Sandra L. (yongatheart) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 81 - Page:
50 Years of Modern Art
50 Years of Modern Art
Author: Emile Langui
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/19/2007


It's too bad that more of these are not in color but this book was published at a time 1959 when color was the exception rather than the rule. Page after page features art of varying interest to the reader and art lover.


Adversary: The Christian Versus Demon Activity
Adversary: The Christian Versus Demon Activity
Author: Mark I. Bubeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you don't believe in the devel, read this book! We read it because of spiritual turmoil in our own home and it helped us understand what was taking place and helped us to combat the problem spiritually. I hate to part with this book but others may benefit.


All God's Children: Ministry to the Disabled
All God's Children: Ministry to the Disabled
Author: Gene Newman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/28/2007


Great book for those who would like to start a ministry to the disabled.


Back to the Bedroom
Back to the Bedroom
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 8/25/2006


Unlikely plot with some impossible moments. Pure fluff but I enjoyed it. A quick weekend read.


Baths: Your Guide to Planning and Remodeling (Remodeling, No 9)
Review Date: 11/10/2006


Some great floor plan suggestions along with great color pictures and how to instructions.


Beach Houses (For Your Home Series)
Beach Houses (For Your Home Series)
Author: Jim Kemp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/10/2006


Very colorful with wonderful ideas for room that we borrowed and modified to suit our unique situation.


Bed Rest
Bed Rest
Author: Sarah Bilston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/15/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This book is an easy read in one day. While it covers several serious subjects (high rick pregnancy, troubled marriage, job dissatisfaction, disfunctional family relations, and corporate misbeahvior, amongst just a few of the subplots!) the author has a humorous way of presenting them to the reader. I will be looking for more of her works. Enjoy!


A Beka Mas que vencedores Teacher's Guide Spanish 2
A Beka Mas que vencedores Teacher's Guide Spanish 2
Author: A Beka
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2007


I taught spanish several years to very young children and adults and everyone in between using this course of study. A video accompanied this course that was rented from the school but is not necessary to the successful teaching of spanish using these guides. Well worth it. Very easy to use and follow.


A Beka Por todo el mundo Spanish I Teacher's Guide
A Beka Por todo el mundo Spanish I Teacher's Guide
Author: A Beka Publishing
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2007


I taught spanish to many youngsters and adults usin the A Beka program and loved this format. It is designed to go with a video that was available from the school but found that it was not necessary to teaching from text books or teacher's guide. I will send everything I have related to year 1 Spanish with this Teacher's Guide. Love it!


A Beka Spanish 1, Text Book 1 and 2
A Beka Spanish 1, Text Book 1 and 2
Author: A Beka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/21/2007


Very easy to follow.


Ben Hur, Illustrated Classic Editions
Ben Hur, Illustrated Classic Editions
Author: Lew Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/29/2006


If your children like the movie, they will like this book. If they have never seen the movie, so much the better.


Big Trouble
Big Trouble
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 6/18/2006


This was an entertaining book that anyone who has read Dave Barry's newspaper column will appreciate for its humor. Being from Florida, I was able to identify with Barry's assessment of many situations he used in his book. Be prepared to have a few good laughs in this humorous adventure story.


Blue and White Rooms (For Your Home)
Blue and White Rooms (For Your Home)
Author: Ann Rooney Heuer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/10/2006


Very colorful book with lots of great ideas which we used in our remodel.


Call Home the Heart
Call Home the Heart
Author: Jessica Stirling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/3/2007


This book is part of a series and the author is one of my favorites. She is actually a "he" and the writing is inherently different as a result. I will never read his books with the same mind set! The characters of his books are well fleshed out and often reflect conflicts between the lower and upper classes of Scottish society. Read this book but get the other in the series also.


The Camp Followers
The Camp Followers
Author: Ugo Pirro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/22/2006


Written by an Italian author in 1959 and translated, this book about women who found it necessary to sell their bodies to the enemy for food during WWII was fascinating and educational. Long out of print, this issue is priceless.


The Carbohydrate Addict's Diet: The Lifelong Solution to Yo-Yo Dieting
The Carbohydrate Addict's Diet: The Lifelong Solution to Yo-Yo Dieting
Author: Rachael F. Heller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 2/4/2007
Helpful Score: 4


My husband tried it. It worked but ...it is hard to maintain for long periods of time.


Christian General and Gentleman Robert E Lee (Sowers)
Christian General and Gentleman Robert E Lee (Sowers)
Author: Roddy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/29/2006


I love these Christian character books for my children, now grown and I think you will also appreciate them.


Code Name: Blondie (Code Name, Bk 4)
Code Name: Blondie (Code Name, Bk 4)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 8/13/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I'm a fan of Christina Skye and enjoy her combination of adventure, romance and humor. This book, while good, was not as good as others in her series of publications. While trying to make her heroine look strong and independent, she sometimes also makes her look a bit stupid and impulsive as well as wishy washy. A good weekend read but forgettable.


The Daffodil Sea
The Daffodil Sea
Author: Emma Blair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I love this author and enjoy most of her books but this book has so far been my favorite. I discovered this author while on vacation in the UK and enjoy her character studies immensely. I look for her books whenever I am in a book store and have read many. This book is not for the likes of those who want a happy ending. Consider one of her others for that.


Danzig Passage (Zion Covenant, Bk 5)
Danzig Passage (Zion Covenant, Bk 5)
Author: Bodie Thoene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/2/2006


This is book 5 in a series that I thoughly enjoyed. As a result of reading this series, I've become much more interested in the working of WWII and the details of the war. Highly recommend this entire Historical Fiction series.


1 to 20 of 81 - Page: