Krystal S. (partyoffive) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 38 - Page:
Alan and Naomi
Alan and Naomi
Author: Myron Levoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It is 1944 in New York City, and Alan Silverman doesn't want to give up his afternoon stickball game for anyone-especially not to make friends with crazy-acting Naomi Kirshenbaum. But when he sees Naomi's haunted face and hears about her horrifying experiences during the war in France, Alan changes his mind.


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 11/26/2006


A sweet love story with unexpected twists and turns. Compelling and yet an easy read.


Backstage Pass
Backstage Pass
Author: Gaby Triana
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/8/2007


From the inside cover: She's named after a landform. She learned to walk on the red carpet. And now shes playing hostess to the Nation's hottest pop star.

Desert McGraw hasn't exactly had a normal upbringing. Her dad fronts the popular rock band Crossfire, and her mom is the group's manager. Always on tour, or sitting in on recording sessions, Desert leads a life that looks glamorous to most people.

But now that she's sixteen and living in yet another new town-Miami, this time-Desert is more than ready to call one place home. There's one problem though: How do you know whom to trust-let alone what guy to hook up with-when all anyone wants is access to the band.

Funny, romantic, and filled with essential rock-star etiquette (the proper attire for cruising in a Jag convertible, how to introduce new friends to your leather wearing dad, etc.)

Backstage Pass is a look at what happens when real life meets every girl's dream.


Being Perfect
Being Perfect
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/18/2006


A great little book on why to avoid perfection and the cost of perfection if you do submit to it.


Beneath a Marble Sky: A Novel of the Taj Mahal
Beneath a Marble Sky: A Novel of the Taj Mahal
Author: John Shors
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/26/2010


A wonderful book. Well written with believable characters. I loved it the whole way through.


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 8/29/2006
Helpful Score: 4


A beautifully written tale about two sisters and their shared family dysfunction. This inspiring story gives hope that it is never too late to restore relationship and start a new history together.


The Big Burn
The Big Burn
Author: Jeanette Ingold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/16/2007


Three young people go after a wildfire, believing fire is something they can stop.


Review Date: 10/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Misreading an order for bridles, a New England farmer sends his four sisters-in-law as mail-order brides to Lickwind, Wyoming. When the four women step off the train, astonishment turns to mayhem as the men of town suddenly spruce up and make time for courting.


City of Bits: Space, Place, and the Infobahn
City of Bits: Space, Place, and the Infobahn
Author: William J. Mitchell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/20/2007


From the back of the book: Enhanced? Or faked? Today the very idea of photographic vearcity is being radically challenged by the emerging technology of digital image and manipulation and synthesis: Photographs can now be altered at will in ways that are virtually undetectable, and photorealistic synthesized images are becoming increasinbly difficult to distinguish from actual photographs.

The Reconfigured Eye provides the first systematic, critical analysis of the digital imaging revolution. It described the technology of the digital image in detail and looks closely at how it is changing the way we explore ideas, as its aesthetic potential, and at the ethical questions it raises.


Commander Toad and the Planet of the Grapes (Commander Toad, Bk 2)
Review Date: 10/6/2006


When Commander Toad finds a new planet that seems the ideal place for a picnic for his tired crew, he and Lieutenant Lily go down to look around first, only to be swallowed up by giant grapes. Is this the end for the brave crew of the Star Warts? Or can Doc Peeper, the ship's medical officer, help them escape from the Planet of the Grapes?


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1993
Review Date: 8/8/2006


A fun book that every shopaholic will relate too all to well.


The Dance of the Dissident Daughter: A Woman's Journey from Christian Tradition to the Sacred Feminine (Plus)
Review Date: 8/2/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I wasn't prepared for this book in the least and I'm glad for that, because I might not have read it if I was prepared. This book was one of the most profound spiritual books that I've read, not simply because of the material presented which is profound enough, but because it allowed me to start a journey of questioning what I believe and whether it is what I believe or what I've been taught to believe. It is not traditional-as the title would very clearly imply, but what it is instead touched me far more than anything traditional I've ever read. Sue Monk Kidd writes bravely and honestly in this book and helps give voice to the deep wounding experienced by females in traditional religious history and an understanding of how we got where we are today.


Dear Charlie
Dear Charlie
Author: Christopher Kimball
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


From back cover: Whether driving a tractor with his newborn son cradled in his arms or holding hands by the river with his eldest daughter, Christopher Kimball relates life's precious moments with a craftsman's keen eye and a father's gentle touch. His Dear Charlie is a poignant collection of to-the-heart letters from a father to his children. Read along and enjoy the simple pleasure of bending down to hear a child's secret...of hoisting bales of hay on a Vermont farm...of taking a family walk down a country road.
Dear Charlie is filled with wisdom, heartwarming memories, and wonder at God's creation. You'll be encouraged to cherish every minute with your daughters and sons....and to treasure the shared lessons of life.


Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 431
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A touchingly sweet and honest potrayal of a young marriage.


Grace in Ungracious Places
Grace in Ungracious Places
Author: Preston Gillham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/12/2006


From back cover: Grace in Ungracious Places will help you understand that grace is about God loving you-not a little, but outrageously, against all odds, and despite all rebuffs. The Lord's greatest hope is that you will love him back. And even when struggles haunt your soul and trouble your mind-when you're stuck in those ungracious places that we all experience-God's love is never blotted out.


I Kissed Dating Goodbye : A New Attitude Toward Relationships And Romance
I Kissed Dating Goodbye : A New Attitude Toward Relationships And Romance
Author: Joshua Harris
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/16/2006


From the back cover: Singles from 15 to 55 are tired of dating games and are ready for a new attitude toward romance. I Kissed Dating Goodbye gives the Bible's perspective on love, purity, and purposeful singleness. Whether you're single, dating, or divorced, this pratical book can help you understand God's plan for romance in your life.


Inside out
Inside out
Author: Lawrence J Crabb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/30/2007


An easy read and yet, a thought provoking book that gave me much to ponder.


The Journey
The Journey
Author: Tracy Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/25/2006


From back cover: Sam's life was perfect. She knew who she was and what she wanted to do. All she had to do was to get the young prince of to the Swinton School. However, getting him there proved to be more difficult than she had ever imagined. All she had to do was outrun the wolves, outsmart the pirates, survive the torture chamber of western China, save her son from his stepmother and make a king out of a boy. Easy Right? The trip that was supposed to be easy became the journey of a lifetime.


Me  & Emma
Me & Emma
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 8/8/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book had me intrigued right to the last page.


Montana 1948
Montana 1948
Author: Larry Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 2/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A touching book about a young boy and family secrets. A beautiful potrayal of life in small towns.


1 to 20 of 38 - Page: