Jeannie D. (JeannieH) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Art for Dummies
Art for Dummies
Author: Thomas Hoving, Andrew Wyeth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/2/2007


I have become a big fan of the "Dummies" books and this one is no exception. I teach art history and I have used excerps from this book for my class. It uses simple, straight-forward language and a sense of humor to introduce art to the masses. I highly recommend it!


Becoming a Teacher
Becoming a Teacher
Author: Forrest W. Parkay, Beverly Hardcastle Stanford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/11/2006


Very helpful book to those in the beginning years of teaching.


Classical Music for Dummies
Classical Music for Dummies
Author: David Pogue, Scott Speck, Glenn Dicterow, Scott Speck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/11/2008


Another great book in the "Dummies" series. This one introduces you to the classical music genres, history and touches upon the great composers. I hightly recommend this to anyone who teaches music or is simply interested in a user-friendly way to learn about classical music.


English Grammar for Dummies
English Grammar for Dummies
Author: Geraldine Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/24/2010


I absolutely love the Dummies series of books and this one is no exception. I am a high school teacher and have used the Shakespeare, grammar, writing, poetry, art and art history Dummies books with much success in my classroom. The language in the books is very easy to understand without talking "down" to the reader. The use of humor and pictures and specific patterns of material presentation makes them accessible to anyone.


The First Days Of School: How To Be An Effective Teacher
Review Date: 9/2/2007


This book has become a traditional gift for the new teacher. It is an excellent source of information for anyone entering this completely overwhelming but rewarding line of work. It contains everything from ideas for setting rules to handling the diverse personalities of all student. A great reference for new teachers.


The Friendly Shakespeare : A Thoroughly Painless Guide to the Best of the Bard
Review Date: 9/2/2007


This is my favorite reference book on The Bard. It contains information on all his plays and even taps into the sonnets. It's an easy, interesting read and reference for anyone seeking a greater understanding of Shakespeare.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2076
Review Date: 12/10/2017


Ugh, this book. I had heard so many great things about it, but it took me forever to get into it. I think I just finished it because I don't like to bail on things I've started. It took 300 pages of endless over-description to get to the second half, which really took off. The twists and turns and action from page 300 on were great, only to lead to a very unsatisfying and hanging ending. I doubt that I will continue with this series. It just wasn't worth the effort.

































.


Great Scenes from Minority Playwrights: Seventy-Four Scenes of Cultural Diversity
Review Date: 8/11/2006


Great book of scenes for students written by and about minority groups. Includes Native-American, Hispanic, African-American, Jewish-American and Asian-American. Also helps non-minority students to understand other cultures.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2443
Review Date: 6/28/2011


Absolutely loved this book. Just so beautifully written from three different women's points of view. And the characters and places were completely real. I felt like I was right there in early 1960's Jackson, Mississippi, feeling the things they were feeling. I just watched the movie trailer and it looks like we'll have a good adaption from Dreamworks. I can't recommend this one enough.


I'm with Stupid : One Man. One Woman. 10,000 Years of Misunderstanding Between the Sexes Cleared Right Up
Review Date: 8/8/2006


Funny book on the differences between men and women, written as a script of the conversations the two authors had. Quick, light-hearted, fun read.


Invitation to the Theatre
Invitation to the Theatre
Author: George Riley Kernodle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/11/2006


Great book for high school and college teachers and students of drama and/or language arts.


Multicultural Theatre: Scenes and Monologs from New Hispanic, Asian, and African-American Plays
Review Date: 8/8/2006


This book provides a great deal of Hispanic, Asian and African-American scenes and monologues. The scenes are also helpful in teaching multiculturalism to white students, giving them different perspectives with which to see situations.


Now Showing:  Unforgettable Moments From The Movies
Now Showing: Unforgettable Moments From The Movies
Author: Joe Garner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/11/2006


Great book for the movie lover! You get to relive some of motion picture history's greatest scenes and moments in film.


Presenting Performances
Presenting Performances
Author: Thomas Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/8/2006


Great source book for anyone interested in putting on a show! Contains information on publicity, marketing, performers, hiring technical help, fundraising, etc. Very informative and an easy read!


Shakespeare for Dummies
Shakespeare for Dummies
Author: John Doyle, Ray Lischner, Ray Lischner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/2/2007


Another excellent "Dummies" book! I am all for any book that makes Shakespeare more accessible to those who find him intimidating. There are several good books out there on the subject ("The Friendly Shakespeare" is another good one), but this series never fails to win me over with its humor and simplicity.


Snow White Must Die (Bodenstein & Kirchhoff, Bk 4)
Review Date: 4/4/2018


I really liked this book. I've always been a fan of the "digging up an old murder that was supposedly solved, but something wasn't right" story, but this one was exceptional. Everytime I thought I had it figured out, it took me to another unexpected place (happily!). The characters were well drawn and the writing was great!


Symptoms: Their Causes & Cures : How to Understand and Treat 265 Health Concerns
Review Date: 8/11/2006


Absolutely great and easy-to-use book on diagnosing symptoms and illnesses.


Who Moved My Cheese? An Amazing Way to Deal with Change in Your Work and in Your Life
Review Date: 7/5/2008


What a great book! It's a very quick read and can be applied to any change anyone may be facing (job, relationship, home, etc.). It is one long metaphor to how different personalities handle change (when someone "moves their cheese") and what things are effective and what things hold us back. I recommend this to everyone!


1 to 18 of 18