very satisfying.


Any Minute
Any Minute
Author: Deborah Bedford, Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Sarah Haper seems to have it all - a great job, great family, beautiful house. But as we learn more about her life, it's coming apart at the seams. Sarah has no balance in her life - job comes first and everything else is a distant second.

Everything comes to a crisis when Sarah tries to beat a drawbridge and ends up driving into the water. At this point, the book turns into a combination of It's a Wonderful Life and A Christmas Carol.

I didn't really like the supernatural aspect to this book, and the ending was too predictable. But overall a good read.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 7/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Classic John Grisham book. You can never really be sure what's going to happen and you really want the "good guy" to win.

He's varied his location a little - so many of the lawyer books take place in the south. He moved his character to New York for this story, and it was interesting that the character never seemed very happy in New York - always happiest in other locations, away from the big city.

I loved the description of life in a huge law firm - really makes me glad I never became a lawyer!!


Away
Away
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 4/18/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I found this to be a very moving story of a young Russian Jewish immigrant. She ends up traveling to the ends of the earth following her heart.

The descriptions were wonderful and rich - I felt like I could see what Lillian saw and (almost) feel what she felt.

A great story about the strength of the human spirit and the power of love.


A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/27/2010


Middle aged woman turns vigilante. How can you not love that!

The main character is busy righting the wrongs in her corner of the world. Especially the wrongs committed by abusive husbands/boyfriends.

Throw in a little budding romance with the local sherrif and this is a fun read.


Bananas: How the United Fruit Company Shaped the World
Bananas: How the United Fruit Company Shaped the World
Author: Peter Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/27/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I had no idea! Bananas and the banana industry have had a huge impact on the entire western hemisphere - including American politics.

If you ever wondered where the term "banana republic" comes from, or why it seems like all of Central and South America is a political swamp, this is a must read.

Fascinating look into the impact that richer, more developed countries have on the poorer, third world countries they "help".


Barbie and Ruth: The Story of the World's Most Famous Doll and the Woman Who Created Her
Review Date: 7/5/2011


I enjoyed this biography of Ruth Handler - creator of Barbie.

The book really pulls together the full arc of Ruth's life, both personal and professional.

Written in chronological order and very easy to follow.

I was amazed at the obstacles she overcame and the personal drive she brought to every part of her life.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 1/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book started out really slow for me, and didn't grab me like Jennifer Weiner's previous books.

But after about 150 pages into the book, the story came into full swing and I couldn't put it down.

I'd say its not one of the author's better books, but in the end I loved it.


The Big Moo : Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable
Review Date: 8/17/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a really fast read. A number of essays that directly apply to business, but could easily apply to any endeavor in your life.

Written by 33 authors - some I already liked, some I already disliked, and some I never heard of. The book doesn't identify which essays are written by which authors, which was probably a good idea - I would definitely have cherry picked the authors I like over anyone else.

But even more interesting, while I liked and appreciated most of the essays, there were a few that I absolutely disagreed with. I would have loved to been able to see who wrote those essays - maybe change my mind about some authors, maybe not.

All in all, a very worthwhile read.


Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 8/4/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Fantastic book. Easy to read and understand. I found lots of lessons to apply to my own life that I'm very excited about.

I think the author does a great job making very complex concepts understandable by combining real-life examples with studies from a wide variety of fields.

I read this in a day and couldn't put it down.


A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity: A Memoir
A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity: A Memoir
Author: Bill O'Reilly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 10/18/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this book. O'Reilly mixes his personal story with descriptions of how he came to be the person he is.

Love him or hate him, this is a good read.


Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason
Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason
Author: Nancy Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


An enjoyable book to skim through.

I was a little disappointed with the book selections, but then we all have our favorite books and anyone else's list would almost have to disappoint.

Well written and presented.


Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Bullet (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 19)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 6/14/2010
Helpful Score: 2


At first I was worried - long descriptions of a boring dance recital, then Richard appears on the scene (I just can't stand Richard!).

But then the story gets some action going and it turned out to be one of her better books.

I almost gave up after the first couple chapters, but I'm glad I worked through to the good stuff.


Celsius 7/7: How the West's Policy of Appeasement Has Provoked Yet More Fundamentalist Terror - And What Has to Be Done Now (Phoenix Press)
Review Date: 8/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


7/7 refers to the terrorist bombing of buses in London on that date.

The book is interesting both by providing a British point of view of the War on Terror, but also a unique historical perspective on how we've come to this point in time.

The author presents analysis that is completely absent from our media and public discourst on Islamism and terror. A very good read!


Cemetery Dance (Pendergast, Bk 9)
Cemetery Dance (Pendergast, Bk 9)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 5/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this book. Lots of action, lots of twists and turns. And no way to know "who done it" until the end.


Chew On This : Everything You Don't Want to Know About Fast Food
Review Date: 2/7/2010


Well written but a little one-sided.


Cloud Atlas
Cloud Atlas
Author: David Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 11/7/2012


Couldn't finish even the first 100 pages. Hoping the movie is better.


Coal: A Human History
Coal: A Human History
Author: Barbara Freese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a grand journey through the last 500 years - how coal has shaped our lives and our entire society. I had never really realized the impact coal had on what we consider to be Western civilization.

From the rise of England as a naval force, the development of the steam engine and railroads, creation of the labor union and modern industrial standards - all the way to current day developments in China. Coal was a true catalyst for our society.

And if you think coal doesn't matter, consider that the vast majority of the "clean" electricity we used today actually comes from burning coal.

This book is great for anyone interested in how one small element had and continues to have on our lives and Western civilization. The book also outlines the ecological impact of coal use, along with the effects of acid rain and global warming.


Come on Shore and We Will Kill and Eat You All: A New Zealand Story
Review Date: 12/23/2014


Early in the book we learn that author is advised to keep her doctoral thesis "objective" instead of autobiographical.

I think this book is the result of taking all her self-absorbed meandering out of her thesis.

I was disappointed in this book.


1 to 20 of 109 - Page: